We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good and bad areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We chose this place because they allowed dogs of any size and wanted to try a new B&B in St. Augustine.
We liked the beautiful garden, convenient location, and the nice size room. Bed was comfortable. Wine social was perfect to enjoy the nice weather at the beautiful garden. I wished that the breakfast was served at the garden. Also it was nice that coffee and snacks are available during the day time.
Our room was Kirby Smith, and what we didn't know was about the noise. We didn't sleep much first night because the noise from upstairs and the outside of our next room, Mary Mitchell. Mary Mitchell is a corner room with a little table and chairs at the door outside where is so close to our door. 4 people were there talking for a long time, and I had to ask them to quiet down at 11 pm, but the noise bothered us until midnight. The noise from upstairs was worse. People above us were walking around the room midnight and maybe even checked out around 4 am. It's an old house, so every step upstairs makes noise to the room below. I highly recommend to choose rooms on the 2nd floor if you can!
Another tip is to not have an high expectation for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay at rooms on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0jangles4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

While it's great to hear that you enjoyed our garden among other aspects of your stay I'm sorry to learn that the noise from upstairs kept you awake at night. Please know that we want you to be as comfortable as possible and we're always happy to accommodate you with a room change whenever possible. In addition, you shouldn't have to lower your expectations for breakfast -- I appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we can improve. I hope that we can have a chance to make a better impression the next time you head toward St. Augustine.

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 901 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

Browsing the internet for a romantic place for my fiance and I to elope and happened to find Casa de Solana. The Romace package sounded perfect! We couldn't wait for our trip and getting married at this beautiful place! From the moment we arrived until we left it could not have been better! Every detail was exactly like we had invisioned or beyond! The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. We had breakfast in our room both mornings. They were delicious and brought up each morning beautifully arranged! Not just danishes and fruit! Even our wedding cake was delivered to our room with an iced bottle of champagen! The first bottle was waiting for us when we arrived. The ceremony was breath taking and brought both of us to tears.The city was romantic and full of interesting places to visit and explore! We both loved this Bed and Breakfast and the people that made our romantic get away so special that we have decided on celebrating our anniversary every 6 months instead of year just so we can go back sooner!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Segui Room. Absolutely romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridagirlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Reading your review absolutely makes my day. From your beautiful ceremony to breakfasts in the morning, I'm thrilled to know that we could help make your elopement extra special. Thanks so much for celebrating the occasion with us here in St. Augustine. We'll always be around when the two of you want to get away and relive the magic. From all of us at Casa we wish you nothing but the best in your marriage!

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Minorcan Suite in April. We were very pleased with the room- clean, comfortable, good internet, refrigerator, nice patio seating. Social hour very limited snacks. Was only there for 1 breakfast, the eggs florentine were very heavy on the florentine, not too great. When reserving, missed the info about no meat served. Not too sure the "homemade" cookies were actually homemade. All of that is minor, but they make a big deal about it on the website. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was really the winning point, easy walk to everything, including some cafes and galleries right around the corner.

Room Tip: Minorcan Suite was on the ground floor, very convenient for luggage, as well as for utilizing the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kct57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

I'm happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed everything from our location to the suite that you stayed in. On the note of the food that we serve, I can assure you that everything out of our kitchen is homemade with love. I'm sorry if something you tried wasn't quite to your liking. That said, I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to see you again the next time you head our way from Kansas City.

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

SUCH a WONDERFUL place!! We enjoyed everything about it! Our room ( the Segui) was Perfect! Loved the furnishings, the balcony, the nice big bathroom, even a little fridge! The breakfasts were amazing and the afternoon wine and cheese, etc delicious and relaxing in the Very comfortable dining room. GREAT location!! AND, the Best part - Jeff and Lynne (with an E :-) could Not be More Accommodating - friendly, helpful, attentive - I could go on and on! Lynne personally guided us to the parking, gave us cookies fresh from the oven when we happened by at the right time :), gave us The Best restaurant recommendations, and was just so personable! Jeff's breakfasts are Amazing and he was so nice to share some of the history of Casa de Solana and to make suggestions for future visits. All the staff were Very pleasant and friendly. We're looking So forward to our next stay! Wouldn't stay any where else! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pegsuek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

I can't even tell you how happy it makes us to read your glowing feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you loved everything from your room down to the breakfasts we served. Thanks so much for taking the time to spread the word. We can't wait to see you again the next time you head down our way.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The best place in St Augustine to stay for the perfect get away. Located in the heart of the city and in walking distance to great shopping and food. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We brought our dog and he was just as welcomed as we were. If your going to this city THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WANT TO STAY!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Your compliments mean the world to us! I'm glad that our location was just what you were looking for on your St. Augustine getaway. Thanks for taking the time to share your recommendation and spread the word. We'll look forward to seeing you again the next time you make it down from Savannah.

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Casa de Solana is a warm and inviting B & B nestled in the heart of Old Town St. Augustine. It's rooms are beautifully decorated, complimentary breakfasts are delicious and the staff (especially Lynne) are gracious and accomodating.

Comfy rooms, lovely public spaces and proximity to restaurants and sightseeing makes it the perfect getaway location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

While reading your review I couldn't help but smile, Marianne. I'm glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your recommendation. We hope to see you again!

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Casa de Solana last week and I can't say enough about how pleased we were with our stay. The friendly, helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts, perfect location and lovely accommodations. We traveled with our large dog who was treated like Royalty. We will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kiwijojo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

It was our pleasure to welcome you all (dog included) to St. Augustine! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed everything from the breakfasts to our location and hope that you'll join us again someday. Thanks for taking the time to share your kudos with us here on Trip Advisor.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Aviles St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4441
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $183 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast is where old world charm meets modern amenities and where epic romance begins!Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast takes its name from the original owner, Don Manuel Lorenzo Solana, a member of one of the city's first Spanish families. Today, Casa de Solana is a 10-room, full-service St. Augustine B&B. You'll often be greeted by the smell of something fabulous going on in the kitchen. The dining room presents with gorgeous dark wood floors, intimate seating, and elegant place settings, and each room has been uniquely decorated by the owners. Guests and passer-byers alike love the seasonally manicured courtyard with jasmine gone wild and an impressive collection of romantic cherub statuary, making it the perfect wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Solana Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing