We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were warmly greeted as soon as we arrived. Lynn and the entire staff were so helpful especially with area recommendations for dining, etc. The location is perfect, a close walk to everything and a trolley stop is only a few steps out of the courtyard. Our room, the Montejurra, was very spacious and nicely decorated. There was a small fridge to keep our adult beverages cool and we really enjoyed the fireplace. The courtyard is very peaceful for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. The evening wine social was a nice treat and the breakfast was absolutely AMAZING!!! The housekeeping service added a nice little holiday touch when servicing our room. The parking is off site but not a big deal.....a very easy walk. I highly recommend Casa de Solana especially during the Nights of Lights. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labgirl921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    112
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
557
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

On the oldest street, near the oldest house, but away from the kitchy and touristy pedestrian mall, just a few blocks from the water. We stayed in the attic, the "British Suite", which seemed private, but as a tall guy, had to duck my head in a few places.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Casa de Solana in historic St Augustine provided the perfect escape from snow bound Boston. Jeff and staff provided a warm welcome, our room was attractive and comfortable, with great attention to detail. The delicious breakfast was beautifully presented. We shall return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The place was great. My wife and I wanted to get away and we found the perfect place. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfasts were wonderful. It's right on Aviles Street which is walking distance from all major attractions. I also suggest you try Cellars6 restaurant on the same street. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alcollazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thrilled to read that you and your wife were able to enjoy the perfect Christmas getaway at Casa. We're happy to have hosted you both. I'll be sure to pass your kudos along to our staff — they'll appreciate it very much! All the best to you and yours in this new year.

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I usually don't write reviews, but I just have to rave about my stay at Casa de Solana over Christmas. I surprised my fiancé with the Chocolate Lovers and Roses package, and it was exceptional... Champagne, chocolate cake, chocolate dipped strawberries, and chocolate covered chocolate chip cookies... Decadent and delicious!

We stayed in the Cielo Room, and it was lovely, cozy, and perfect for two. We spent our nights sipping champagne on our private balcony. And, I highly recommend making use of the jacuzzi bathtub, which was incredibly relaxing.

Casa de Solana is a beautiful B&B inside and out... The staff is friendly, and the ambiance is charming and peaceful.

We couldn't have picked a better city, and place to stay for Christmas. I can't wait to go back because this definitely a holiday vacation to remember.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren62984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We're so happy to have hosted you and your fiancé for a cozy Christmas holiday. What a lovely surprise you planned! I'm glad to hear that our Chocolate Lovers and Roses package was the perfect addition to your visit! (It's hard to go wrong when chocolate's involved, right?)

A big thank you for choosing Casa and also for taking the time to write a fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you both the next time you make it back to St. Augustine. Until then, wishing you all the best in your engagement!

Warm regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I got married over the weekend and was lucky enough that I found Casa de Solana for my special day. The courtyard and the buildings were beautiful, I had my wedding in the courtyard and everything was set up, all i had to do was show up, which is a great relief to a stressed out bride. I have worked in hotels for years, chain hotels, and I have always noticed how pushy sometimes they can be. However Casa de Solana was able to do so much for me and my husband, and make our stay feel so personal, while still remaining at a distance and giving us our privacy during our stay, there's a real art to that, and that's an area I feel most places come up short in. We stayed in the Montejurra room, which was just beautiful, comfortable bed, sitting area, large balcony and large bathtub, I did not want to leave! We had an in room massage which was great, and a carriage ride around the town which is just beautiful this time of year. The breakfast in bed was delicious, the pesto and basil omelettes were SO good, and I thought the makeup cleansing clothes in the bathroom was such a great touch, especially after a wedding. this is

Special Thank you to Jeff and the ladies for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We're so glad that we were able to deliver a seamless wedding day for you and your lovely husband, Hillary. Thank you for the sweet review! We do our best to balance between those personal touches and giving couples enough space to keep the focus on what's most important — each other. It's great to hear that we're doing just that!

I wish you both all of the newlywed bliss that comes in the first months of marriage. Come back and see us whenever you feel nostalgic and are ready to relive your special day. Congratulations!

All the best,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was the first time my wife and I stayed at a B&B. We had a little trouble finding the place but we called and they were able to direct us in.
The room was nice but it was cool in the evening (November) and the fireplace was not turned on yet for the season. My wife had a chill so I went to ask the front desk. They gave me a warm blanket which helped.
The location is great. According to the tour guides it's on the oldest street in St Augustine. There are a couple of nice restaurants just up the block and we were able to walk to most of the attractions, shops ad restaurants.
The staff was very friendly and the breakfast tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOrt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I'm glad that you and your wife were able to enjoy your stay in St. Augustine with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'll be sure to pass your kudos along to the chef and staff. They'll appreciate it very much!

Thanks also for being so understanding with the chilly weather. Our staff is always happy to do whatever they can to make sure our guests are as comfortable as possible. I hope the two of you will come back and visit us again one day. Until then, I hope you are both warm and well in Pennsylvania.

Best regards,
Jeff, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#14 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autogr...
#15 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in Saint Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 Aviles St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-4441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast is where old world charm meets modern amenities and where epic romance begins!Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast takes its name from the original owner, Don Manuel Lorenzo Solana, a member of one of the city's first Spanish families. Today, Casa de Solana is a 10-room, full-service St. Augustine B&B. You'll often be greeted by the smell of something fabulous going on in the kitchen. The dining room presents with gorgeous dark wood floors, intimate seating, and elegant place settings, and each room has been uniquely decorated by the owners. Guests and passer-byers alike love the seasonally manicured courtyard with jasmine gone wild and an impressive collection of romantic cherub statuary, making it the perfect wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Solana Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing