We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Minor Affair”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“A Minor Affair”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about this bed-and-breakfast. My husband and I got married there last week and everything was lovely. The food was lovely, the people are lovely, and we met amazing people just hanging out at the dining room and courtyard. It was everything I could've ever hoped for and never dreamed possible. It was quaint and quiet and absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlnamedemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We didn't consider your minor! We loved having you here. You were a beautiful bride and your family was wonderful. Thank you for the review and we wish you a wonderful first married year together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    115
    27
    12
    6
See reviews for
74
595
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great location within a short walking distance to everything in the "Old Town" area. We were visiting St. Augustine celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary and decided to try a B & B. We had never stayed at one so we took a leap of faith and decided on Casa de Solana. We enjoyed the experience so much that we will definitely look to stay in B & B's from now on.

We stayed in the Montejurra room which is directly above the dining room and is big with approx. a 10-12' ceiling. I am 6' 3" and never felt cramped in the least, quite spacious actually. The room was beautifully appointed and maintained. We loved the fact that in this room the garden tub for two was in the bathroom and not in the middle of the sleeping area. We also liked the "rainfall" shower head mounted in the ceiling. The canopy bed is gorgeous and very comfortable. Other nice amenities worth mentioning: Free Wifi, individual room thermostat for AC, Bikes (free) available for check-out, small refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and facial cleaning towels--my wife loved these for make-up removal. Also, the room was extremely quiet, virtually no outside noise was noticed.

One reviewer complained about parking, well parking was actually closer to walk than to drive, because of "one way" streets. Never once complained about the walk from the parking lot because the sights were wonderful on the way back and depending on your pace it only took about 3-5 min., plus you would not want a parking lot next to the B & B because it would totally destroy the historic charm & beauty of the "Old Town" and this B&B.

Jeff the innkeeper, was wonderful and friendly. He also had some great suggestions for dining. We ate at "La Pentola" a couple blocks away on Charlotte Street and "Collage" on Hypolita Street. Both were wonderful dining experiences. The breakfasts served in the morning were wonderful creations. Plus, plenty of coffee, tea, milk, cereals, hard boiled eggs, croissants, scones, etc. The afternoon wine and cheese social was also a nice touch.

Not enough room in this review to say enough nice things about Casa de Solana!
My only advice to those researching where to stay is to just book your stay at this B&B and pick the Montejurra room.

Room Tip: The Montejurra Room was well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsu91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
What a nice review. Very perceptive and well written. Thanks so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I spent 3 days in June at the Casa De Solana for a long weekend .I chose this praticular INN because of its central location to the historic district of St Aurustine. Great Choice! I was in walking distance of everything. The INN istself is beautiful. It has the beauty and charm one would expect in the oldest city in the US. It also has all the modern amenities one has come to expect. The food was delicious. Each morning i was greeted with a hot breakfast. And greeted by a friendly and knowledgeable staff. Their recommendations for sights to see, where to have dinner, shopping where fantastic. I cant wait to plan my next trip to Casa De Salona and Historic St Augustine.
Robert.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks, Robert, for the kind words. Will pass those cudos onto the staff as well; they will appreciate that! Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary at Casa De Solana. It is a beautiful location on the oldest street in the U.S. A wedding party was blocking Aviles Street so we couldn't park there to check in but the Oldest House Museum is a block and a half, equivalent to 1/2 a city block, from the bed and breakfast which had free parking for museum visitors, but we weren't there over 10 minutes, so I found that convenient, just waited in the car while my husband walked over to check in.

Parking is only a couple minutes up the road so take the opportunity to take in the beauty of the area while you walk. Having stayed in New Orleans and Savannah this was much more convenient than having a valet park and retrieve your vehicle, which they charge for. They gave us the opportunity to purchase a carriage ride which picked us up there and would drop us where we wanted. Our guide was wonderful and it was so romantic.

The person who checked us in was kind and accommodating. He was knowledgeable about places to see and restaurants.

Breakfast was wonderful. I saw complaints about the quaintness of breakfast but it is a bed and breakfast and walking around town you don't want to be overly stuffed anyways. It was the perfect amount of food and DELICIOUS! Ours was French toast casserole, which I had never had, and sausage patties. There's so many restaurants to experience anyways I loved being hungry enough to eat lunch and dinner at other places.

Or room was adorable! My husband did get a little claustrophobic since he's 6-1 and being an old house the ceilings are low, I found it funny:)

The garden is beautiful! My only complaint was the horrible mosquitoes, but not the owners faults for that one.

Loved our stay and can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ileona l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Owner at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We are pleased to hear that your anniversary trip was a success! We appreciate the very kind words and support! We wish you another happy year and hope you'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We picked the Casa de Solana due to its pet friendly policy and we were not disappointed. Our beloved Frenchie had a wonderful time and service couldn't have been any better. We were lucky enough to have a room with a door to the outside (The Confederate) which made it very convenient when having to walk our pooch. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Innkeeper at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Bartique,

It's great to hear from you! We're glad to know you all enjoyed your stay in the Confederate. Frenchie had her own private entrance and exit! Thank you for recommending us as a friendly inn to pet-lovers and travelers, alike.

Hopefully you can return to St. Augustine sooner than later. We'd love to welcome you back!

Thanks again,
Jeff Sonia
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We picked the Casa De Solana for it's elopement package they offered. The wedding was nice (Jamie the officiant is very chill :) ) and the grounds were absolutely lovely! The location was also very nice and we were right on a pretty street filled with restaurants. The parking lot if a few blocks away but the walk is minimal (plus walking is the only way to travel in St Augustine :P) and theres a small unloading lot on the property so it's not like you even have to carry your bags from the further parking lot. The breakfast was abundant and delish!

My only gripe was our room. It was big, beautiful, and all around a delight...until we fell asleep. The walls are PAPER THIN and we literally heard EVERY NOISE our upstairs neighbors were making. And trust me, that is not something you want to be wake up in the middle of the night to. And I do mean literally every noice - grunts, sighs, moans, and all o__o

But I digress... To sum it all up: great place, great food, great location. If I had to do it all over again I'd stay therem but I'd bring some dang earplugs!

Room Tip: I was in the Kirby Smith Room - so maybe avoid that one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Front Office Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
You were an absolutely beautiful bride, and we were honored to host your wedding. We are sorry to hear you were disturbed by overnight noise. The welcome letter in each room does highlight the fact that we have an after-hours phone number, and had we known a disturbance was in the midst, we certainly would have addressed the matter immediately. It does sound as though you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we definitely enjoyed the good energy both you and your new husband brought to the Inn. We wish you all the best as you begin your married life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Beautiful rooms, exquisite breakfast, and great location! Offers great package deal's for an amazing trip to St. Augustine. The Inn Keepers are wonderful! The court yard smells fantastic in the morning!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Minorican Suite, Ground floor looking out at the court yard. Very quiet, and quaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Owner at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.0 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#13 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 Aviles St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast is where old world charm meets modern amenities and where epic romance begins!Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast takes its name from the original owner, Don Manuel Lorenzo Solana, a member of one of the city's first Spanish families. Today, Casa de Solana is a 10-room, full-service St. Augustine B&B. You'll often be greeted by the smell of something fabulous going on in the kitchen. The dining room presents with gorgeous dark wood floors, intimate seating, and elegant place settings, and each room has been uniquely decorated by the owners. Guests and passer-byers alike love the seasonally manicured courtyard with jasmine gone wild and an impressive collection of romantic cherub statuary, making it the perfect wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Solana Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing