We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Casa de Solana!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 3, 2008

I just returned from a wonderfully romantic stay at the Casa de Solana. I went with my boyfriend for his birthday as a surprise, and we stayed in the Confederate room. The B&B is currently remodeling all the rooms, and luckily we got a remodeled one! There is a lovely fireplace, large whirlpool tub, and flat screen tv. The location is excellent and within walking distance to many cute shops and restaurants. The staff was very helpful with directions and anything else we needed. The wine and cheese was nice. We didn't get a chance to go to the dessert. The breakfast in the morning was excellent! The hot breakfast was a tasty cinnamon pecan pastry and sausage. We definitely want to come back here. Perfect for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GatorTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 930 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2007

My wife and I came here for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. This B&B is charming, clean and the staff was very outgoing and accommodating. The layout allows for more privacy than most B&Bs (it felt more like a very small hotel) and the food was excellent.

There were only a couple things that I didn't like. First, the rooms are more outdated than they seem in the pictures on the Web site. At first glance, we were both a little disappointed, but it quickly grew on us. Second, because there were few people staying when we stayed, the proprietors cleaned up the meals earlier than scheduled and we missed one dessert.

Other than those small "problems," our staff was fantastic and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordand3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

3 nights at Casa de Solana, for our honeymoon. Kelly, the massage therapist was the selling point for us to stay here. She came to our room on Sunday. We really enjoyed our visit. We stayed in the British Suite for 2 nights, which was nice. We stayed in the Mary Mitchell room, the other night, which was amazing. So much room, it was almost like having your own little apartment. We will be back! We also love Lynn. She was a really big help! Thanks

Stayed: December 2007
Thank sweetcheeks5825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

My husband and I went to this B &B inn for his birthday this fall on the recommendation of friends. We were thrilled and pleasantly surprised at the gorgeous rooms and historical authenticity of the inn as well as the privacy (not usual in most B&B) and impeccable service! Usually I am squeamish at the lack of privacy at these inns - but not this one! I couldn't get over the private bathroom w/its lavish whirlpool tub that was just decadent ! Also, the little touches and attention to detail from the staff made this a 5 star weekend. The owners worked hard to make this special for my hubby starting with complimentary champagne in the room and made suggestions to customize our weekend including arranging for a masseuse and a romantic evening carriage ride. The breakfast & happy hour socials were first class all the way. We felt so pampered that we can't wait to go back - which we are in December for a Christmas getaway. This is a perfect place for anniversaries, honeymoons or weddings - or that special "just for two" weekend. Best of all - no children (under 16) allowed!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank custerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Booked and stayed for 2 nights in the Theresa room with its whirlpool bath. The bed is very high, but as I have long legs that is no problem. Had baths both mornings - something we dont get time to do at home.
Loved the property and it is so close to the central plaza that we would pop back to our room a couple of times a day.
On our first day here my partner came down with a streaming cold, Geoff our host was kind enough to offer to run me to the local drug store, so I could purchase supplies -Thank-you.
We took part in the meet and greet on both evenings and got to sample the wine from San Sabastians winery at these events. The breakfasts were good and enough to set us up for the day. I had a wonderful time here and will return on our next visit.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank josey1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed on the Casa de Solanas's Seaclusion boat with another couple in Nov 07. The boat smelled musty when we first got on board. The bathroom in the foward area overflowed several times and raw sewage was overflowing in the bathroom toilet and also started coming up in the kitchen sink. We were totally grossed out! We informed the B&B staff and they came out to "fix" the problem but the problem was not fixed. My wife and I including our friends were sickened by the smell. The staff was rude and not very polite. We will never go here again and for those of you thinking about staying on their boat....DON'T!!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dayoung13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abby23, Innkeeper at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2007

In response to the most recent review of our SeaClusion Bed and Boat, we hope that all readers will read and digest the information we have to offer. The Staff at Casa de Solana holds our guests opinions in high regard. We always strive for the most enjoyable experiences for those who stay with us. In recent weeks the City Marina has enstalled a new system for drainage. We had followed all suggestions from the Marina staff as to how we might most effectively use the new system. We did address the issues called to our attention by guests who stayed with us in early November. After seeking help with the local experts it seems that a nonfunctioning city valve might be the culprate. We hope that with the cooperation of the City and Marina staff this problem will be resolved shortly.

We appreciate all comments for this is one of the ways we can improve your Bed and Breakfast experience.

Kindest regards:

Staff Casa de Solana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

We stayed twice for one night each time en route in Florida, both times in the Confederate Room on the first floor. Our first stay was mid-week and the second stay was on a Friday night. The picture on the web-site did show a step-stool, but for those of us who are short-legged, the bed was rather high! I was impressed with the number of towels and face-cloths that were supplied in the bathroom.
The location is great, right in the historic district with several places of interest within walking distance. As with most of the accomodations in St. Augustine, parking is off-site, about four blocks away, so we unloaded the luggage and then drove over to their designated spaces in a parking lot. Unfortunately, the streets in this very old area of town were designed before the advent of cars and are very narrow. We appreciated the reasonable prices at Casa Solana (even with the typical St. Augustine weekend price increase), and especially the senior discount that was extended to us.
The staff was helpful, and breakfasts were very nice. All in all it was a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinderella_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
971 reviews
0 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#9 of 31 in St. Augustine
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Aviles St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4441
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $184 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast is where old world charm meets modern amenities and where epic romance begins!Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast takes its name from the original owner, Don Manuel Lorenzo Solana, a member of one of the city's first Spanish families. Today, Casa de Solana is a 10-room, full-service St. Augustine B&B. You'll often be greeted by the smell of something fabulous going on in the kitchen. The dining room presents with gorgeous dark wood floors, intimate seating, and elegant place settings, and each room has been uniquely decorated by the owners. Guests and passer-byers alike love the seasonally manicured courtyard with jasmine gone wild and an impressive collection of romantic cherub statuary, making it the perfect wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Solana Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing