We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway from the kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We came here last week to escape reality (and parenthood) for a few days and visit one of our favorite places, St. Augustine. To be honest we initially chose Casa de Solana because we had a fantastic coupon, but can't imagine staying anywhere else now when we visit as a couple. We parked our car on the first afternoon and never had to drive again the entire rest of the trip until we loaded our bags. When walking was going to take us too long, they had bikes available too. And right down from the inn, on Aviles, is the most amazing collection of shops, bars, and restaurants. Each night, we settled in at Cellar 6 for an Irish Coffee! By far, the best part of our trip was the fantastic staff that really took the time to get to know us, made sure our needs were always met, knew St. Augustine extrememly well and made stellar recommendations, and made the most mouth-watering breakfast each morning (thanks Jeanne). Thank you for a great getaway from the kids. You and Mike have made lifetime customers out of us! Keep up the great work! Sean and Judi Case

Room Tip: There are many different size rooms available, with different unique qualities to each one. Read th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 901 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

We came here last year for our anniversary and we loved it! We've stayed at three other B&B's in Saint Augustine and this is the only one we've decided to return to. The room was cozy and updated. We loved the fireplace and Jacuzzi. The location is great; it's close enough to enjoy everything Saint Augustine has to offer within walking distance. It's near the main park which is beautiful around Christmas. It's also just down the road from Cellar 6, which is a really fine place to get sangria. The staff was accommodating, but we felt like we had plenty of privacy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room named, "Franchesca".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SumerToogood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We won't be staying at this B&B again. We purchased the Romance Package and stayed in the Rosa Room. The room came with a two person jacuzzi, and the package came with breakfast served during one morning of the weekend stay. It was hard to get to sleep because of the outside noise, doors slamming, people talking, cars driving by, etc. The wait staff woke us up on the wrong day, after a long week of traveling, to give us breakfast. Then, gave us a bad attitude, as if it were our fault that we weren't happy about it. Around 10:30 that evening, after a long day of seeing the town, we returned to our room exhausted, and very much looking forward to getting into the jacuzzi. That didn't happen because the jacuzzi didn't work. Upon check out, I informed the desk staff of this, who simply replied, that they were sorry, and we should have flipped the breaker switch in the next room beside the toilet. As if we were supposed to magically know that?!! There was no offer to compensate us for being so rudely awakened or disappointed by the lack of a jacuzzi, and no insentive for us to come back. We'll definately try another place next time...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasadeSolana, Manager at Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

We are very sorry to learn that you were so dissatisfied with your stay here.

We seem to have gotten off on the wrong foot from the beginning with the breakfast mix-up. With regard to being awakened for room service at 8:30 on the wrong morning, typically, as stated in our online package write-ups, the breakfast in bed is served on the first morning. It was our oversight that you had requested it to be served on the second morning, and we did apologize profusely for that inconvenience. A very awkward moment for us indeed, and we apologize again. As I understand it, you were offered the option of having the breakfast in bed that morning since it was already delivered, in addition to the next morning, at no additional charge, but you refused, so that morning’s breakfast was taken back downstairs, and delivery was made as scheduled at 8:30 the next morning.

With regard to the hot tub, we will place a sign next to the tub so everyone knows about the breaker switch. The Welcome Letter in all the rooms makes note of the after-hours number for problems, as we have staff on site 24 hours a day, and no such call was received. I am truly sorry that you were offended on check-out by us explaining the fix; we certainly would not expect you to know that, but we would expect that you call us when the situation arises so that we can fix it and no ill feelings need arise.

In terms of compensation not being offered, again, we did offer breakfast in bed to you both days at no additional charge, and we did not charge for the pet guest that was not disclosed by you on check-in. Your reservation notes indicate that when you made the reservation you were undecided as to whether you would be bringing your pet and were granted the opportunity to not be charged until check-in in the event that you did decide to bring the pet. You failed to disclose to us that you did you bring your pet; housekeeping was quite surprised when entering for stay-over service, to be greeted by a dog. We did not, however, charge you for the pet guest (what would have been $50) or even address the situation, as a courtesy to you to perhaps alleviate the breakfast incident.

We are disappointed that our guest/host relationship was not the best of matches because we absolutely do strive to ensure that every one of our guests has the best possible experience at Casa de Solana and in St. Augustine, and we apologize for any misunderstandings that detracted from your enjoyment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We really liked this B&B. The settings were very nice and it was quiet inspirt of being right in town.
The breakfast was first rate as was the service. Our room (there were larger ones) was small but comfortable. There was a courtyard where you could a enjoy a morning cup of coffee or an afternoon drink.
Finding it at night was a chore but well worth it once we got settled in.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scenicpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I are Floridians but this was our first trip to St. Augustine. It will not be our last! I had a meeting downtown and was looking for one night's lodging nearby. Casa de Solana fit the bill. It's smack dab in the middle of everything! My husband isn't a B&B person, but he was immediately won over by the welcoming and accommodating atmosphere. We stayed in the Confederate Room. The decor was charming and historic without being stuffy and uncomfortable. The large jacuzzi tub was also wonderful surprise. We met some great people at the social hour and breakfast the next morning was so good my husband took a photo. I seriously can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalScene460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Located in the heart of St. Augustine's old quarter, Casa de Solana is nestled among the narrow streets and walking distance to everything. Stone walls surround a lush, landscaped courtyard which offers a gracious approach to the inn. The proprietress was very helpful and made our late (10:30pm) checkin very convenient. We pass through St. Augustine 1-2 times per year and plan to make this our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consortium1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Casa de Solana. He had been in Alaska for three months for school and we planned to meet for a one week getaway in St. Augustine. He made the reservation along with a few special packages. The staff were beyond friendly and helpful. They made it perfect for the both of us! It was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast...even though I work at one...so, we wanted it to be special. They truly exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Montejurra Room...and let me tell you, the pictures online do not do this room justice...it was absolutely gorgeous and romantic. Some of our favorite things were the king sized bed, the jacuzzi tub and the balcony. It felt private and secluded but the wine and cheese and breakfast were perfect for getting to know the other guests. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to everyone and especially our room that we stayed in. We are going back for our one year anniversary next month! I can't wait to escape to St. Augustine again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
956 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 31 in St. Augustine
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
970 reviews
0.3 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Aviles St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4441
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $183 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast is where old world charm meets modern amenities and where epic romance begins!Casa de Solana Bed & Breakfast takes its name from the original owner, Don Manuel Lorenzo Solana, a member of one of the city's first Spanish families. Today, Casa de Solana is a 10-room, full-service St. Augustine B&B. You'll often be greeted by the smell of something fabulous going on in the kitchen. The dining room presents with gorgeous dark wood floors, intimate seating, and elegant place settings, and each room has been uniquely decorated by the owners. Guests and passer-byers alike love the seasonally manicured courtyard with jasmine gone wild and an impressive collection of romantic cherub statuary, making it the perfect wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Solana Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Solana Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing