We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thing about St Augustine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Saragossa Inn B&B
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited the charming city of St Augustine for 4th of july weekend. We stayed at the Saragossa Inn for three nights.
When we first arrived and got into our room, Tidewater, it was like visiting a small, beautyful cottage. So relaxing, and with old funiture, flowered bedsheets and decorations that was taken out of an 1950/60 cottage. Sure there were a couple of spiders in the bathroom which you would not accept in a normal hotel, but nothing that ruined the experience, because this isn't a normal hotel, it's like a holiday from your holiday, and what little cottage doesn't have a couple of ants or spiders visiting now and again? Our little room had the softest bed, and we slept like babies. All we could hear outside our window was a frog, such a change from busy South Beach where we had been earlier in the holiday. St Augustine is a charming city, where you can reach most things by foot. At the Saragossa Inn you are a five minute walk away from everything, and trust me, you'll need to walk after Gibbs and Ryans AMAZING brunch. Breakfasttime will never be the same again. Gibbs cook three course brunch for his guests at 9.30 or 10.30 every morning. Do not miss this!!!! We had the late seating, and went for a little walk around town in the morning on an empty stomake before returning to the Saragossa Inn for brunch. It's worth it! The food was outstanding all three mornings. It always started with a fruit course, then we got a hot dish, and finished off with dessert. You'll have problems finishing it all, as it is a lot of food, but do try, as it's so good. The highlight of our stay was the freshly baked strawberry short cake for 4th of july, but also The Peach cobbler on our last day. At The Satagossa Inn you also get The best hosts you can ask for. So helpful with every little matter and question, and really nice just to have a chat with during breakfast. They rocommended loads of nice things to see in St Augustine. It felt like we were visiting family. The Saragossa Inn is probably the best thing about St Augustine, which is a lovely city well worth a visit when in Florida. We can not imagine you'll find a better place to stay!!! We'll be back when we get the chance!

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Hilde N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 312 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights right before the 4th of July. It met and exceeded all my expectations. We stayed in the room, Southwind, at the front of the house. We had a lovely porch to enjoy right outside our room. The room had a separate area with a daybed which worked out perfect for us. My girlfriend was an early riser and she was able to make her coffee and enjoy her early morning without disturbing me (the later riser). The 3 course brunch each morning was incredible!! Who has dessert with breakfast?? WE DID! We enjoyed our chats with Gibbs each morning and Ryan was a sweetheart. I really liked how it was on a quiet side street away from, but close enough to all the action. It was a pleasure to just leave our car there and stroll into town. Seriously, you can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snoozen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We booked here based on TA reviews. We wanted an in town location to avoid the hassle of traffic & parking. We were not disappointed. The innkeeper Gibbs and his assistant are superb hosts - making every reasonable effort to accommodate.
The highlight of stay is a daily 3 course brunch served at 2 separate seatings (9:30am and 10:30) due to space limitations. You won't have to eat again until dinner.
The Inn is within easy walking distance of the historic district. We walked back & forth to district late at night without any safety concerns.
Our room was quaint, bathroom area was small - but any personal complaint from me is outweighed by the convenience, great food and hospitality.

Room Tip: Inn's website has photos of each room - so you can pick one that meets your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hhislim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This B&B is absolutely lovely. The owner Gibbs is a very interesting chap and we had some good chin wags! The room we stayed in was quaint but comfortable. The bed was high so we had to have stools to get in and out but that made it all the more fun. But the crowning glory of this place is the 3 course breakfast/brunch. Ours was served at 9.30 and then there was another sitting at 10.30, because the dining room was essentially the dining room of the original house so only held 3 tables. This made it very intimate and personal. The food was superb. First morning was warm pears with walnuts then a stack of toast a scrambled egg ham tomato and cheese followed by a dessert. Wow what a start to the day. We were fit to burst. This place is something out of the ordinary and for us much better than a big impersonal hotel. Also you would not get a breakfast like that at many places! We would not hesitate to return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank RubyTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This Bed and Breakfast is absolutely wonderful! My mum and myself come about once a year to this lovely escape and have stayed in the Homewood and the Tidewater. Each room is beautifully maintained in cleanliness, something both of us are very mindful of. The beds are amazingly spacious and comfortable, I always wake feeling rested and ready for the galivanting of the day. Having just spent out third year trip here I am more excited than ever to go back, hopefully sooner than later!
Gibbs is always a gracious and courteous host and a man well deserving of adoration! The location of this beautiful home is the best it could be, perfectly located with free private parking so close to the rooms. The three course breakfast is splendid, as always. Ryan, a new but great employee, was magnificent with customer service which is very refreshing in this day and age, especially at his age. Very helpful and excited to make your trip as stress free as possible.
We cannot wait to come back as there is simply no other way to stay at St. Augustine!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Plum201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Gibbs at the Saragossa was a pleasure to work with and the accommodations were lovely. We had originally booked for a Saturday night stay in Southwind, but later called to extend to Friday night as well. No problem. We were running late on Friday and called to confirm we were still coming but that we didn't expect to get in until 11 or 12 at night. Gibbs told us he would have our room unlocked with they key left inside. It was so nice to drive up, unload and walk right to our room after a long drive to get there. He let us know our brunch time was 9:30. I explained to Gibbs that my husband was just diagnosed as diabetic the Monday prior and asked what a typical breakfast included because I knew my husband would be very sad to find a carb heavy meal. Not a problem. Gibbs explained some if the menu items he was planning and how he could adapt them for my husband. Yay!! I'm so glad it occurred to me to ask! Our second brunch was capped off with a peach cobbler (one of my husband's favorite desserts) and he was resigned to not getting to enjoy any when Gibbs told us he had made one for him with Stevia. I tried it against my regular cobbler and it was just as good! Happy husband!
The room was beautiful, the bed was super squishy from a memory foam (or similar) top. We could hear the murmur of neighbors in nearby rooms when we were in the entryway and the bathroom but not obtrusively. We couldn't hear any voices when sleeping. The room was clean and cozy. The only thing I'd change is to have hangers that can be removed from the closet.
The location was great. We walked everywhere from the B&B. The Lightner Museum, the fort, the shops, Flagler College, all within easy walking distance.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustMichelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully kept craftsman bungalow on a quiet street. The rooms are really big, including the bathroom. We stayed in the Southwind which has a front entrance room with a day bed and kitchen bar with sink and fridge. Bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows. We stayed two nights and wish we had stayed our entire vacation. The breakfasts prepared by Gibbs were scrumptious - we certainly did not need lunch. Not your usual, run-of-the-mill breakfast, but everything was tasty. The Inn is located in olde town and we walked everywhere during our stay. Ryan, the onsite manager, was knowledgable about the area and gave us good suggestions for dining. We will definitely stay at the Saragossa again when we return to St. Augustine. Thanks, Gibbs and Ryan, for a lovely experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the first floor. Front rooms are suites and definitely worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Garden Bed and Breakfast
Castle Garden Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 31 in St. Augustine
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Wind Inn
Southern Wind Inn
#24 of 31 in St. Augustine
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peace and Plenty Inn
Peace and Plenty Inn
#16 of 31 in St. Augustine
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#26 of 31 in St. Augustine
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Inn
Penny Farthing Inn
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saragossa Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn B&B

Address: 34 Saragossa St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3569
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $163 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Saragossa Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Saragossa Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing