We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“late breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Saragossa Inn B&B
Ranked #26 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2014

firstly when we arrived no one was in.There was a phone number to call but our uk mobile didnt work so we had to wait until someone loaned us their phone.We had specifically asked for a bath but got a shower. Room size was as small as we have had anywhere on our travels.Its nicely located and has character but we were then informed that the included breakfast earliest start was 9.30.If you are touring,as we were ,this timing is ridiculous.The alternative was 10.30 start!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesaragossainn, Owner at The Saragossa Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are a small independently owned B&B operated in our 1924 Sears Craftsman home. We make every effort to have someone at home at all times; however, the full-time owner/manager/chef/innkeeper wears many hats and does on occasion have to leave home. You did in fact arrive prior to our official check-in time which is clearly stated on our website and on the documents you received from the third party booking site through which you made your reservation. We are available by phone 24 hours per day and we are sorry to hear that YOUR cell phone did not work. As soon as you did reach us, we provided you with immediate assistance and the owner was back home for official check-in time.

We are sorry if you specifically requested a bath through the third party booking site; however, the request we received with your reservation was “a quiet room and a car parking space please.” We did provide you with both of these requests. Our home is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of the historic district of St Augustine and we have on-site, off-street parking for all of our rooms.

You booked one of our least expensive and smaller rooms. Your room in our nearly 100 year old home comfortably contains a queen-sized bed, dresser, desk, table & chairs, wet bar and does have a private full-sized bathroom with a tub/shower combination which means your room DID have a bath.

We serve a three-course gourmet style brunch each morning at a 9:30 & 10:30 seating which is clearly stated on our web site. The times for our brunch have been carefully selected based on our guest’s request for a leisurely morning. You are on vacation after all. In fact our 10: 30 seating is quite often our most popular.

The Saragossa B&B, located in our nation’s oldest city, has been rated excellent by hundreds of travelers from the world-over, earning us our 5-star rating here on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 311 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed at the Tidewater this past weekend for two nights. Two other couples that are friends stayed in the Homewood (2 bedroom).

I was very pleased with The Saragossa Inn, the staff and the attention we received. Gibbs made a very nice exception and waived the two night minimum for our friends that were not able to stay a second night in Saint Augustine.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Cheri who was very cheery and welcoming. She offered tons of suggestions of places to try in the area and made herself readily available at all times. Our room (Tidewater) was located in the back of the inn and was perfect! It was clean, smelled so nice and the bed was very comfortable! As a guest at the inn, you are also served a very taste three course gourmet breakfast which is included in your stay.

The inn is located about 3 blocks from St George Street making it a quick 5-10 minute walk away.

I highly recommend this inn to couples and anyone looking for a nice place to stay when visiting Saint Augustine.

Room Tip: Homewood is good when traveling with another couple (2 bedroom suite) and Tidewater is located in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tifffff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have visited beautiful and magical St. Augustine twice and both times stayed at the Sargossa Inn, just a couple of blocks from the hustle and bustle of the main historic area. The location is perfect, just two blocks to everything, but on a very nice quiet and quaint street that offers tranquility from the masses of tourists parading by. The rooms are elegant with rich warm colors, and the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept on. Owners and Innkeepers, Gibbs and Chuck and their assistant, Sherry, were so warm and hospitable. The creative and scrumptious breakfast/brunch prepared by Gibbs is as beautiful as it is delicious. This is an affordable and wonderful way to enjoy time in St. Augustine....I will BE BACK!

Room Tip: I love the SOUTH WIND SUITE- I included a photo from my stay below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The good - the people were very nice and the location is excellent.

The bad - there were ants in the bathroom. the linens were tired and the bed mushy. the brunch hours are very limiting, served at 9:30 and 10:30 only and cannot accommodate all six rooms at once, so if one slot is full, you have to take the other slot.

I am an experienced b&b traveller and thought it was extremely expensive for quite a rustic place, although to be fair I have not stayed anywhere else in St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank la_travelerata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesaragossainn, Owner at The Saragossa Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your review of the Saragossa Inn. We are so glad to hear that this guest thought WE were nice. We think customer service is very important and we want you to feel comfortable and welcome in our home. Our nearly 100 year old home is located in a quiet residential neighborhood just a quick stroll out of the Old Town madness. So, yes we think the location is excellent.

We apologize for the couple of ants that appeared on the window sill in the bathroom. In Florida, occasionally ants can be a problem. When the guest reported this to us we immediately called our pest control company and the area was treated the same day.

Our beds are all topped with a two inch memory foam mattress pad providing a nice, plush feel. Most guests find our beds to be “I don’t wanna get out of bed” comfy. But we guess one could perceive this quality as “mushy.” Our bed linens are 100% cotton and are laundered in a five-step process to make sure they are soft, fresh and fragrant. We constantly evaluate our linens and those that do not meet our standards are promptly replaced! Please note the review titled “Would definitely recommend!” for a different perspective of this very same room and posted just one week apart.

If you are a foodie, this is the Inn for you! We serve a three course gourmet brunch every day at a 9:30 & 10:30 seating. We strive to make our brunch an interesting and intimate experience. Our guests appreciate our brunch seating times to allow for a relaxing and stress-free morning. You are on vacation after all. Please note other reviews about the quality of our brunch. We are very proud of it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After staying in a not so nice hotel where we met a couple who raved about The Saragossa Inn we decided to give them a call. Thank God they just happened to have room for us. What birthday gift! We are so at home here. It is clean clean clean. It is peaceful. And oh my! the brunch! 3 course breakfast with strawberry shortcake for dessert. The staff treats us like family, and that's a good thing. We will definitely come back. I think we have found our new get-away destination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I loved staying at the Inn. it was close to everything, super comfortable, private, and the package we got was wonderful. We did the trolley tour and got to see so much. The people at the Inn made great recommendations for sights and restaurants etc. I will be staying here again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, it just depends on how much room you need or if you have pets etc. When m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our second year at the inn, we booked this place last year for me to propose to my partner, we had a fantastic time last year, and we're happy to return this year to celebrate our anniversary.

As ever Gibbs the innkeeper prepared a fantastic welcome in another great room, we stayed in the Tidewater room, which was quaint charming and comfortable.

As per our last experience every morning brought another well thought out and greatly prepared 3 course breakfast. It was everything we needed and more to set us up for the day.

I would like to thank all the staff at the inn for a great time and will surely see you again next year.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#27 of 30 in St. Augustine
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#9 of 30 in St. Augustine
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Inn
Penny Farthing Inn
#13 of 30 in St. Augustine
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Wind Inn
Southern Wind Inn
#24 of 30 in St. Augustine
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saragossa Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn B&B

Address: 34 Saragossa St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3569
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $162 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Saragossa Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Saragossa Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing