We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Saragossa Inn B&B
Ranked #28 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for two nights. We were considering staying at a hotel but being a holiday weekend, we decided to give this inn a try since it was more budget friendly and the reviews here were great. I am so glad we decided to stay here instead of the hotel we had originally chosen. Gibbs is a wonderful host and the breakfast exceeded our expectations. I let him know ahead of time that I was a vegetarian and he was happy to accommodate my request. The location is perfect if you're looking for a place to park and walk downtown. When we checked in, Gibbs gave us recommendations for the area which were all helpful including one of his restaurant suggestions. We stayed in the Southwind room and were very happy with the room and the comfort level of the bed. We enjoyed our time in St. Augustine and will definitely stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeh0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    25
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
221
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for three nights. Gibbs is a lovely host. Meals are tasty. Very welcoming atmosphere for straight or gay couples. We had our dogs, and our dog friendly room was very clean. It didnt have any bad smells from prior doggy visitors. We were in the garden mist. My only suggestion would be to swap out one of the sofa tables for a dresser. There's no place to really unpack your clothes. The water in the shower is difficult to regulate, but then again, it is a really old house. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Room temperature is regulated by the guest. Plenty of parking is available and the location is perfect for anyone staying in the historic district. We will be staying here again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoof26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedworth
Level Contributor
270 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visiting from the UK and staying in St Augustine for the first time, we booked 2 rooms for four of us based upon TA comments for this 6 bedroom Inn. We were not disappointed. We arrived four hours early for check in but just wanted to drop by, get our bearings etc. Gibbs met us on arrival, our rooms were being serviced but he was really helpful with any information we needed. Even getting the trolley tour bus to people to pick us up personally if we wanted! We were able to leave our car at Saragossa for the two days we were there (ideal as it will cost you a lot to park otherwise). Its just a few minutes walk to the historic district so this leafy suburb is a great location to stay. The rooms exude an old world charm, thoughtfully and individually decorated with beautiful country style furnishings and decor. All necessary facilities and more are provided for your stay. Breakfast/Brunch is something else on top. Gibbs is a long standing Chef and he will demonstrate his culinary skills with an interesting meal that will ensure you won't leave hungry! Also it is served and presented exquisitely with china crockery and crystal glasses. We would certainly return and appreciate staying in a place like this rather than the non personalised chain hotels where you could frankly be anywhere. Thank you for a great stay and also thank you for finding and returning my iPhone charger which I found on the car windscreen wipers upon our late return before moving on.

Room Tip: We booked late and got a great deal for a Sunday night stay. You could say the Queen room was small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillipN741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We recently spent a night a the Saragossa Inn, and were pleasantly surprised for the value for the price. When we arrived there was no owner on site, but there was a number to call, and a wonderful purring cat allowed me to pet it for the short time until Gibbs arrived. We were in the Honeysuckle Room, which was attractive and comfortable. I don't know where to start about the brunch. Fresh blueberries with ricotta cheese, a ham omelet with fresh dill sauce (that I would love to have the recipe for), and a cranberry cake with a grand marnier sauce. We had brunch with two gentlemen from Bruges, and had stimulating conversation to go along with gourmet food. It was a wonderful experience, and I would love to go back and spend a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drb1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Located just a few blocks from the historic center of St. Augustine, the Inn is a convenient spot for a visit to the city. Our room was somewhat cramped but it was beautifully furnished with its own door to the outside. There is off-street parking (parking can be a challenge in St. Augustine). The innkeeper is gregarious and quick to offer information about the city and to help with restaurant reservations. Breakfast was bounteous (though note that on Sunday it is a mid-morning brunch which might impact travel plans). Best yet for those of us who travel with a dog, it is pet friendly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our dog was welcomed here so we always feel positive about such lodgings. Our room was beautifully decorated, although somewhat small. The brunch was absolutely wonderful; a true gourmet delight. We did have some plumbing problems and the water was difficult to regulate in the shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We were awakened by a baby crying nearby and felt we were paying too much for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamingretriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We learned about Saragossa Inn by TripAdvisor reviews. Not surprisingly, that has become our travel guide no matter where we go. We wondered how Gibbs could please so many people with his culinary art, and we had to see (taste) it for ourselves. Sure enough he had no menu, but he reads minds! Once his eyes meet those of his guests, he knows in an instant what delicacy will suit them. And he never misses! Each day is different, but each day his creations are met with loud, enthusiastic ovations.

One word of advice: if you want to catch an early morning trolley, please stay somewhere else. Gibbs serves in his intimate upstairs dining room at 9:30 and 10:30, so the trolley ride must not be scheduled so early as to shorten the meal. My wife and I stayed in the PalmBreeze room and even though first appearances--of house AND of host--did not thrill us, everything seemed to fit, and in short order, the small house on Saragossa became our comfortable, convenient, conversant home away from home. If our journeys bring us back St. Augustine way, we will not hesitate to return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonSmith1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#34 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.1 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#27 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexander Homestead
Alexander Homestead
#22 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#13 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saragossa Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saragossa Inn B&B

Property: The Saragossa Inn B&B
Address: 34 Saragossa St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3569
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Saragossa Inn B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
began life as a 1924 Sears Craftsman Bungalow that has expanded over the passage of time and now houses two guest suites and four guest rooms, all with private entrances and private baths. The layout of the Saragossa will allow you all the privacy you want, yet is small enough for you to receive all the attention you need. The Saragossa is rustic and romantic, quaint and comfortable, relaxing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Saragossa Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saragossa Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing