We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantabulas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexander Homestead
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantabulas”
Reviewed April 8, 2007

The Alexander Homestead Bed and Breakfast was wonderfully
elegant. We stayed in the Victoria room. It was simply beautiful!

The staff was great, they made you feel welcomed. The service was more than excellent. I can't wait to stay there again!!

Lacey

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    67
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
440
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PSL Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2007

I have stayed at this Inn twice in the past four months and plan another trip next month! I like it because it feels like a home rather than a hotel or resort. I credit this feeling to Bonnie and her staff. The breakfast is awesome!

  • Liked — Service, Food & feels cozy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvstaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We just returned from St. Augustine, and I know there are ar lot of choices when it comes to choosing a bed and breakfast, so let me make it easy for you-- choose the Alexander Homestead.

It is spotlessly clean, very close -- but not right in the noisy St. George St. area. The furnishings are beautiful and Bonnie is just like a treasured next-door neighbor.

We stayed in the Alexandria room -- it has it's own porch, as several
of the rooms do. Breakfast was fabulous and I can tell you, we'll never stay anywhere else. This woman knows what she's doing.

  • Liked — beautiful place
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irishgal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

My family spend a night here for a quick look at St. Augustine, and staying here was the highlight of our visit. My sister and I stayed in the Queen Anne room on the second floor, and my parents stayed in the Alexander room on the first floor. Both rooms had a private porch, and ours even had a porch swing. The B&B is on a quiet street a few blocks from the main historic shopping district, and Bonnie is a delightful, helpful, and accessible hostess who has put an enormous amount of labor and love into creating the Alexander Homestead experience. Breakfast is a communal treat with homemade granola and fresh specialties like quiche and sweet biscuits (top secret recipe!). The bathrooms have lovely soaps and fluffy towels, and the house is lit beautifully at night, inside and out. This is a romantic and memorable place to stay in a historic city-- worth a trip in and of itself!

  • Liked — Staying in a historic house lovingly maintained by a gracious hostess
  • Disliked — It's necessary to book far in advance, but there was absolutely nothing unpleasant about our stay!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DolceVita79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2007

My husband and I took a last minute trip and chose the Alexander because of it's wonderful reviews and site. Although we only stayed a night, Bonnie the owner was extremely helpful and kind. She even helped us find a room for the following night because she was fully booked. The room was impeccable and beautifully furnished. The whirpool bath was soothing and romantic. We lit the fireplace and enjoyed a glass of complimentary brandy! Breakfast was outstanding, with homemade granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, quiche, and Bonnie's famous buiscuits. Come stay here if you want to be well taken care of!!!

  • Liked — The homeliness of house
  • Disliked — Weak water pressure
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jackieandrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2007

My boyfriend booked us the Sweet William room as a Valentine's Day surprise. No detail was overlooked by Bonnie, the owner, and she was ever helpful and hospitable. Next time we'll take a whole weekend to relax in that perfect bed!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarelicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tall. Fl
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2007

This was a surprise birthday gift to my fiance. It was his first trip to a B&B. Bonnie, the owner and hostess, was very understanding about our arriving late at night (since we were leaving Tallahassee after work). She left a key and very good instructions. When we finally met her for breakfast in the morning she was just as pleasant and charming as she had been on the phone. We loved the complimentary beer, wine, chocolate and such. We thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. She tries to never serve the same thing twice in a row. The private porch with swing was an extra special treat. It was incredibly close to downtown St Augustine too! I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Liked — cozy and convenient to downtown St Augustine
  • Disliked — cannot think of anything, other than maybe could use a complimentary afternoon snack?
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Starrseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#27 of 31 in St. Augustine
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saragossa Inn B&B
The Saragossa Inn B&B
#28 of 31 in St. Augustine
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 31 in St. Augustine
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Wind Inn
Southern Wind Inn
#23 of 31 in St. Augustine
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Homestead

Property: Alexander Homestead
Address: 14 Sevilla St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3529
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entering the Alexander Homestead through the picturesque front porch from the garden walkway you can hear strains of classical music and spy a small book of Emily Dickinson's poetry in the formal living room - rich with antiques and romance. This is a perfectly appointed inn, with five of the most inviting and romantic bedrooms that hint of lavender sachets and pale hues of vintage opulence. You'll return time and again to the Alexander Homestead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing