We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Comfortable Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexander Homestead
Ranked #23 of 31 Saint Augustine B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
1 review
“A Very Comfortable Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Bonnie Alexander has created a very lovely place to stay in such a perfect location for walking throughout St. Augustine. We walked everywhere and loved it. Our breakfasts were just great--especially the almond French toast! And the muffins were delicious, too.

The decor is Victorian yet warm and welcoming. We had everything we could need in our room--flat screen TV, hair dryer, vanity, whirlpool tub plus shower, toiletries, etc.

Each evening Bonnie set out wine for all the guests, and each room had a little brandy with chocolates. Before breakfast we had coffee available to bring to our rooms while we woke up and dressed.

Overall a very nice experience!
J&J

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    67
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
439
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Alexander Homestead greeted us with warm welcomes before we even walked inside the beautifully decorated home. There are little details that make the stay that much more accommodating such as complimentary beverages, an amazing homemade breakfast, and soothing music playing in the foyer. The bedrooms were clean and comfortable and loaded with character. She puts a lot of herself in the finishing touches from her own homemade granola recipe served at breakfast to the cute bath soap arrangement. The location was ideal and we didn't have to drive anywhere except to the lighthouse. The shopping, restaurants, bars, and festivals are all within a short walking distance. Overall this was an extraordinary visit that I wouldn't mind repeating over and over again. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a private balcony with a swing attached to our room which I loved. I would check out the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilindaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lovely home, immaculate & welcoming, with great attention to detail in decor & ambience. Bonnie was a wonderful host who let us know all about the hot spots in town, which was a very short walk away (perfect location!). The bed was super comfortable and a delicious homemade breakfast was served by candlelight promptly at 9am. St Augustine is rich in culture, with many of the locals dressed in traditional colonial getups, excitied to talk about the history of their city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen11-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turks and Caicos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

A wonderful and charming home. Bonnie was very accommodating to my ever changing schedule and late arrival. Amazing breakfasts, too! Off site parking was a blessing given their was no available parking on the street (maybe 4 legal spaces). But one is so close to the old city - maybe a 5 minute walk through a very safe and Boston-like neighborhood.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Sweet William room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustChillin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

You will not be disappointed with your stay here! Bonnie is a darling host. We felt welcome and cared for. The rooms are cozy and comfy. Coffee outside the door each morning is the best. Breakfast is outstanding. The biscuit recipe is a secret,with good reason. Yummy!! Bonnie had made a strawberry sauce from fresh local berries-to die for. We parked our car safely in the back and never used it until we left. You can walk to everything! We stayed in the Victoriana Room. Private porch with private stairway. My Boyfriend's first say at a B&B. I don't think he'll ever stay anywhere else now. Loved it!! Thank you Bonnie.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bonnie does a great job of hosting. Some very nice touches like coffee and other beverages supplied. Breakfast is the best in town! Location is great. You can walk to all the points of interest in town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The reviews on Trip Advisor are what drew me to this B&B to begin with and the experience was even more fantastic than I expected. The rooms have such character and made for a very comfortable, relaxing stay. We stayed in the Queen Anne and had access to an upper level balcony with a porch swing. The B&B is just far enough from the center of town to feel peaceful but close enough to not feel cut off. Bonnie is just lovely. Her recommendations for what to do and see were spot on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Centennial House Bed and Breakfa...
#18 of 31 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saragossa Inn B&B
The Saragossa Inn B&B
#27 of 31 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in Saint Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#28 of 31 in Saint Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#11 of 31 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in Saint Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Homestead

Property: Alexander Homestead
Address: 14 Sevilla St., Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entering the Alexander Homestead through the picturesque front porch from the garden walkway you can hear strains of classical music and spy a small book of Emily Dickinson's poetry in the formal living room - rich with antiques and romance. This is a perfectly appointed inn, with five of the most inviting and romantic bedrooms that hint of lavender sachets and pale hues of vintage opulence. You'll return time and again to the Alexander Homestead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Alexander Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing