We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“st. augustine's best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexander Homestead
Ranked #23 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“st. augustine's best kept secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

The Alexander is just steps away from all the shops, restaurants and sight seeing of beautiful st. Augustine-- literally right around the corner which means not only do you get to park your car for free and walk to dinner but you get a quiet night sleep.
Bonnie is the most sincere, warm and helpful hostess of any bed and breakfast I have stayed. She genuinely cares about your experience—guiding you to the most romantic restaurants and things to do.
We stayed upstairs in a big beautiful room with huge balcony—I was ready to move in. The balcony was amazing because it was nestled in tree tops- like a tree house. It rained and we loved it. There is a great bathtub with plenty of bubble bath and nice soft towels.
The house is charming, clean, and spacious and you really feel like you are at a home away from home. They are very thoughtful and accommodating- you will love it. We are going back very soon and bringing some friends

Room Tip: upstairs with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    67
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
48
440
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great Hospitality as Bonnie made us feel at home from the start! Breakfast was terrific and a great way to start the day. Only wish that we had more time than the one night we had there... hopefully next year. I would definitely recommend this Bed & Breakfast. B&V

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Alexander Homestead was just what we needed. It was a relaxing overnight getaway. Bonnie and her sister made the most wonderful breakfast and the room was perfect. The location is just right; close enough to walk to Historic Saint Augustine, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the city to enjoy a quiet evening on the porch. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aluchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

This Bed & Breakfast is extremely comfortable, with Bonnie, the Owner, being the best host ever. She is an awesome cook, making the best breakfasts that I have tasted. I loved sitting with different people every morning as everyone raved over either Bonnie's biscuits, or the best French toast ever, not to mention the best granola and vanilla cream sauce over a bowl of fresh fruit. After long days of touring around and walking to see the historical sights, we melted into the most comfortable bed to get a great nights' sleep! Each morning I would wake to the smell of coffee that would be waiting for us outside our door. What truly impressed me was how Bonnie absolutely loves the company of people and sits in with you at breakfast to hear where everyone is from, and then shares some great stories about all that she has done to make this a great, warm and welcoming Bed & Breakfast. We will most definitely come back! We also loved the location since it is so close to everything, but yet a few blocks away from the heart of town, where it can sometimes be a little too noisy At the Alexander Homestead you can relax in a quiet neighborhood on a beautiful porch as you rock your cares away . We will miss you Bonnie, but we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I went here for our fourth anniversary and it was excellent. We stayed in the sweet william room and it was perfect. We loved that we had our own private entry way into the house. Bonnie's breakfast in the morning is something to look forward to. The house is an a great location and walking distance to dinning and shops. We plan on coming back again when we visit St. Augustine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohare72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Comfortable and clean with gourmet breakfast each morning. Loved our outside veranda with a swing where we drank our coffee before breakfast and our wine in the evening:) Perfect location,for walking everywhere, had a fabulous time!! Bonnie is very welcoming and accommodating. Will definately return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I went to St Augustine for our 32nd Anniversary. We had stayed at another St Augustine Bed and Breakfast in the past but decided to try Alexander Homestead this vist. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room, the Hideaway Suite (with living room, kitchen and bedroom) over the garage was cozy and beautifully decorated. (The pictures on their website are great but it was even nicer in person!)

It's an easy walk (just a few blocks) to restaurants/shopping.

Bonnie was a wonderful hostess and very helpful. Breakfast was outstanding and we had a lot of fun speaking with some of the other guests.

We had a great time (wished we had time to stay another day) and would definitely recommend Alexander Homestead to anyone! Looking forward to coming back (and staying in the Hideaway Suite ) the next time we visit St Augustine!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda34990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saragossa Inn B&B
The Saragossa Inn B&B
#28 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#27 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#11 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Homestead

Property: Alexander Homestead
Address: 14 Sevilla St., St. Augustine, FL 32084
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander Homestead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entering the Alexander Homestead through the picturesque front porch from the garden walkway you can hear strains of classical music and spy a small book of Emily Dickinson's poetry in the formal living room - rich with antiques and romance. This is a perfectly appointed inn, with five of the most inviting and romantic bedrooms that hint of lavender sachets and pale hues of vintage opulence. You'll return time and again to the Alexander Homestead! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Alexander Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing