We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to relax and unwind!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southern Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Wind Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax and unwind!”
Reviewed June 14, 2009

My Fiance' and I traveled to St Augustine for a 1 night trip to relax. We chose the Southern Wind Inn based on the location, room details and reviews. We where very happy to say we made the correct choice! The service was excellent and the room was a delight. We really enjoyed the cookies in the afternoon and breakfast was a new and tasty treat for us. Scott was pleasant and very helpful with directions and dinner advise. You have to try the Pullman Room, nice and cozy and very comfortable. Thank you to the Southern Wind Inn for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoToGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    51
    37
    19
    10
See reviews for
25
174
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
224 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Our stay was comfortable until we arrived home and discovered we had forgotton a bag. This bag contained my wife's replacement hearing aides and misc. items. When we called the next day the owner was cold and rude on the phone. When he finally acknowledged he remember us he says"Yes, we found your bag" and then proceeds to say "do you think we had something to do with your leaving it here" We informed him the night before we might have to leave in the early am due to an emergency (and we paid for our breakfast) so he knew we were in a rush. Its not like we stayed there for free. When I could finally get he attention I asked he he could please mail ASAP and insure the package which of course we paid for. This was an over the shoulder open bag you couldn't miss there was a bottle of mouthwash in it. Well, that ended up over absolutely everything in the bag. So thanks but no thanks you'll never get us or anything family and friends to stay here again. St. Augustine is a regular stop for us in March each year and we won't be stopping at this inn.
If they were professional innkeepers, when they found the bag they should have been on the phone contacting ASAP not us calling them. And then treated like we did it intenionally.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonesConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Ours was a last minute decision to head to St. Augustine for an overnight stay. We were lucky to find a room at Southern Wind Inn and what a treat it was. The room was delightfully decorated with al lthe amenities we might need; our hosts were gracious, helpful and met our every need. Unfortunately we missed the 4 p.m. wine/tea/goodies but some of the cookies were still waiting when we came in after dinner. We had our elegant breakfast on the front porch, lingering over coffee and conveersation with other guests. It was a perfect place for us and we intend to return as soon as possible.



The location couldn't be better, just two blocks from St. George and easy walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judithtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando FL
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2009

With so many different Bed & Breakfasts to choose from in historic St. Augustine, finding the right one with the best value and amenties seemed to end up like a game of eeny-meeny-miney-moe! The one thing that stood out about the Southern Wind Inn that no other B&B website advertised was the use of bicycles! I thought that sounded like a fun way to get around the city since we only had a day and a half in St. A. We decided after using them that this is definitely the way to go for a young and/or able couple. We loved the charming Garden Room, had some fun taking silly pictures with one of the decorative pieces, enjoyed visiting with the other guests at breakfast, and just had a perfectly romantic anniversary getaway from Orlando. Easy check-in and check-out process: here's the key, and then here it is back! Innkeeper Scott gave nice city recommendations, and was busy at work, yet still hospitable. We'd consider it again for our next visit to the city for sure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTechJodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Where should I begin? The bed was hard and lumpy, room was cold at night (January), the breakfast was bland and the owner, who was very nice on the phone, was frankly quite distant and unfriendly during our stay. I do not recommend staying at the Southern Wind. We're going elsewhere next visit to St. A.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service, Food and Room.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank redhead03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

What a huge dissapointment. I have NEVER been to a B&B where I didn't feel like a Welcomed Guest at someone's home.

The innkeeper of the Southern Wind was very kind, gracious and helpful on the phone when we booked our stay with them a few months prior.But upon arriving, the first thing he asked for was our credit card (which was no big deal at first but only enraged me as our visit when on)- The male innkeeper who greated us never bothered to introduce his wife/partner/associate or otherwise other person I think keeping the place with him. He was only slightly helpful, bringing us one of those cheesy maps of the area and circling areas that might be of interest for us to shop at- yes to go shop at. Given it was New Year's Eve though, he was speechless when we asked if anywhere was doing anything special (ie: live music, fireworks or the like)- he didn't even offer to find out. He did kindly ask us if we needed restaurant reservations (which we had already made on our own)- he offered to call & confirm for us, however, he gave them the wrong name (???), thus causing a HUGE misunderstanding that left us without dinner reservations! Once WE fixed the problem, he never once apologized, his only defense was "What do you want me to do?!" before saying "Well ya'll have fun!" and then slamming the door to his office in our face!

Upon arrival he mentioned that there would be hor devours & wine in the early afternoon for guests in one of the common rooms. Apperantly, store bought, cut-up dessert bars on a plate and Zinfandel in a small, carafe is his idea of "Hor Devours & Wine"- WOW. We waited a little bit hoping we were early and perhaps they would bring out more "hor devours & wine" but that was just wishful thinking.

As for our room, the shower had mold all along the lower edges (on the water sealant/caulking)- made it look like they only clean at "eye level". We booked the supposed "best" room, called the Pullman, with the "Jacuzzi Tub" which has not been used/cleaned in a while, for it had a thick film on it. Not to mention they didn't provide even a small bottle of bath bubbles as I am used to in every other B&B accross the country. Additionally, the jacuzzi tub was a bit aged and yellowed from perhaps time (?) not sure, not at all what you would expect to relax in. The room did have it's own private entrance & was located in the back of the Inn respectively, but it was very noisy. We guessed that the room is below the kitchen & living area for the Inn based on the amount of noise. You could hear everything from people coming in/out of the Inn, the opening/closing of cabinets or drawers, clinking dishes, television & conversations. It was as if I was back in my college dorm room! It was an aweful.

The morning we were there, we had apperantly missed breakfast by what we assume was just a few minutes. However, the Inn Keepers didn't even bother to greet us upon entering the breakfast area, instead they hurridly cleaned up, made it abruptly obvious we were not there on time for a meal, and made us feel extremely uncomfortable when trying to just get a cup of coffee. They both probably walked by us a good half dozen times as if we didn't exist and were just in the way of their regular life...no greeting, no niceties or even a suggestion on where we could go get breakfast. There was no acknowledgement of our presense at any given point at all during the 10 or so minutes we sat down to enjoy coffee and plan our day. Upon check out, they literally took the key from our hands and said NOTHING. Although the male Innkeeper did manage to communicate to the female Innkeeper that she could move her car back to the spot where we had been parked...

I have never felt so unwelcomed at a B & B. I am saddened to think we paid quite a bit of money to stay at what essentially could have been Motel 6.

  • Liked — Proximity to areas of interest, close to "all".
  • Disliked — Service!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MigratingSwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Dear Scott & Donna,

Norma and I would like to thank you for our wonderful stay at your B&B. The hospitality,cleanliness,and especially the food,
wine and all the coffee I could drink made our visit an outstanding adventure.

We will give your place AAA+ recommendations. GREAT PLACE
and thanks again.

Donna & Norma

  • Liked — Cleanliness,Food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetpointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#11 of 31 in St. Augustine
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Powder House Inn
The Old Powder House Inn
#15 of 31 in St. Augustine
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexander Homestead
Alexander Homestead
#22 of 31 in St. Augustine
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Wind Inn

Property: Southern Wind Inn
Address: 18 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Southern Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Wind Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing