We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”
Review of Southern Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Wind Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After reading all the reviews on this B&B I was not sure if I was doing the right thing to book this vacation for my boyfriends birthday getaway. I took a chance due to I really liked the way the Inn looked and the Pullman room with the double Jacuzzi tub was a plus. We were greeted by Scott who is very friendly and got us to our room before the 3pm check in time. He gave us a map and highlighted where we were and what was around. Everything was in walking distance except the Fountain of Youth & Jail. The room was very nice, the king size bed very comfortable, the shower had a great showerhead. The room was very comfortable, but a bit small. The 4pm cookies were fresh baked and the ice tea was refreshing, but there is no wine as the brochure states. Scott even showed me some of the vacant rooms, which were smaller but decorated very nice. Breakfast was delicious if you like egg dishes. Coffee, tea, fresh fruit, juice & yogurt was on the table to help yourself. Yes, I've stayed at better B&B's but this one was lovely in this quaint old town.

Room Tip: The private entrance rooms all have steps. The Pullman room has a glass door with stained glass side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    52
    39
    20
    10
See reviews for
25
182
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were greeted by Scott and though we only stayed one night, he made every effort to make our stay comfortable and convenient. He called a car for our Murder Mystery dinner show at the Raintree (highly recommended, by the way!) and suggested we leave our car parked out back after we had checked out so we could continue to explore the city without worrying about finding parking (very helpful--Thanks again!)

We would stay with the Southern Wind Inn again.

Thanks-
Casey & Rob

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pullman Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokeysgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Scott was a fantastic host. The location was perfect, the rooms were very comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. My wife and I were in St. Augustine for only one night and we are glad that we chose the Southern Wind Inn to stay. We will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathinutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Southern Wind Inn is so convenient to the historic district and great food. The Veranda room was just what we needed, a little like home but so far from it we could relax. We have already recommended it to many friends and family.

Room Tip: Veranda room has a smaller bathroom but spacious bedroom space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tickelcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a great b&b in St. Augustine. The location was great, within walking distance to everything and the hosts were extremely accomodating. The breakfast each morning was great as well. All in all, I would definately stay there again and highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: The pullman room was great with it's own entrence on the outside of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Scott was an excellent host. The Honeymoon room was very clean and spacious with all the amenities we could ask for.
The room has a private entrance at the rear of the house which is nice for those late nights out. And the two person jetted tub was quite nice after walking around all day in beautiful Downtown St. Augustine. And the location can't be beat, walk to anywhere you need to go in under 10 minutes! (Except there is a delicious BBQ restaurant directly across the street that made my mouth water everytime I went outside, and I probably gained a few pounds from it as well! But I won't hold that against them, lol)

Breakfast each day was delicious and filling. Fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, breads and pastries. All with a main course consisting of a delicious item and a breakfast meat.

I didn't have any ice or a bucket for the champagne bottle that I had brought along for our celebration and Scott was on it and got me both in about 30 seconds! Thanks again, we will be back many times in the future.

The Southern Wind Inn felt like home!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon was excellent. From the private entrance to the two person jetted tub. It was a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room was wonderful, the bed comfortable and private access to the veranda was what we wanted, so if you just count that, Southern Wind was great. HOWEVER, if you want fresh-baked goodies at breakfast or in the afternoon as advertised, you will be sorely disappointed - store bought english muffins and raisin bread in the morning, and chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. If you make a special request regarding food, don't expect it to be remembered. If you want coffee for more than just breakfast, go out for it. The building is charming, but the host might as well work for a chain. We have stayed at several B&Bs in St Augustine, as well as US and in Europe, and the service and food in this one were not up to industry standards. The premium price paid for a B&B is not just all about the room, it is about the experience - and this one did not live up to what a good B&B should be.

Room Tip: If you don't care about food or service and still decide to book here, the Veranda Room, with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntiStefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
505 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 31 in St. Augustine
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Wind Inn

Property: Southern Wind Inn
Address: 18 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Wind Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Southern Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Wind Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing