We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Wind Bed and Breakfast review”
Review of Southern Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Wind Inn
Ranked #24 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was a great b&b in St. Augustine. The location was great, within walking distance to everything and the hosts were extremely accomodating. The breakfast each morning was great as well. All in all, I would definately stay there again and highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: The pullman room was great with it's own entrence on the outside of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterpag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Scott was an excellent host. The Honeymoon room was very clean and spacious with all the amenities we could ask for.
The room has a private entrance at the rear of the house which is nice for those late nights out. And the two person jetted tub was quite nice after walking around all day in beautiful Downtown St. Augustine. And the location can't be beat, walk to anywhere you need to go in under 10 minutes! (Except there is a delicious BBQ restaurant directly across the street that made my mouth water everytime I went outside, and I probably gained a few pounds from it as well! But I won't hold that against them, lol)

Breakfast each day was delicious and filling. Fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, breads and pastries. All with a main course consisting of a delicious item and a breakfast meat.

I didn't have any ice or a bucket for the champagne bottle that I had brought along for our celebration and Scott was on it and got me both in about 30 seconds! Thanks again, we will be back many times in the future.

The Southern Wind Inn felt like home!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon was excellent. From the private entrance to the two person jetted tub. It was a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room was wonderful, the bed comfortable and private access to the veranda was what we wanted, so if you just count that, Southern Wind was great. HOWEVER, if you want fresh-baked goodies at breakfast or in the afternoon as advertised, you will be sorely disappointed - store bought english muffins and raisin bread in the morning, and chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. If you make a special request regarding food, don't expect it to be remembered. If you want coffee for more than just breakfast, go out for it. The building is charming, but the host might as well work for a chain. We have stayed at several B&Bs in St Augustine, as well as US and in Europe, and the service and food in this one were not up to industry standards. The premium price paid for a B&B is not just all about the room, it is about the experience - and this one did not live up to what a good B&B should be.

Room Tip: If you don't care about food or service and still decide to book here, the Veranda Room, with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuntiStefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My friend and I were visiting St Augustine for a "girl trip" and prefer separate beds. Most B&B's do not have that option, so we were glad to find the Crystal Room at the Southern Wind Inn. The location of this inn is perfect! We conveniently walked to everything. When we wanted to take the tram, the station was right around the corner. Scott was personable and nice without being intrusive or pushy. We only ate the full breakfast one morning (We like to try local breakfast restaurants when we travel, so that's what we did that one morning. The morning we left, we only had time for the continental-style breakfast). The full breakfast had blueberry blitz, fruit, juice, coffee, etc. While I wouldn't really call it a "hot breakfast", it was quite adequate. It would have been nice if the room had been a little cooler. The ceiling fan in the day bed room was noisy during the night. Also, an assessable ice machine and soft drink machine would have been handy. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and will stay here again if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixieroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A friend and I recently spent the night at the Southern Wind Inn while exploring St. Augustine. The hosts, Scott and Donna are very nice and see to the comfort of the guests there. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Scott also allowed us to leave our car there while we wound our way through the beautiful town and shops. We plan on staying there again when we visit St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in the Pullman room: We were greeted by Scott who seemed ok: That night my husband had to sleep in the car as the Heat was unbearable in the room it would not switch off. we had rang the door bell on the main house but no one came to help us: The next morning Scott kept saying did you close the vent , well we had tried to close the vent several times instead of coming too look in the room to see if he could help us he kept on saying did you close the vent... We had manage to close the vent and propped it up with a shoes as it fell off: I went out and bought some cleaning products to clean the Tub: it was dirty. The bed was comfortable... We had gone down to breakfast and Scott never asked us if our 2nd night was better in fact he did not have any conversation with anyone.. The breakfast was something you would get out of Gas station..It seemed to us that they were just getting by with doing as little as possible.. I never met his wife.. he was the only one there. I have never stayed in any place like this and will not ever go back.... I have stayed at the Powderhouse B& B and It was wonderful

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellINever34496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been meaning to write a review since we got home, have been thinking of our weekend ever since. We had an excellent time, Scott & Donna were very helpful telling us directions and places to see. The room was excellent, being from up north it gave us that warm feeling we have missed. The room was clean and the bathtub was awesome! It had such a homie feeling to it! The room was decorated so nice! With a daybed in the next like bonus room, so affordable for the experience! Breakfast was awesome!! Loved the Quiche! We will definatly be back! Thank you - Arlene and Kleber (Feb 2013)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arleneh462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Castle Garden Bed and Breakfast
Castle Garden Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 31 in St. Augustine
145 reviews
0 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#26 of 31 in St. Augustine
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Penny Farthing Inn
Penny Farthing Inn
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saragossa Inn B&B
The Saragossa Inn B&B
#25 of 31 in St. Augustine
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peace and Plenty Inn
Peace and Plenty Inn
#16 of 31 in St. Augustine
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Wind Inn

Address: 18 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $131 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Wind Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Southern Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Wind Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing