We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent place to stay”
Review of Southern Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Wind Inn
Ranked #25 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
1 review
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

great location in the city ..well within ALL major points of interest and restaurants...the facilty is very asthetically pleasing and the rooms are clean and very cozy , the staff is very helpful and the breakfast and coffee is excellent,,highly recoommended and I do plan on many repeat visits ..in my opinion this is the best choice available ...the porchs (both) are excellent for relaxing...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    51
    37
    19
    10
See reviews for
25
175
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I chose the Southern Wind for its location and reasonable prices. As B&B's go, it needs a little TLC. A power washer would do wonders for the exterior. We were greeted by the owner, Scott. He was very nice, he seemed a bit rushed but he reviewed a map of the city for us and escorted us to our room. The room was fine. It wasn't a real fancy B&B but the furnishing were appropriate period pieces, the mattress was comfortable, it was clean and the air conditioning worked great. The private bath had a shower stall and was clean.

Here's the strange part. We were told breakfast was served at 9:00am and we would be served if we showed up by 9:29. A rather small window of time I thought. Scott told us otherwise they leave coffee out till about 10:00. So if you're an early riser you have to wait and if you like to sleep in (like us), you'll miss out. We made the effort and got breakfast both days and it was quite good. However, on day two the cooked egg dish was served with a muffin. I asked if there were nuts in it, Scott said yes, asked if I was allergic, I said yes and he plucked it off my plate and left. I somewhat expected a replacement (toast would have been fine) but it never came and wasn't offered. We jokingly referred to the owners as the reluctant innkeepers for the remainder of our journey. They weren't overly service oriented nor did they seem interested in their customers as you usually expect at a nice B&B.

Overall there are great things about the place. Excellent location. It's reasonably priced and way better and nicer than the nearby Monterey Inn. It's in a nice setting. Breakfast on the porch is lovely. Clean and comfortable. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Garden room was nice. Queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The cookies late at night when we got home were great. I ate them all. The room had warm wooden floors with a huge kingsize bed. (Veronda room) The location was great and was easy to walk to every where in historic St Augustine. The owners made a good breakfast and were very helpful when we arrived with a map and times for food. The water pressure in the shower was awesome!! Very romantic old building with beautiful architecture. We stayed for under 150 on a Monday and couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks again Southern Wind!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Like everyone, we have been so busy and just realized that we forgot to write a review. We frequent the St. Augustine area for business and pleasure and we look forward in staying at the Southern Wind Inn as it has become our favorite place to stay. Besides Southern Wind's great rooms and location Donna's cheesy egg breakfast is delicious and Scott is always available to answer any questions about St. Augustine or the Inn. Take a step back in time to relax and learn a little about our American history in St. Augustine, you won't be disapointed. Thanks again for another memorable stay!

Room Tip: We have been pleased with the variety of rooms that we have stayed in so far. Each has their own per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Bluffs
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Well, if you have never been to the oldest city in America, the best day to visit is the 4th of July. What a wonderful little city, heaped in history and historical sites to visit.
We stayed in a B&B, the Southern Wind Inn on Cordova St., which is just a short hike to the old fort and the Bridge of Lions.
The Southern Wind faces east and we enjoyed the spectacular fireworks display comfortably seated on the second floor porch.
Our bedroom, the Porcelain Room, was at the top of the stairs and the queen bed was very comfortable. The spa tub was an unexpected treat in the bathroom. Breakfast starts with coffee, 15 minutes later pastry and fruit, and then a hot homemade gourmet breakfast at 9:00, either indoors or served on the front porch overlooking Cordova St.
Our host was charming and attentive.
We highly recommend this getaway for overnight or an entire week.

Room Tip: There are rooms with their own separate entrance, we took what we got because it was a last minute c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My daughter and I decided, at the spur of the moment to spend the night in St. Augustine. My husband and I had stayed at Southern Wind several times in the past and had really enjoyed our stay. So I called the Innkeeper and he was very accomodating.

We stayed in the porcelain room which was very clean, nicely furnished and quiet. My daugter was defintley charmed! The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast is from 9:00 to 9:30 and it would be beneficial to extend the breakfast time to an hour.
Our breakfast was a blueberry blintz withe canadian bacon. A little heavy, but there was yogurt, fresh fruit, granola and a variety of toast. The coffee was amazing, (nice heavy coffee mugs to!)

The second story has a big covered porch where we spent over an hour talking and rocking shaded by the nearby oak tree. The porch was spacious and clean, but could use a paint touch up.

The Inn is close to the center of St. Augustine, but adjacent to the residential area. It is close enough to observe the horse and buggies and watch the activity at some of the restaurants and stores, but far enough away to have a quiet night's sleep.

We would come back for another visit.

Room Tip: Have stayed in three different rooms, liked them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This wooden B&B situated on Cordove street is central for Uptown, Downtown ,the fort, shops and harbour. On arrival Scott gave us a choice of rooms, all were of a similar size and furnished in accordance with this type of property.
The room was on the small side and there was a lack of surface area but comfortable. The bathroom had a shower over the bath which had great water pressure.
Parking is down a narrow lane to the rear of the property which itself could do with a bit of T.L.C but mostly cosmetic.
Breakfasts were of a good standard with fresh fruit , excellent homemade main, muffins, cake, coffee and juice.
Note There is a fridge for the use of guests outside on the veranda.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eltel432016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Powder House Inn
The Old Powder House Inn
#15 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#13 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Wind Inn

Property: Southern Wind Inn
Address: 18 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Southern Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Wind Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing