We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Wind Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
St. George Inn(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Bayfront(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casablanca Inn on the Bay(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Economy Inn(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
Marion Motor Lodge(St. Augustine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
150
60
38
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
60
38
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsveranda roomcrystal roombed and breakfastb biced teafront porchchocolate chip cookiesparking permitday bedcordova streetwhipped creamyogurthoneymoon suitewithin walking distanceacross the streetold townprivate bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 281 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Celebrated our anniversary at the Southern Wind Inn this weekend and had lovely stay. The Inn is beautiful and offers great attention to detail. We stayed in the Veranda Room and it was beautiful and comfortable. The Inn is in a great location for walking and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmacferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

this was the 2en best b&b we stayed in the room was very nice cozy and the whole inn was very old but well maintained and in the heart of st augestine were everything was a walk away or ride their bikes it was a very pleasent time and it was our 30th anversey and what a better place to stay

Room Tip: corner front rooms i think would be the best they have the balkney right buy them and all the goast tours go right buy the inn
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend trip to St. Augustine. We absolutely loved the place! We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and took full advantage of the in-room jacuzzi tub. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was a little too soft for my liking, but I felt it fit with the honeymoon theme. The breakfast was great every morning with fresh coffee and fruit. Scott was great in helping me arrange a surprise for my fiance with the tour the city package. The inn was in walking distance to everything that my fiance and I wanted to see. We will definitely stay here again when we return back to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed mid week for one night in the Crystal Room on the second floor which accommodated three adults, one queen bed and one day bed which was in what may have been a porch back in the day which they enclosed and put the full bathroom and the day bed. There were french doors separating the bedroom and "porch" which was good. A small tv was put in the closet on a shelf in the bedroom. The daybed was comfortable, but the mattress on the queen was too soft. There were two complimentary bottles of water, nice touch and appreciated. I didn't see a thermostat in the room so we couldn't control the temp, but it was comfortable. There are two porches, front and back, on the second floor for everyone to use. Breakfast was served late in the day at 9:30am, but there was raisin bread and english muffins to toast, juice and coffee available at 8:30am. Breakfast was two or three types of cereal, yogurt, seasonal fruit and then our host served us a hot entree which I would have called a frittata, not sure what he called it and a muffin. The inn is two blocks west of the main pedestrian street and at the north end of town close to the fort. It's on the horse carriage and ghost tour. The exterior needs some cosmetic work, i.e, paint and a roof and windows. The interior looks great. Most stores don't open until 10 or 11am so its not a problem having a later breakfast unless you were hitting the road early. There is also social hour, iced tea and cookies and I think wine, but we missed it. No pool.

Room Tip: The Crystal room was a good choice for three adults, it's window faces the B&B next door, so no view but good light.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just spent two nights in the Garden Room at Southern Wind Inn. We really enjoyed our time there. The room was clean and very comfortable. It had a private entrance from the outside and a walk in shower. The queen bed was soft and comfortable. Two clean white robes were hanging in the closet to use. Coffee was available at 7:45 in the morning. Fruit,toast,juices, granola and yogurt were available at 8:45 and a hot breakfast was served at 9:00. We had an egg blintz with blueberry sauce and a slice of canadian bacon the first morning and an egg strata made with red and green peppers and potatoes the second morning.The second breakfast also had a carrot cake muffin served with it.All of the food was delicious. The only reason I am not giving a excellent rating is that the driveway was extremely cracked with loose concrete pieces and the wood stairs could definately use some repair.I think for safety reasons these should be repaired. I would stay there again. There was onsite parking for small or medium cars. There was free parking across the street for larger cars. Location was great for walking to the historic area.

Room Tip: The crystal room upstairs had an extra twin bed. The garden room was very private.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank island2beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews