We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Getaway!”
Review of Southern Wind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southern Wind Inn
Ranked #23 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loxahatchee, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise Getaway!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We enjoyed the beautifully decorated rooms. Lots of history, quaint, antiques everywhere, very clean, and comfortable. Breakfast every morning was fresh, homemade, and delicious. Within walking distance to everywhere in historic downtown. Great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StreetRodder57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    52
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
25
181
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We came here for a Sat/Sun night stay in February. As far as the overall appearance the Inn is very charming, we stayed in the Flower Room and loved the back patio and private entrance to our room. The decor is period appropriate, though a bit rundown in places - but very clean as far as the guest room was concerned.

We got a little bit of the indifference vibe from the Innkeepers. This was nice when we wanted our privacy but killed the charm when we actually needed assistance and could not find them.

The breakfast is -very- heavy (but delicious). Two days in a row served a very rich tasting souffle definitely weighed us down, but if that's your thing you'll be happy.

The bicycles were rideable but in need of repair, and there are only two for the whole Inn.
Linens were nice, crisp and clean.
Iced tea and cookies in the afternoon were yummy.
Location was very nice (we could see a cemetery from our patio).
Guest fridge exists but is dingy.

WARNING: Old building, old pipes. A small card says so taped to the toilet lid. Our toilet stopped up a little Sunday night. By Monday morning it would not flush. At breakfast we heard the Innkeeper say (quietly and to someone else) not to flush the toilet. We had to use the bathroom at the Old Drugstore up the street (thankfully it was so early that the store was empty). RotoRooter was there by the time we checked out - not the best way image to take with us when we left.

Room Tip: Be wary if you're a large person - old buildings used to be made smaller. The door to go from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G1R7_80Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We arrived very early but went in to grab a parking pass. We rang the bell one time and Scott was there. He was very nice and informed us our room was already ready (we were 5 hours early!) He gave us a tour, sat down and chatted with us about stuff to do in town and filled us in on snack and breakfast times and offerings. He offered to help us with our bags and showed us to our room. The room was gorgeous and the bed was so comfy (we fell asleep the first night way too early because it was so soft!). The housekeeper stopped in and offered us stuff and asked if we wanted her to come back (also very nice). The location is within easy walking distance of everything. We never moved our vehicle and we often dropped by our room to drop stuff off as it was right there. The Pullman is a separate entrance which we loved. Scott was always available when we needed him but nobody here is overbearing or intrusive (Which why we had reservations about staying at B&B). Overall, we just can't say enough great things about this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHeartGlitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I had an amazing stay in the Southern Wind Inn for two nights to celebrate my birthday. The Crystal Suite was beautiful and cozy. The whirlpool tub was amazing really good to relax in after a long day walking around the beautiful city. The hosts were great! Snacks in the afternoon and a really good breakfast and cup of coffee. I really look forward to visiting with Scott and Donna again. AMAZING TRIP I had:) Did not want to leave!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boynton Beach
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was our first experience in a bed and breakfast. It was a great experience and the innkeepers were very friendly, place was soo nice and food was great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrosa91721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had been to other B&B's in St Augustine before, but this was our first stay at the Southern Wind Inn. We chose it based on its location, good reviews, and price. As soon as we pulled in, Scott was at the front door welcoming us in. Despite arriving 2 hours earlier than was excpected, he happily checked us in and showed us to our room. We stayed in the "Fern Room" and I highly recommend it. The room was very spacious, clean, and attractive. My fiance and I can be picky sleepers, and we both found the bed to be perfectly comfortable and slept like bricks. One of her favorite aspects was clippity-clackity sound of the occasional horse drawn carriage passing by on the old brick street in front of the house; its subtle and stops before it gets too late. It got down into the thirties both nights of our stay, but the temperature in the room remained perfect. In the morning, we got some tea downstairs and enjoyed the balcony outside of our room while waiting for breakfast.

For breakfast, they provided a buffet of granola, yogurt and fruit in a addition to the main dish. There was also orange juice, cranberry juice, tea, and coffee. I am usually dissatisfied by too small of breakfasts anywhere we go, and I was happy to find such an ample amount of food here (not to mention it tasted good!).

My truck sat for three days in his parking lot and I never once had to move it. Just about everything worth doing in the area is within a short walk. When we wanted to go to the San Sebastian winery, the walk would have been a little long, and Scott was happy to provide two comfortable bicycles at no additional cost! Riding around on those bikes was some of the most fun we had on the whole trip. Not to mention, when we mentioned the winery, he whipped out some great coupons which saved us over $10 on the wine we bought. After we got back with the bikes, we ran into Scott again and asked for a recommendation for dinner. He recommended the Raintree, and since he hadn't steered us wrong yet, we took him up on it. It was a little further than most places, so without hesitation, Scott called the restaurant, set up a reservation for us, and had them come over and pick us up. Of course, the restaurant and meal were great, and (again under Scott's advice), we found a horse drawn carriage to take us on the long way around town back to the Inn.

Scott and his wife took very good care of us on our stay, and were never too busy whenever we had a question or request. Even after we checked out, he made sure to tell us that if we wanted to keep the truck parked in back for a few extra hours and spend some more time in town, we were more than welcome. If you're picky and need a brand new, shiny place to stay, this might not be for you. But if you enjoy a place that has lots of old charm and character, yet is still very clean and bug free, you are bound to love this place. We will come back on our next visit!

Room Tip: The Fern Room is spacious, has a beautiful view, comfortable bed, and is conveniently close to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandK_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We visited this B&B during the Christmas holidays. The location is great and the bed was comfy. But our room was uncomfortably hot the entire length of our stay. We told Scott, the owner, repeatedly, but it was never taken care of. We were forced to sleep with the ceiling fans on and the windows open every night (and it was still hot). And Scott wasn't a very good host (we saw his wife only briefly when she brought us towels). He always seemed rehearsed, nervous and in a rush. And breakfast here was unusual -- and not in a good way. After reading so many glowing reviews, we expected much more. There are too many wonderful B&B's in St. Augustine for us to return to this one.

Room Tip: If you like a cool and comfortable room, choose another B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaCloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 31 in St. Augustine
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfast
63 Orange Street Bed and Breakfa...
#27 of 31 in St. Augustine
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Wind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Wind Inn

Property: Southern Wind Inn
Address: 18 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Southern Wind Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Wind Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing