We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn with great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Powder House Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stayed in various places in St Augustine and do like to mix it up, we even have our own beach condo. On this long weekend we stayed in the Memories Room. Very good sized room and the bed was really comfortable. The owners are great, very welcoming and we enjoyed chatting with them every morning over breakfast. And with the other guests too! Breakfasts were lovely, never ending coffee and juice. My favorite was the muffins, especially with the glaze! The location can't be beaten, walking distance to everything as right in the heart of the old town. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 265 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely love this B&B and it's innkeepers!Staying here is like stepping into a tale as old as time.... We spend one night in the Queen Ann Room and had a truly unforgettable experience! I recommend this room to all of those looking for romance ... Its like sleeping in Mr. Darcy's house!
The attention to detail is incredible and just so beautiful! You will not regret staying here.. Unless you are scared of ghosts! We definitely had that six sense experience here!
If you are planning on visiting our nations oldest city, you have to stay here - the old powder house will take you back in time!!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patty6586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent a weekend at the Old Powder House Inn for a wedding and had a nice time. It was a terrific location as the wedding was in the historic district. The innkeeper is very friendly and gave us wonderful recommendations for food and entertainment during our limited stay. They serve a wonderful breakfast in their dining room. It would be nice to have a little more space between tables as it was a tight fit with five couples all eating at the same time. But, we did get to meet some friendly people in those circumstances. My only real complaint was how the staff responded to a need we had to have our last breakfast outside of the community area. My husband had been stricken with a horrible stomach virus overnight and needed to eat. I didn't believe he should be in the tight breakfast area with other people. However, the staff informed us that no food could be taken into the rooms- inn policy. We ended up negotiating our way into eating breakfast on a chilly morning on the porch. The owners were not there and I think the staff felt unable to make special arrangements.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our stay at the Old Powder House Inn with Bob and Suzanne was amazing. The breakfast was delicious and our room was beautiful. We stayed in the Splendid Time and we LOVED having the exterior door to come and go as we pleased. There was also snacks and drinks 24HRS a day. The location is perfect, just a 2 minute walk to St. George Street and close to everything. We loved it.

Room Tip: The Splendid Time room has an exterior door which we loved, we could come and go as we pleased and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in a B&B and it far exceeded our expectations. The innkeepers were friendly, our room was absolutely spotless, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent! We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kathleen1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We've stayed I many B&Bs over the years, and this one is definitely a winner and a keeper!
We're already trying to decide when we can make a return visit. Bob and Suzanne, the new owners as of August 2013, are absolutely delightful. They made us feel like we were old friends from the first time we met.
Location, location, location....in the Historic District within easy walking distance of all of the historic attractions, restaurants and bars with music, and more. The inn was decorated for Christmas in a traditional style using untraditional colors of turquoise, pink and purple along with white lights and silver for sparkle. It was beautiful and fun!
Breakfast is prepared and served with care. They even ask if there are any special dietary accommodations...how thoughtful. Oh, yes, and there was a delicious complimentary sherry in our room; and in the parlor always wine, sherry, coffee, and more. Our room was lovely and beautifully appointed; it even included a Jacuzzi tub, which we enjoyed after a full day and night of activities in town.
Truly, we had a delightful stay and would recommend a visit. Maybe we'll see you there...because we will be back:) Dottie & David

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine_KollyBalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went to the Old Powder House Inn to celebrate New Years with friends and their one year anniversary. They were actually married at the Inn the previous New Years Eve. The new owners Bob and Suzanne were some of the nicest people I've ever met. They made you feel at home and were more then willing to go out of their way to provide you with anything you needed. They even made a special trip to town to get some chocolate covered strawberries which were so yummy and champagne to surprise our friends and make their anniversary even more special. The Inn was very clean, charming and the Holiday decorations were fabulous! The breakfasts they prepare are amazing and so creative. It was by far the best stay at a Bed & Breakfast we've ever had. We loved sitting on the porch and watching the carriages go by. It is a perfect location with just a short walk to all the shops, pubs, trolley and dining. A New Years to remember! Thanks so much Bob, Suzanne and staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyR925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#10 of 30 in St. Augustine
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 30 in St. Augustine
940 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Powder House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Powder House Inn

Address: 38 Cordova St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $125 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Powder House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1899, this inn has nine guestrooms all with private baths. Located in the center of the historic district, it's just a short walk to museums, historic attractions, restaurants, art galleries and gift shops. A three course gourmet breakfast is served every morning at 9. The sprawling verandas are the place to relax after an exciting day in our fabulous city. Complimentary beverages, fresh baked cookies and snacks are always available. Private on-site parking. We'd love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Powder House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Powder House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing