We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn close to activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cedar House Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Cedar House is well-located, about a 3 or 4 minute walk from the Plaza. With the included free parking you can leave your car at the Inn and walk to most activities in St Augustine. The rooms are nicely decorated with period pieces and Cyndi serves a great breakfast. She was also very helpful with tips on exploring the city and even made a reservation for us at a restaurant (the Collage, which was excellent) we wanted to try out. I would highly recommend the Cedar House Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirginiaRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 709 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I spent our Honeymoon in St Augustine at the Cedar House Inn and we couldn't have dreamed of anything better! We had the time of our lives! Our room was perfect and clean and the bed was so comfortable! Cyndi was so helpful and sweet and made the best breakfasts I've ever had. The house was in a good location and we could walk anywhere we wanted to go. We felt safe at all times. My husband and I still talk about our trip all the time and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this getaway weekend in St. Augustine BEFORE I knew that The Cedar House Inn was voted one of top B&B's in the WORLD. Good thing because I can't imagine that it wouldn't be sold out every night going forward. This place is a gem; it's location in the center of the historic district makes it an easy walk to all the attractions, restaurants and shopping. They also have free parking. But the very best is Cindy, the owner. We felt like long-lost friends sharing her home. Only 1 other time have we had an experience ever close to this. We booked the St. Augustine suite on the first floor with a king-sized bed and a jacuzzi tub. The only disadvantage is that it's right next to the dining room so in the morning you can be awakened by conversations outside the door. Otherwise it's perfect. The breakfasts were lovely, but here's the difference between TCH and other B&B's: one couple sharing the inn with us got engaged on Sat. night (Cindi arranged the horse and carriage for the proposal) At Sun. breakfast she announced the good news and then had a bottle of champagne for all the guests to share. Who else does this? There is no detail that is overlooked or attended to immediately. Kudos to Gina, the house manager who was also wonderful. Thank you Cinci for a superb weekend.

Room Tip: More noise in the first floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizg718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wow! Cyndi is the gracious host of the fantastic Cedar House Inn. Our stay was so enjoyable, not a missed beat anywhere. Upon arrival Cyndi gave us a quick informative overview of St. Augustine and an excellent restaurant (The Floridian) suggestion. Our room, the Gables, was exquisitely decorated with lovely antiques and bedding. I loved the marble bathroom and adorable little deck where I watched a sapsucker do its best on a sweet gum tree overhung with spanish moss. Breakfast was delicious with the "bird of paradise" fruit plate and light, crispy waffles with cooked apple slices, perfectly cooked bacon and a sprinkle of cheese and a wonderful fruit juice blend. In the evening we took advantage of the free wifi and wine and sherry in the parlor. Oh, and fresh baked cookies and cold gratis beverages. Excellent stay all around and I doubt we'll find another B&B of this quality. I also felt the cost was quite reasonable for the quality offered.

Room Tip: The Gables has a charming balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plant-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

All of the reviews are right on. Great location, kind hostess, beautiful rooms, excellent food, comfortable beds. Stayed in The Grove - great room. Enjoyed wine, cookies, water and soda, a gourmet breakfast, free wi-fi, and a quiet room. Thanks Cyndi - go Sox.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elangenbrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Cyndi really has it right. Her breakfasts are the best. Not to be compared with any other B&Bs. Waffles with a cinnamon apples, 2 strips of bacon and shredded cheese for a flavor burst (posted pics). Her fruit salad was so refreshing. Cyndi adds a light ginger sauce and salt to contrast the flavors. She has a cook book coming out soon, and will print up recipes upon request. Coffee was robust and delicious. Orange, pineapple juice was a nice touch.

We tried for variety, and stayed at 2 different places here in St. Augustine. Now we honestly wish we would have just spent the 2 extra nights at Cedar House Inn as well. She greeted us and sat with us for about 15 minutes explaining and recommending the "good" places to go in the area. Cedar House Inn is in a great location. Fairly close to Flagler College and all the shops, but just far enough to be in a quaint, quiet area.

We stayed in The Gables room, which was very nice. Victorian style with a newly remodeled stone shower and private balcony. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable.

Upon leaving, we heard that Cedar House Inn had been rated 4th in the nation, and 16th in the WORLD. What an accomplishment. Very deserving. We'll be back!

**Parking is included, which is very convenient. Everything is in walking distance, so just leave the car there (free of charge).

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I spent last Monday night in St. Augustine at the Cedar House Inn. Cindy, indeed is an awesome innkeeper. The furnishings and decorations were sumptuous and truly took us back to another era. We followed her recommendation for dinner (the Floridian) which was superb and reasonably priced. We stayed in the lovely Viscaya Room and especially enjoyed the beautiful tiled shower for two. Cindy has drawerfuls of DVDs which we also took advantage of--enjoying a favorite movie with a glass of her ever-available wine, port or soft drinks. Breakfast was beautifully presented and delicious and we enjoyed the company of our fellow temporary residents. Alas, we had to return home but we look forward to another stay at the Cedar House Inn in the future.

Room Tip: Viscaya was beautiful and suited us well as we prefer showers to baths and the two-person tiled show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inlovewithkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Inn

Address: 79 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $149 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Inn Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of St. Augustine's historic district. Recapture the elegance of the charming Victorian Era while enjoying 21st Century amenities at Cedar House Inn. Romance and History come alive at the beautifully restored 1893 Victorian home of Cynthia Humphrey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cedar House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedar House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing