We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned for another stay and it just gets better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cedar House Inn
Ranked #1 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Returned for another stay and it just gets better.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I returned for another long weekend at the Cedar House Inn.
We were married at the Inn 7 years ago, we celebrated birthdays here, our 5 year anniversary and this past weekend my 40th birthday. The experience just keeps getting better and better :o)
There is a reason that this B&B has been voted the #1 B&B for 5 years straight... It is like coming home to an old comfortable friend. It truly is a home away from home that will bring you back time and time again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichTrebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
532
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I visited Cedar house for a couple of nights this week with my family and I must say, just how wonderful this place is. From the first minute you arrive and view this fabulous home to the warmest welcome from Cyndi. The rooms are quaint and stylish. The breakfast are just "something else", as my mum put it.. Delicious is what she means.. Oh but I have to mention the brownie's...mmmm. The little touches like water and drinks being available at any time, all add to the the thought and consideration that Cyndi has put into making you feel as much at home as possible... And let me tell you Cindi, you did... Thanks so much for making our stay in St. Augustine perfect.. We will sure be back.

Room Tip: I managed to view two of the rooms, The Biscayne and The Sanibel, both had jacuzzi tubs, flat screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Its the second time we stay here and both times we have enjoyed it very much with a cousy yet elegant feeling full of small details and a very gourmet breakfast. Cindy makes her home feel like our own. Thanks and we shall be back soon. Higly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnetusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

When a friend and I decided to arrange our own small writing retreat, we turned to Google and then to TripAdvisor. Based on the reviews, we booked the Sanibel - not the largest room but one with a private entrance (and an amazing bath tub). The entrance to the Sanibel is located on the back side of the house; it's definitely one of the more private rooms.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon. Cyndi greeted us at the door, sat us down with a map and a couple of bottles of water, and, after some friendly conversation, gave us a quick rundown of what the city - and the Cedar House - has to offer. Both the city and the Cedar House have a LOT to offer; Cyndi tailored her review of the map to what we were planning (a weekend spent writing), and then helped us carry our bags to our room.

The thing that sets a great b&b apart from a good or average one is attention to detail. Cyndi gets all the details. Phenomenal bed linens, gourmet breakfasts (always beginning with fresh fruit), decanted wines, chilled water and soda easily available... Cyndi arranges things so that you don't have to think about them.

From a writing perspective, the Cedar House is great - there's even wifi. It's got the best wrap-around porch out there. Equipped with rocking chairs, tables, and ceiling fans, the porch is a great spot to spend the heat of the day or to wind down in the evening. Because the Cedar House is located so close to Flagler College, you see a lot of people coming and going - most of whom have a wave and a hello for the people sitting on the porch.

The Cedar House is within walking distance of most of historic St. Augustine.

I know a lot of people go to the Cedar House for anniversaries or weddings - it's a potentially romantic place in an historic city. But it's also a fantastic location for other kinds of getaways. My friend and I spent the majority of our time on Cyndi's front porch, writing and working through ideas. It was the perfect location.

And I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Chase did an excellent job in finding the perfect surprise honeymoon for us. Our first week of married life was always started off just right in this beautiful b and b with beautiful and tasty breakfast each morning. The staff is amazing, kind, honest, and full of life. Thank you for helping to make the beginning of our life together wonderful. We will be back and have already told everyone we know to come here .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, IL
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Cedar House Inn is delightfully charming with an even more delightfully charming innkeeper. Cyndi greeted us and shared her ideas about visiting St. Augustine (our first visit) with a map before walking us to our rooms which were very nicely decorated and had a comfy feel! All rooms have access to a porch with table and chairs; a pleasant surprise! The homemade cookies and complimentary wine and port are a nice touch. It was a beautiful night so after dinner, we came back and played cards on the porch....delightful! The breakfast room looked so beautiful, I hated to disrupt it by eating, but I did and glad of it! The peach soup and pecan waffles were wonderful! Even tho check-out was 11 am, Cyndi gave us access to the house before we had to catch a later flight. I believe Cyndi treats all her guests like royal friends, I certainly felt it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Cedar House Inn is an unbelievable place to spend an Anniversary. After researching different cities in the Central and North Florida area, I knew St Augustine would be a great destination. I chose the Cedar House after researching Trip Advisor for a nice bed and breakfast to surprise my wife for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and this beautiful inn and its owner delivered a special and memorable occasion.

From the initial phone call to make the reservation, I could tell that Cyndi, as the trip advisor reviews stated, was a special person who truly wants you to enjoy every moment of your stay. Words cannot explain how hospitable she is and that shows in everything she does to make you feel at home and so welcome. Every request was quickly fulfilled with a smile and the words, “my pleasure”. And you could tell she really did mean that.

Cyndi truly has the gift of hospitality and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic. We had a fruit plate that was outstanding and savory Egg Souffle that was out of this world. My wife and I love food and the breakfast was just amazing.

Thanks so much Cyndi for making our 25th anniversary something we will never forget.
www.journeysntravelnfood.com

Room Tip: We stayed in the Vizcaya and it was very nice and has direct access to the porch. A/C in this room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd n Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#13 of 31 in St. Augustine
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cedar House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cedar House Inn

Property: The Cedar House Inn
Address: 79 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cedar House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House Inn Bed & Breakfast is located in the heart of St. Augustine's historic district. Recapture the elegance of the charming Victorian Era while enjoying 21st Century amenities at Cedar House Inn. Romance and History come alive at the beautifully restored 1893 Victorian home of Cynthia Humphrey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cedar House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cedar House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing