We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

This is undoubtedly the finest B&B in the St.. Augustine area. We relied heavily on Trip Advisor and B&B Review to pick Wescott House for our getaway. Everyting about our stay was superb. Joy and Andrew are "super star" hosts. Beakfast and afternoon wine, etc. were really quality and enjoyable. Wescott House and staff have our highest recommendation for excellence and value.

Room Tip: We like upstairs with access to porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikingdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you so much for those kind, kind words. Reviews like that add fuel to the customer service fire we strive to keep alive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    40
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
90
866
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

I had never stayed in a B&B before this last weekend.
I was not sure if the cost of the stay would equal to the
price of the room, since they are more than normal hotel rooms.
But I was blown away. When we got there, the owner was on premises
to greet us and check us in. We were invited to the social hour that afternoon
for drinks and appetizers. We had breakfast every morning served but there
courteous staff while watching the sunrise over the intercoastal waterway.
When we go back to St Augustine next we will certainly be staying at the Westcott B&B again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsW3_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Well thank you for choosing to have your first B&B experience at Westcott. It is true that B&B's do cost more than the standard hotel, and there are plenty of hotels in St. Augustine, so we are very appreciative of our guests' choices to stay with us and do try to reward that decision with lots of good food and personal attention. It sounds like you were pleasantly surprised by your experience, and we are so glad we were able to create that environment for you. We do look forward to your return visit and thank you so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Westcott is a welcoming, comfortable inn at a great location. Though there are plenty of great areas of the city, we strongly recommend staying by the bay. Westcott seems to us to be the best of the inns/B&Bs by the bay, offering great views from its porch and courtyard, as well as from many of the rooms. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, and appreciated that Westcott was willing to serve one of us scrambled eggs and bacon in lieu of Eggs Benedict one morning. The inn is by no means luxurious, but it is comfortable and well-decorated. If you're looking for a big jet tub/sauna/hot tub (we weren't), you'll find them in the rooms here. We recommend staying here when you visit St. Augustine.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradfordDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
We were more than happy to accommoadate your breakfast wishes and thank you for the kind review (and referral). Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Immaculate and elegant rooms; comfortable and cozy porches to relax and enjoy breakfast, cocktails or just a breathtaking view of the bay. Accommodating hosts Joy and Andrew made our stay a most enjoyable one; they didn't miss a trick. Within walking distance to town for shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy0134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Manager at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Your words brought forth the smiles! Be well, and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

My husband chose the Bayfront Westcott House to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. I was so excited to go once I read the reviews, and all of it was true! We spent three nights there and renewed our vows on the balcony overlooking the bay. Joy was so welcoming and accommodating when we arrived and Jean was so helpful with all of our questions and restaurant advice. The breakfast every morning was absolutely delicious, the young ladies that served were so sweet and yet quite professional. We ate on the side porch and it was perfect. In the afternoons we came back for social hour where we had drinks and snacks and chatted with other guests or just sat and relaxed. We would definately chose this inn again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandlmcgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for choosing Westcott for your most special occasion. We most definitely all enjoyed your visit, we're so glad that you had a good time, and of course we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Westcott House this past weekend. It was a pleasant experience and we would think about returning if we visit St. Augustine (charming city) again. The location of the house is right on the bay and it is walking distance to everywhere in downtown St. Augustine. We stayed in Catherine's room which was tastefully decorated and had a great view of the bay. Breakfast was served promptly at the time you were required to choose the night before. The food was good - we were served the Westcott Casserole - and the waitress (from NH) was great! Our only complaint was the cleanliness of the room. The mirror looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time and the bathroom walls needed some freshening up. Also, the bed is very soft, but that is a matter of personal preference. The owner, Joy, was absolutely charming and provided us with a lot of helpful information.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLB997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for bringing to our attention the mirror above the bed. We checked and it indeed was in need of some care, which it has received and will continue to receive. Aside from that, we are so happy you enjoyed the room and its lovely view and your stay overall. We hope the mirror incident won't keep you away. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Scheduled "social time"?? Where was that written/ who gives those details? Vertical "bed" challenges!! How HIGH is too HIGH? "Peep Show" window treatment! The door's vertical blind was quite revealing. Forget having the "latest" high-def experience with the stone age t.v. A/C aka "small silver fan". We must say, the morning staff was FABULOUS!

We called @ 3 for check-in and no one informed us of the social event. When we arrived, it was as though we purposely did not attend. Do you honestly think I would have paid for something and not partake in it? The bed was truly a frightening experience. I am so happy I did not have to get up in the middle of the night, I may have fallen.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewJoy, Owner at Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We do apologize for any inconveniences. Our Social Hour is advertised on our website, and it is part of our check-in process to inform each guest of the time. To ensure no one misses out on that detail in the future, we have included that information in the confirmation letter. With regard to the window treatment in your room, we are investigating different options to take care of any problems. The small silver fan is simply an extra amenity as the room does have central air conditioning and heat. Our morning staff thanks you for the compliment, and we thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 146 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this romantic St Augustine B&B, (the only one on the bayfront), we'll coordinate your every wish & spoil you every second. Chocolate-covered strawberries, in-room massages, breakfast on the veranda (or in bed), evening social hour (hosted by a professional storyteller on Mon & Wed), romance packages, in-room Jacuzzis, and so much more! Our quiet bayfront location is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, galleries, shops, and sightseeing attractions. Bayfront Westcott House--One of the Best Florida Getaways! - Dream Travel Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Westcott House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing