We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Stay”
Review of Victorian House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian House
Ranked #13 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A lovely stay at the Victorian House. The proprietors maintain a charming home. The breakfast was super tasty and the staff is very friendly. The owners spend time sharing great places to eat and visit. They know what they are talking about. This B&B is central to everything. A great location that enables walking to several nearby sights an easy feat. Like music? There are bars with local talent right up the street. The parking is pretty limited but they have access to a parking area a few blocks away. I'd recommend this place to couples and singles. Many extra features, including homemade cookies and a wine hour. If you like cozy and friendly, this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jujukos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    60
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
324
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I visit the Victorian House at least twice a year. Each time we have always stayed in one certain room. This past weekend we stayed in a new room. Not only was the room amazing, but our innkeepers went above and beyond to make our experience memorable. A couples massage, breakfast in our room and the usual warm and friendly interactions we have come to expect. We are already planning our next visit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank smithherlong06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A very nice B&B with exceptionally nice owners and all who attended to us. The breakfast meals were amazingly good! Location is central to the historic parts of St. Augustine directly along historic cobblestone narrow streets. We were able to walk from there to all places we wanted to visit in the old historic part of the city. We would most certainly stay there again, but would likely choose one of the larger rooms!

Room Tip: Our room was Julies room - one of the smaller, lower price rooms. It was nice and had its own attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My hubby and I stayed here for your one yr anniversary. It was wonderful!! When we got there, they upgraded our room to one of their best ones at NO charge because it was our anniversary. It was a lovely surprise to walk into!! Also, the room was very clean, and well kept. Breakfast was good, very light meal. But they give you a variety of foods so you you're bound to find something you like! The owners, Mariyln and Anthony, were so kind!! And as we were checking out of the BnB that day we planned to venture out into the city, and figured we would have to park elsewhere, but they let us keep our car there for the whole day until we were ready to leave. So, we paid no extra parking fees! Amazing BnB and amazing owners, I will absolutely go back and would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johnson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

the staff was great. they are very pleasant and helpful with directions. Anthony's breakfast was delicious. the house is right in the middle of the historical district. everything is walking distance. I will return and stay at the victorian house again. totally different experience from staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We made reservations at the last moment, but found we couldn't have a better job if we had done a ton of research. Our hosts were friendly, knowledgable, people who clearly enjoy what they do. They gave suggestions for places to eat, shop and visit. We had a great time and will be back whenever we head to their neck of the woods. Loved the fact we never moved the car once we arrived, everything was within walking distance, or a quick trolley ride away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kimsmom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOORESVILLE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Our decision to stay at the Victorian House was impacted by the many nice reviews. However, our stay was disappointing. We booked one night in the Seamist room, but the host/owner (?) told us at check-in that we could stay in Julie's room without an up-charge, which we thought was very kind and took her up on her offer. The room was very cold. The electric heater was insufficient. The room was never really comfortably warm. The bathroom was tiny and there was only a thin sheer separating the bedroom and bathroom. No door of any sort...or fan. Also, there were only three parking places in front of the hotel, which were "first come first serve". If you were unlucky and did not get a close parking spot then you had to park several blocks from the hotel. We did not get a close parking space. The weather was unusually cold so it was an unpleasant walk. The house seemed old and creaky. We have no idea what breakfast was like because we left before that hour. This customer will not return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JEAN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Jean,

Yes I remember your stay. We are so sorry that you were disappointed and your expectations were not met. When you and your husband arrived you both seemed to be quite tired from traveling. You had originally booked our most economical room that has a lovely queen bed and new shower. As we try to whenever possible, we will offer a guest a complimentary upgrade to a larger room, as we did with you and you had selected the final room for your stay.

During your stay, St Augustine experienced extremely unusually cold weather due to the Polar Vortex just as the rest of the Country was. It was freezing out there. The room you decided on includes an electric fireplace for both ambiance and heat. Although I showed you it’s operational controls at check in, we are so sorry that you did not mention you were still cold. If you had mentioned you were not warm enough we would have gladly helped you adjust the thermostat warmer on that fireplace as well as make any necessary adjustment to the main house central heating. We do have a beautiful Victorian House built in 1895 which many guests simply adore witnessing original millwork, hardwood floors, windows and lighting and being located on the corner of the oldest street in the Nation.

You mentioned at check in that you would be leaving very early the following morning and would not be for breakfast. You mentioned you were concerned about your truck and needed to bring it to a dealer for service before heading out to a training session in the western part of the State. We hope that the repairs were not too costly and you were successful in your training.

We recognize that late arrivals having very early departures do not always allow a guest an optimum experience and may result in some disappointments. The temperature outside was dreadful, the stay too short. We hope that in the future you will venture once again to Saint Augustine when you have a little more time to enjoy such a spectacular City and give us the opportunity to show you some of our other fine rooms that may better suit your needs.

Best regards,

Marilyn & Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Property: Victorian House
Address: 11 Cadiz St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian House of St Augustine, Florida having rooms and suites is centrally located in the heart of St. Augustine’s Historic District, Old Town, nestled between the two oldest streets in America (Aviles and Cadiz). Our inn is tucked away from traffic noises but is a close walk to the center of town, City Marina at the bayfront and to historic sites and activities. Sit on our porch, listen to the horse-drawn carriages clip-clop down Aviles Street, and experience the charm of Hotels St Augustine FL in Victorian comfort. St. Augustine FL is revered as a gateway through time, a city in which to discover the early history of Florida as well as America’s oldest community. Having prospered almost 450 years, St. Augustine proud to be referred to as the oldest city in the United States, and will celebrate those 450 years with some great events throughout the year and a grand fiesta in September. The perfect place for your romantic weekend in St. Augustine, Victorian House was built in 1895 and meticulously restored in 1983. There are guest rooms in both the Main House and in the Carriage House–each lovingly trimmed with unique touches and comforting heirlooms. For the utmost convenience, all rooms feature private baths some with double Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and private porches. This Victorian bed and breakfast is the perfect setting for your small wedding, elopement, or vows renewal and offers various packages created to fulfill (if not exceeed) your individual needs. Choose the beautiful Victorian parlor or small garden as your ceremonial spot. Inn hosts Anthony and Marilyn will help you plan your special day! Though we’re located in St. Augustine’s beautiful historic district, we’re not far from the beach, shopping, local attractions, and so many great things to do it will make your head spin! If you’re into auto racing, consider staying in St. Augustine at the Victorian House while visiting Daytona in January, February, or March for Daytona speed week and the Daytona 500 or in July for the Daytona 400. If you’re a motorcycle aficionado, St Augustine is the place to be during spring break / Daytona Bike Week or in October for the Biketober Fest. Golfers enjoy World Golf Hall of Fame and Resort golf course and museum, just a few remote miles north of Downtown, while they enjoy staying downtown at Victorian House Bed and Breakfast. Holidays are special times in St. Augustine. Come visit in December to experience our city’s Nights of Lights (on National Geographic's Top 10 light displays in the world), and the annual Saint Augustine Bed and Breakfasts Tour. Watch spectacular fireworks on the fourth of July. St. Augustine Art Walks On the First Friday of every month experience Saint Augustine's Art Walk featuring local and guest artists. Artists and musicians share our City as their canvas introducing us to wonderful sights and sounds. In October enjoy the St. Augustine Bed and Breakfast Romantic Writers Tour. Weekly summer Concerts in the Plaza and Changing of the Guards at the Government House. Whatever brings you to town, we hope you’ll consider staying at our lovely St. Augustine bed and breakfast, the Victorian House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing