We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Victorian House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian House
Ranked #12 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our decision to stay at the Victorian House was impacted by the many nice reviews. However, our stay was disappointing. We booked one night in the Seamist room, but the host/owner (?) told us at check-in that we could stay in Julie's room without an up-charge, which we thought was very kind and took her up on her offer. The room was very cold. The electric heater was insufficient. The room was never really comfortably warm. The bathroom was tiny and there was only a thin sheer separating the bedroom and bathroom. No door of any sort...or fan. Also, there were only three parking places in front of the hotel, which were "first come first serve". If you were unlucky and did not get a close parking spot then you had to park several blocks from the hotel. We did not get a close parking space. The weather was unusually cold so it was an unpleasant walk. The house seemed old and creaky. We have no idea what breakfast was like because we left before that hour. This customer will not return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JEAN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorian House, Owner at Victorian House, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Jean,

Yes I remember your stay. We are so sorry that you were disappointed and your expectations were not met. When you and your husband arrived you both seemed to be quite tired from traveling. You had originally booked our most economical room that has a lovely queen bed and new shower. As we try to whenever possible, we will offer a guest a complimentary upgrade to a larger room, as we did with you and you had selected the final room for your stay.

During your stay, St Augustine experienced extremely unusually cold weather due to the Polar Vortex just as the rest of the Country was. It was freezing out there. The room you decided on includes an electric fireplace for both ambiance and heat. Although I showed you it’s operational controls at check in, we are so sorry that you did not mention you were still cold. If you had mentioned you were not warm enough we would have gladly helped you adjust the thermostat warmer on that fireplace as well as make any necessary adjustment to the main house central heating. We do have a beautiful Victorian House built in 1895 which many guests simply adore witnessing original millwork, hardwood floors, windows and lighting and being located on the corner of the oldest street in the Nation.

You mentioned at check in that you would be leaving very early the following morning and would not be for breakfast. You mentioned you were concerned about your truck and needed to bring it to a dealer for service before heading out to a training session in the western part of the State. We hope that the repairs were not too costly and you were successful in your training.

We recognize that late arrivals having very early departures do not always allow a guest an optimum experience and may result in some disappointments. The temperature outside was dreadful, the stay too short. We hope that in the future you will venture once again to Saint Augustine when you have a little more time to enjoy such a spectacular City and give us the opportunity to show you some of our other fine rooms that may better suit your needs.

Best regards,

Marilyn & Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Victorian House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 509 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our stay at the Victoria House was wonderful. We went there to celebrate New Years eve and to see the the Christmas lights in St Augustine. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners, Anthony and Marilyn. They sat down with us and showed us the layout of the town. They recommended places to eat and where we could go and have fun. The breakfast everyday were delicious. Always something special to eat. The staff couldn't have been more friendly. We came with two other couples and all of us had a wonderful visit. Anthony made reservation for us at a few local restaurants. We walked to everything we wanted to see. We did take a trolley ride that was great because it showed us the outskirts of town and had a little history lesson too. I would recommend this B&B and plan to go back again.

Room Tip: The rooms that are attached to the B&B are a little larger.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Staying at the Victorian House is like being in the best that Europe has to offer. It is elegant from the fine china, beautiful and exceptionally clean guest rooms, and offers one of the finest breakfast menus that could only be found in the very best B&B. Anthony and Marilyn are wonderful hosts and nothing could be finer than to sit on the front porch with complimentary wine and cordials and watch the carriage rides in such a beautiful and historic city of St. Augustine. Victorian House is, without a doubt, one of the best B&B's anywhere in the USA.

Room Tip: They are all beautifully appointed from the lowest price to the highest. Each one has its on individ...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DocT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The owner was so accommodating! I have dietary restrictions, which I included on the reservations, and she was well-prepared for me. She really went out of her way to make me comfortable. It was so appreciated. This B&B is close to the Old Town. We could walk to everything we wanted to see. There is limited parking at the house, but they have additional parking close by. It was not a problem at all. WIFI in the room. Our room had a private bath. The room was lovely, and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateONeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This B&B has it all!! Anthony, Marilyn, and staff are AWESOME hosts and go beyond neccessary for their guests. Breakfast every morning was different and equally delicious. We had such a wonderful visit, we extended to a third night (which was easily adjusted for us). They took the time to everyday to help us with our "plan for the day", directions around town, and discounts for attractions and pubs! The daily "wine social hour" is a nice touch and gives guests the opportunity to mingle with other guests staying at the the house. The ladies did an immaculant job on our room every day and were very professional. It was a true "home feel" and we WILL be back!

Room Tip: There are a couple rooms available with a porch/sunroom---be sure to inquire!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJK1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location was great and the accommodations were very comfortable. Each day's breakfast was different and perfectly prepared from the presentation, to the taste, to the size of the portions. Anthony was a great help in recommending the best places to eat, listen to music, sites to see, places to avoid. All of his recommendations were right on!

The staff was friendly and also helpful with any questions or requests.

We would definitely stay again.

The only disappointment was that we didn't get to see more of Max!

Room Tip: We stayed in Hanna's Room. It had a private entrance so we did not feel that we had to worry ab...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast in St. Augustine, and I have to say that I am now ruined for regular hotels in the oldest city! Anthony and Marilyn were so wonderfully accommodating (had to change the reservation at the last minute due to flights being changed), and my mom and I ended up in Serenity, which worked perfect for us. I especially loved the extra space between the bedroom and the bathroom. And who can resist taking a lovely soak in a claw-footed tub?

Anthony was so personable and we probably could have stayed and talked with him all day. He helped me with luggage and parked my car without blinking an eye. We loved relaxing on the front porch with our amaretto, watching carriages roll by and saying hello to complete strangers...so incredible!

Breakfast was delightful and very filling. I wish we had taken advantage of the social hour, but we certainly appreciated the complimentary cider and hot cocoa available at any time.

If I had to put a downfall, it would be that the parking is two blocks away. But if you plan on just staying in the downtown area, you really don't need a car. Once it was parked, we didn't get back in it until we left to drive home. So really, not a downfall at all!

Now I just have to get my husband there!

Room Tip: Serenity is on the side of the house, and also overlooks part of the back of the house. We were not...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiliM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Address: 11 Cadiz St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $162 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian House of St Augustine, Florida having rooms and suites is centrally located in the heart of St. Augustine’s Historic District, Old Town, nestled between the two oldest streets in America (Aviles and Cadiz). Our inn is tucked away from traffic noises but is a close walk to the center of town, City Marina at the bayfront and to historic sites and activities. Sit on our porch, listen to the horse-drawn carriages clip-clop down Aviles Street, and experience the charm of Hotels St Augustine FL in Victorian comfort. St. Augustine FL is revered as a gateway through time, a city in which to discover the early history of Florida as well as America’s oldest community. Having prospered almost 450 years, St. Augustine proud to be referred to as the oldest city in the United States, and will celebrate those 450 years with some great events throughout the year and a grand fiesta in September. The perfect place for your romantic weekend in St. Augustine, Victorian House was built in 1895 and meticulously restored in 1983. There are guest rooms in both the Main House and in the Carriage House–each lovingly trimmed with unique touches and comforting heirlooms. For the utmost convenience, all rooms feature private baths some with double Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and private porches. This Victorian bed and breakfast is the perfect setting for your small wedding, elopement, or vows renewal and offers various packages created to fulfill (if not exceeed) your individual needs. Choose the beautiful Victorian parlor or small garden as your ceremonial spot. Inn hosts Anthony and Marilyn will help you plan your special day! Though we’re located in St. Augustine’s beautiful historic district, we’re not far from the beach, shopping, local attractions, and so many great things to do it will make your head spin! If you’re into auto racing, consider staying in St. Augustine at the Victorian House while visiting Daytona in January, February, or March for Daytona speed week and the Daytona 500 or in July for the Daytona 400. If you’re a motorcycle aficionado, St Augustine is the place to be during spring break / Daytona Bike Week or in October for the Biketober Fest. Golfers enjoy World Golf Hall of Fame and Resort golf course and museum, just a few remote miles north of Downtown, while they enjoy staying downtown at Victorian House Bed and Breakfast. Holidays are special times in St. Augustine. Come visit in December to experience our city’s Nights of Lights (on National Geographic's Top 10 light displays in the world), and the annual Saint Augustine Bed and Breakfasts Tour. Watch spectacular fireworks on the fourth of July. St. Augustine Art Walks On the First Friday of every month experience Saint Augustine's Art Walk featuring local and guest artists. Artists and musicians share our City as their canvas introducing us to wonderful sights and sounds. In October enjoy the St. Augustine Bed and Breakfast Romantic Writers Tour. Weekly summer Concerts in the Plaza and Changing of the Guards at the Government House. Whatever brings you to town, we hope you’ll consider staying at our lovely St. Augustine bed and breakfast, the Victorian House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing