We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time”
Review of Victorian House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian House
Ranked #13 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Time”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our first visit to the Victorian House but won't be our last. Marilyn was very nice and helpful when I called to make reservations as I was also booking a room for my sister and her husband as a Christmas gift to them and she took the time to describe the rooms. Anthony was a wonderful host - gave us suggestions on places to visit/eat and prepared a delicious breakfast. We were impressed that he remembered my sister was a vegetarian (from the conversation the day before regarding places to eat) and prepared the breakfast accordingly. All in all, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo1989_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    60
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
327
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

When we booked our wedding at the Victorian House B&B in St. Augustine Florida, we learned that we would be their first wedding. The innkeepers, Marilyn and Anthony Sexton are amazing! Their Inn is clean, authentic, charming and warm. Anthony is the Chef and breakfast every morning was spectacular! Marilyn went overboard to cater to our every need and make us and our family feel like her own family but also like we were at a five star hotel - how did she do that? We communicated our needs and they were met tenfold. It was a perfect fit for our low-key, informal, and romantic wedding ceremony. We highly recommend the Victorian House B&B for anyone looking for a wonderful B&B to visit in St. Augustine and especially for anyone looking for a lovely location for a small, intimate wedding.

Patrica and Wayne Fuller - Married December 29, 2012

Room Tip: We chose Marcie's room because it was at the front of the Inn and had a private porch which prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaAnnFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in the Victorian House for our honeymoon for two nights & had the best experience ever!!! We loved the hospitably of Anthony & Marilyn, the food was fantastic. Loved meeting new people. I could'nt have imagined having a better time, so look forward to going back again. I recommend the Victorian House to everyone!!!

Mr. & Mrs. Smith

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in this lovely, comfortable B&B one night, the last one of November 2012. We arrived early. Our hosts kept our luggage while we explored St Augustine (our second visit). As the B&B has only 4 spots on site, we had to park in a private lot of few blocks away (Anthony volunteered to park our car, but we wanted to get familiar with the lot's location). St Augustine is a gem, easy to walk in, full of things to do. This B&B is mere blocks away from the heart of the city. Our room, Marcie's, is in the lower level of a detatched wing off the main house. The B&B hosts a wine and greet hour at 5pm; we met a bunch of pleasant people. The breakfast was delicious: good coffee, juice, fresh fruit, and a light, fluffy, and flavorful frittata. Wonderful place to stay in a magnificent city. Historic Lincolnville, where some of the key early marches in the Civil Rights Movement, in the early 1960s, were held, is a few blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flushing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the inn for 3 days, and found it to be the best B&B we've ever stayed at. It was roomy, and had a sun room. The breakfasts were great, and we enjoyed meeting other people. The couple who runs it is very nice, and they were very patient with us when we couldn't find our way there the first night. Anthony even went out to try and find us so he could lead us to the place. We couldn't find a place to park so we called back, and Marilyn was able to guide us from where we were at that point. I felt bad that Anthony went out to find us but we weren't there, but he was just happy that we were finally able to find our way. We do plan on staying there again. Oh I would also like to say that I slept well while we were there, something I'm not used to at home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greea4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I recently met friends for a graduation celebration and we all stayed at the Victorian House. It was Christmastime and the whole town was decorated for Christmas and there were tours of all the B&B's in St. Aug. Very lovely. The house was decorated, food served. Accommodations were comfortable, clean and the innkeepers were lovely. Breakfast was very tasty, nicely presented and served. I would highly recommend a stay at the Victorian House. They are very pleasant and work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. There was also a tv in my room which i appreciated. Not the case with all B&B's.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We love this bed and breakfast!

St. Augustine is our "escape" and my Wife and I have stayed at several B&B's in the area and NONE of them compare the the Victorian House! This time We stayed for our 4 yr. wedding anniversary and before we even left, we booked another visit for June 2012!

Anthony and Marilyn (the owner's) are fantastic! Their knowledge of the St. Augustine area is great and VERY helpful. They will even go as far as making dinner reservations for you or suggest a place to to eat based on your "taste buds."

On to our room... the room is always clean, the bed is always dressed in fresh linens and the bathroom is stocked with fresh towels, a bubble bath solution, shampoo and conditioner. We look forward to waking in the morning to the smells of the fresh breakfast being prepared downstairs.

Anthony is an AMAZING cook who really knows how to infuse flavors in unexpected ways (trust me I work in restaurants!) Breakfast is so relaxing and Anthony and Marilyn cater to your every need whether it is the fresh coffee, Orange Juice, or Hot teas they serve. Then comes the meal (served in courses), this morning we had a homemade granola topped with fresh grapes that had been tossed in a vanilla yogurt (amazing!) followed by a bacon crusted, egg, ham and brie cheese quiche (was so good I would have eaten seconds!)

On weekends they have a "social hour" from 5-6pm where they serve complimentary beer and wine and you really get to meet the other guests that are staying in the house as well as hang out with Anthony and Marilyn. Oh, did I mention that they have fresh cookies in the parlor throughout the day too!

Bottom Line is, if you are looking for a great place to stay, then stay HERE! It is located in the heart of the city so nothing is "too far to walk" to. The owners are great and we love talking to them while we stay. It is a place we go to unwind and it feels like we are visiting family now.

Room Tip: Love the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansF1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.3 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian House

Property: Victorian House
Address: 11 Cadiz St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian House of St Augustine, Florida having rooms and suites is centrally located in the heart of St. Augustine’s Historic District, Old Town, nestled between the two oldest streets in America (Aviles and Cadiz). Our inn is tucked away from traffic noises but is a close walk to the center of town, City Marina at the bayfront and to historic sites and activities. Sit on our porch, listen to the horse-drawn carriages clip-clop down Aviles Street, and experience the charm of Hotels St Augustine FL in Victorian comfort. St. Augustine FL is revered as a gateway through time, a city in which to discover the early history of Florida as well as America’s oldest community. Having prospered almost 450 years, St. Augustine proud to be referred to as the oldest city in the United States, and will celebrate those 450 years with some great events throughout the year and a grand fiesta in September. The perfect place for your romantic weekend in St. Augustine, Victorian House was built in 1895 and meticulously restored in 1983. There are guest rooms in both the Main House and in the Carriage House–each lovingly trimmed with unique touches and comforting heirlooms. For the utmost convenience, all rooms feature private baths some with double Jacuzzi tubs, fireplaces, and private porches. This Victorian bed and breakfast is the perfect setting for your small wedding, elopement, or vows renewal and offers various packages created to fulfill (if not exceeed) your individual needs. Choose the beautiful Victorian parlor or small garden as your ceremonial spot. Inn hosts Anthony and Marilyn will help you plan your special day! Though we’re located in St. Augustine’s beautiful historic district, we’re not far from the beach, shopping, local attractions, and so many great things to do it will make your head spin! If you’re into auto racing, consider staying in St. Augustine at the Victorian House while visiting Daytona in January, February, or March for Daytona speed week and the Daytona 500 or in July for the Daytona 400. If you’re a motorcycle aficionado, St Augustine is the place to be during spring break / Daytona Bike Week or in October for the Biketober Fest. Golfers enjoy World Golf Hall of Fame and Resort golf course and museum, just a few remote miles north of Downtown, while they enjoy staying downtown at Victorian House Bed and Breakfast. Holidays are special times in St. Augustine. Come visit in December to experience our city’s Nights of Lights (on National Geographic's Top 10 light displays in the world), and the annual Saint Augustine Bed and Breakfasts Tour. Watch spectacular fireworks on the fourth of July. St. Augustine Art Walks On the First Friday of every month experience Saint Augustine's Art Walk featuring local and guest artists. Artists and musicians share our City as their canvas introducing us to wonderful sights and sounds. In October enjoy the St. Augustine Bed and Breakfast Romantic Writers Tour. Weekly summer Concerts in the Plaza and Changing of the Guards at the Government House. Whatever brings you to town, we hope you’ll consider staying at our lovely St. Augustine bed and breakfast, the Victorian House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Victorian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing