We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly...welcoming staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Although the room was small,it was clean and had upgraded amenities. The staff make you feel at home. The breakfast buffet was delicious. Nice place to stay. The sleep number bed was so comfortable. The outside patio could use a good cleaning.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angsantadema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We do power wash whenever we get down time outside. Sorry, if there was any inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for Casablanca Inn on the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 712 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location and view. Room and bathroom were adequately appointed. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Wifi was fre, but you could only get on for a few minutes at a time in the room. The room was not as clean as it should have been. We should not have to ask for it to be recleaned, which we did not do because that would have been an inconvenience to us. Should really have a better air conditioning system--the place definaltely needs some updating. For what you get, it is overpriced in my opinion.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Sorry to hear this. Unfortunately, we were experiencing problems with our wifi. I wish you came and spoke to us about any other issue so we could have made it right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very pleased and would stay here again! Free beverages all day and bar credit every night! A great view and worth the money! The rooms are very nicely updated yet still feels homey and quaint! A wonderful place for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelDiva1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thanks so much! Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

we went to this bed and breakfast because we love st augustine and the location was great, the breakfast was delicious, the free coffee and softdrinks were helpful, happy hour was good and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and solve any problem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Casablanca. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've stayed here several times over the last few years. The location is great, having the Martini Bar onsite is fun, breakfast in the morning and snacks at night are enjoyable. Unfortunately, the property just doesn't seem to have been maintained well lately. We even stayed in 2 different rooms in the past week and both had mold in many corners of the shower (I mean a lot of mold) and the one room even had cracked tiles in the built-in seat that were so broken you could just see water pouring behind them and thus helping us to realize where the moldy/musty smell was coming from (the wood under there had to have been so rotted out). This was Room #1 which I understand is no longer able to be rented due to renovations in the Kitchen. We then stayed in Room #3 and were excited b/c it had a separate sitting area. However, the carpet in this area was so stained and dirty and we felt so gross walking on it. The shower had a lot of mold in it as well. The private patio off the side isn't too enjoyable in the hot months as the window AC unit sits right there on the porch with you and spits out water and is quite loud. You also have 2 other window units from the 2 rooms on either side of you running so it's all very loud.

The towels, sheets and beds were high quality and felt great and the staff was very friendly. I think it's more along the lines of the property owners just don't seem to be on property often enough to make sure the regular maintenance and cleaning is being done and the property kept up with in the way it needs to be.

Overall it's an older property that with just some updating and a little tighter job done on the cleaning could really bring it up to par.

Room Tip: I'd avoid room #1 and #3. We prefer the rooms in the carriage house out back.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank allyfloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

I'm sorry for any issues you had. We have looked in to all the situations you addressed. We are always improving our Historic Inn on the inside and out. We hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've been here before and will be back! The rooms that we've had have always been very comfortable and welcoming. Of course, there will be little creaks here and there... it is a very old building! But that is part of the charm to me. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning out on the front porch. It is very nice including eggs benedict, mimosas, and very friendly service. Parking in the historic downtown is terrible, so it is really nice to have a reserved spot (it is just a short walk away.) Of course there are some things that you will have to drive to to visit, but if you just want to wander around on foot, Casablanca is in the perfect location. We will stay again next time we are in St Augustine!

Room Tip: This trip we stayed in room #00 (originally #13.) It was a nice room out in the carriage house that...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank THaley1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Great to hear!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The worst part of our stay was the 'Sleep Number' bed, horribly uncomfortable. The portable A/C unit in the room was annoying but the fact that it's such an old house it's understandable. The staff were very friendly and attended to any needs we had.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uglywerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

If you decide to stay with us again we have a few rooms with out a sleep number bed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
0.3 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Bay

Address: 24 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $109 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn on the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-two luxury suites and rooms in a panoramic bayfront location in historic St. Augustine. Enjoy Matanzas Bay views, whirlpool baths, private porches and sundecks, decorative fireplaces, private entries,and peaceful luxury. Our Tini Martini Bar features a full palette of fine wines and liquors, as well as fabulous martinis, beers and views onto the stunning bay front. Guests can enjoy these views as well as a $15 credit at the Tini Martini Bar plus a $25 credit towards breakfast or lunch in our restaurant Brunch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn On The Bay Hotel Saint Augustine
Casablanca Inn On The Bay b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing