We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, simple but creative breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great service, simple but creative breakfast”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed with my husband in the secret garden. Very intimate and romantic. The room was quiet, but outside we could hear the air conditioning units from other business, that was our only complaint. Spacious rooms, comfortable kitchenette, best mattress in town! We slept just like at home. Will definetly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb & acb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return!


Thank You
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    177
    69
    63
    23
See reviews for
67
492
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Loved Casablanca Inn. Worked great having our martinis at Tini Martinis... and then walking across the street for out horse-drawn carriage ride... where we go engaged. :-) ... Rates were probably higher for us, since we were there on Spring Break. Other than that, was great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for spending your special weekend with us! Congratulations & we hope you return.


Thank You
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Perfectly located for walking to shopping and restaurants! We stayed in the Coach house, which i'm glad we did....it seemed more private than the main house! We had room 14 which is located in the middle of the coach house and street level. I think we would have preferred the 2nd floor but it wasn't available when we booked! The room is small and a little tight but decorated nicely! Big Bathroom and stained glass ceiling lights! We loved our private outside porch and got a kick out of talking to the passer bys! Breakfast was really good! They served mimosas.....fresh fruit, juice, eggs benedict one day, veggie omelet another! nice assortment!! A few drawbacks.....mifi never did work....the desk didn't seem too concerned w/it.....also as other guests have reviewed, trash truck comes by early at 7ish every morning and grinds trash continually for several minutes...you cannot sleep through this. We also had a man park his vehicle directly in front of room 13 (next to ours) the car was old and filled w/clothes trash sleeping bags and 2 living dogs....it appeared to be his residence. Not really the fault of the Casablanca, but a little uncomfortable for guests on the street level. Also, parking for the casablanca is about 2 blocks away.....again....not a big deal but be prepared to unload your vehicle and park off site. The martini bar was Great! We loved sitting out on the street with the torches lit! We met some fun people and the martinis were Awesome! (they leave the shaker, so you really get 2!!)

Room Tip: choose 14 ,15, 18 or 19 (inner rooms) in the coach house if you don't mind the trash truck sound...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G0Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed The Tini martini Bar!

Thank You
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed at the Inn 3/16 to 3/19 and overall we enjoyed ourselves. Travelled with our 11 y/o son so we had room 19 which had a separate twin. We stayed for location which is excellent and the price here for 3 nights total at $700 was better than most when factoring in either parking or having to pay for breakfasts at other locations. Some reviews complain of the buffet but not only did we find the food offered to be well prepared & tasty, the staff was attentive and the chef was tremendous--made eggs to your request if the buffet offerings were not to your liking. More importantly, the chef was accomodating and understanding with our son who can be picky at times with food-- he made him french toast and bacon when not available at the buffet. Happy hour at the Tini was a blast. Walking distance to the town and a majority of the sites to see. Late night drinks, teas & coffees available. To play on the words of Bogart in Casablanca, we would stay there again, Sam !

Room Tip: If only 2 travelling try to secure a room facing the bay in the main building as there can be noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldestcity, Manager at Casablanca Inn on the Bay, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you, for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and The Tini Martini Bar! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank You
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Overall the stay was great, we made the best of it. We had room 20. As advertised no dvd or wifi, however, they did come with dvd player and non working wifi box. Front desk, bar staff and location were great. Buffet breakfast OK. I will definitely suggest doing research for more bang for your buck because the money we spend over $700 for 2 nights was not worth it.
One more thing in room 20 you will not get any rest if you're looking to relax, bar next door and street sweepers start at 5:00 am daily.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TMACON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our third and very last. The front desk was great. The Martini Bar sensational with Chris in command. The rest of the joint had radically changed. They now serve breakfast buffet style, cold and late on a Sunday morning. Room was never made up after our first night there. The room was just plan dirty from the dust on the pictures to the top of the commode. The base of the stairwell going to the second floor is falling apart. Etc. Etc. Etc. The entertainer (piano) had an attitude. The location you can't beat to restaurants, eateries and museums. But the venue needs a whitewashing throughout a la Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn.

Room Tip: Select wisely from the web site, but not room 12 with the jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Everyone at Casablanca Inn on the Bay is friendly and helpful. The chef makes wonderful breakfast - especially his Blueberry Bread Pudding! Awesome! We always stay at Casablanca Inn when we visit St. Augustine - usually three to four times a year. Every time we have stayed, we have received excellent service. This is the perfect location and the Tini Martini Bar provides wonderful drinks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juliet4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
632 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Bay

Property: Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Address: 24 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn on the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-two luxury suites and rooms in a panoramic bayfront location in historic St. Augustine. Enjoy Matanzas Bay views, whirlpool baths, private porches and sundecks, decorative fireplaces, private entries,and peaceful luxury. Our Tini Martini Bar features a full palette of fine wines and liquors, as well as fabulous martinis, beers and views onto the stunning bay front. Guests can enjoy these views as well as a $15 credit at the Tini Martini Bar plus a $25 credit towards breakfast or lunch in our restaurant Brunch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Casablanca Inn on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn On The Bay Hotel Saint Augustine
Casablanca Inn On The Bay b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing