We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room Prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca Inn on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room Prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Inn the first weekend in October. Our friends booked the rooms and they asked for suites. We were both given rooms in "The Secret Garden", theirs was in fact a suite with bedroom, sitting room and kitchen area. Our room was only the bedroom and kitchen area at one end of the room. The issue that I had with this is the price of the rooms were the same. When we inquired about this we were told that nothing would be done that all rooms were the same price. So my advice to others when booking is get a complete description of the room (the pictures on their site are much nicer than they are in reality}. Cleanliness of our room was lacking. Our bathroom door was a pocket door that when closed all the way was very difficult to open, so it always had to be left slightly open. The "Secret Garden" area is across the street in back of the Inn. It has a nice little garden area to sit in, however what could be lovely was in need of some one to maintain the area.. To end on a high note the Tini Martini Bar was great and our serve Alexandra was a delight. The breakfasts were very nice and the location of the Inn was wonderful. Would I go back again, probably yes, but I would make sure and book in the main building.

Room Tip: Book in the main building and ask for a complete description of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    173
    67
    60
    22
See reviews for
63
479
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

First of all, my husband and I LOVE old B&Bs. We've stayed in many and are accustomed to smaller rooms, antique furnishings that sometimes creak... And all other things that give a historic place its charm and character. :) So you won't hear us complain about any of that stuff like some previous reviewers have. If you want modern, spacious accommodations, perhaps a chain hotel is better for you. You can't beat Casablanca's location and the Tini Martini Bar is perfect for relaxing by the bay (we also enjoyed the $15 bar credit per night!). The bed in our room (#8) was very comfortable. Decor and furnishings were quality. Staff was friendly and breakfast was very good.

That said, there were some things that needed improvement and I hope that this review is helpful to the owners. The bathroom door in our room did not close properly, and if you pushed it shut, it would lock you inside. The doorknob would actually fall off and you had to rely on someone else to open it from the outside. This is both a privacy and safety concern and should be addressed immediately. Our other complaints/inconveniences were minor, but I will list them in hopes that they can be addressed for future guests: My husband had to ask for toilet paper twice during a four-night stay (kind of silly, but that's a basic need that should be available in abundance). The wifi connection was very weak, as well. The hot water heater probably deserves some attention, too, as the temperature never rose above lukewarm. These are all things that can be corrected pretty easily and I think they will make a big difference to guests. Overall, you can tell the owners take pride in this inn, but there is definitely some maintenance that needs to take place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amincey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A big thank you to Ann, Edie, Chris, Amanda, and Chef Rory! Sorry if I missed anyone. All of you made me feel so welcome. Great service, from excellent breakfast choices to wonderful martinis, to spotless accomodations, front desk warm welcome and goodbye. I love this place and will return soon. Thank you for a relaxing and fun visit!

Room Tip: A $15 bar tab is included per night's stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mackielacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Casablanca twice now. Both experiences were top notch! Our last stay was 2012 during the Christmas Season and the B&B was beautifully decorated. The staff were all more than helpful and very pleasant. Our 2nd stay was on the 2nd floor at the back of the main building. Beautiful, comfortable room. Breakfast was delicious! We never had a wait, walked right into the dining area and were seated immediately. This B&B is in the perfect location. Loved the Tini Bar. I will return to this B&B again and again.

Room Tip: Upstair rooms or rooms on the opposite side of the tini bar will offer you the quietest stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathryn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have to give the manager, Amanda, huge props! After having been given the run around around by a few other B&B's in town I was loosing any hope we'd find a room, but Amanda went above and beyond to help my husband and I get a room at the Inn during the GOTR Stopover this past weekend. Big thank you Amanda!!!

This was our first B&B experience and we really enjoyed our stay. The room were stayed in was cozy and comfortable, almost like we were staying at a relatives home. The bed was a sleep number bed and one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in while at a hotel. We had a semi private porch with comfortable chairs and a love seat outside as well. Oh and almost forgot to mention you have actual KEYS to your room. When is the last time you had a key to get in your hotel room!? We just thought that was really cool.

Breakfast in the morning was served buffet style with fresh fruit, muffins, eggs, home fries, sausage, blueberry pancakes and a few other things. For beverages you are offered coffee, tea, water, OJ and mimosa's. They have seating on the porch overlooking the bay or inside as well. The staff and chef were great and made you feel welcome to be there.

The bonus feature to the inn is the martini bar on site and as a guest you get a $15.00 credit per night, per room to spend at the bar. The bikini martini was my drink of choice during our stay and WOW was is good. They have a huge list of martini's, there is sure to be one to please everyone. If martini's aren't your thing, they also have a good selection of beer. Again, just like everyone else, the bartender and waitstaff at the Tini Martini bar were wonderful.

Thank you to everyone at the inn, you have customers for life!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here with my husband in July 2013 . We were able to reserve a room for one night , sorry we didn't stay longer. We stayed in the Secret gardens and it was lovely. The apartment had a bedroom with a king size sleep number bed , a separate sitting room with couch and tv and small seating area with a microwave and refrigerator. We received a $15 voucher to use in their Tini Martini bar, and parking and continental breakfast were also included. Both a big plus, parking is hard to find on St George street and the breakfast was a full brunch with drink included. The location is close to all the tourist spots in St Augustine , the Fort, St George's street, Flagler college. Walking distance to everything!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank golizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for our anniversary weekend (August 2013) for two nights in room 5.

Cons:
The outside entrance (a bit surprising) to our room was located at the back of the inn near the small loading/unloading driveway. Throughout the day we heard crunching of gravel and thumping on the ramp to the back entrance. The room was quite humid at first (bought dehumidifying bags to alleviate) with only a window A/C unit, but that's to be expected in such an old building. The hand towel holder was coming out of the wall, hanging by the bottom screw. The other racks in the bathroom were also loose. The shower was very small, but otherwise had updated amenities and plenty of hot water and pressure! We got to breakfast both days around the time they started serving at 8:15. For what we paid we expected a little better quality food, but it was still pretty good, with plenty to go around. The Inn parking lot on Hypolita Street was a tight squeeze with a large tree in the middle, which was right in front of our assigned parking space; luckily we have a small car.

Pros:
The initial cons were off-putting, but in the end the room was comfortable and the location can't be beat (walking distance to practically all downtown popular spots)! Yes it's their smallest room but the Inn states that openly and we'd planned to spend most of our time out anyway. The view from the veranda is very pretty and made for a great eating spot during breakfast. The nightly bar credit ($15/night) included in the price of the room was a nice and convenient perk. The bar has a nice atmosphere and good bartenders (but frequented by locals so busier than expected).

If there is one thing we could change, the price would be lower, but that's what you get when you're in a touristy area of America's oldest city.

Most of the cons we listed are minor after such a romantic weekend!

Room Tip: The farther you are from the lobby the less noise you'll get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bella Bay Inn
The Bella Bay Inn
#53 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
BEST WESTERN Bayfront
#35 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn on the Bay

Property: Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Address: 24 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn on the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty-two luxury suites and rooms in a panoramic bayfront location in historic St. Augustine. Enjoy Matanzas Bay views, whirlpool baths, private porches and sundecks, decorative fireplaces, private entries,and peaceful luxury. Our Tini Martini Bar features a full palette of fine wines and liquors, as well as fabulous martinis, beers and views onto the stunning bay front. Guests can enjoy these views as well as a $15 credit at the Tini Martini Bar plus a $25 credit towards breakfast or lunch in our restaurant Brunch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casablanca Inn On The Bay Hotel Saint Augustine
Casablanca Inn On The Bay b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing