We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed....with the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed....with the staff”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The location was great! Beautiful view. Bathroom was a bit small and low shower head. The issue we had was the construction behind the hotel. We checked in at 2:30 (which was nice of them) but at 4 p.m. construction started with a loud generator. We were leaving at the time but just let it go. Came back around 8 p.m. and construction was still happening. Contacted the front desk and they apologized and said they knew nothing about it! I dont know how because there was a huge hole that didn't magically appear. They said they would look into it. No phone call back. The construction noise started again at 8 a.m. with a jack hammer!! I called the front desk and the employee acted like he didnt care and knew nothing about it. He said to call best western's 1-800#. It would have been nice to notify us upon check-in. They also charge a random amount for supposed incidentals. Not right either!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for giving us this valuable feedback. We apologize for the noise from Street late that night, however the hotel cannot control street noise. There was also no notification to the front desk about disturbances from other guests, which the hotel has security for. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    242
    132
    80
    53
See reviews for
219
367
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle of the woods, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

When we arrived it was difficult to find a place to park and parking got worse later. At checkin we were given a welcome bag with two waters and a small bag of potato chips for some reason. Checkin was smooth with the first surprise. Our reservation confirmation said "Additional Fees Which May Be Charged At Check-in: $0.00 " so was surprised to see $7.00 per due plus sales tax added for parking.

Room was ok. Only real complaint was the small wobbly toilet seat. I have never seen a toilet seat that thin and smaller than the actual toilet. Rest was a good basic room as we expected.

Checked at the front desk about breakfast location and time and was told they only have coffee. What? Surprise number 2, website states a Continental Breakfast!!! First two mornings got the coffee with no problem a little after 6. Third morning, office was locked with no one in sight. Stood around awhile and someone showed inside and coffee was ready about 6:30.

When getting coffee in the morning the parking lot was overfull. Some people were completely parked in and could not have left if they wanted. It was difficult to get out of a parking spot and then to find a path to exit. And we paid extra for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoGlenn_and_Sweetsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. It was a pleasure to have served you during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for this valuable feedback. It really allows us to laser in on where we can do better and grow as a company. I would also like to extend my deepest apologies for the experience you had with our parking and coffee. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding customer service and it seems we did not live up to that standard. I have personally spoken with the team members.I can assure you that we have addressed this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I will start off by saying that the place needs to be updated! starting with the staff at the front desk staff! The parking is ridiculous, if your going to want to depart early in the morning, better park on the outsides of the lot! The location is perfect! short drive to the beach, right across from Fort and bay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not making your stay wonderful. As the leader of our Best Western team, it my job ensure that all guests have the best stay possible. We hear you loud and clear and will take the proper steps to improve on the area you mentioned. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunnell, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

There is no better place to stay when staying over in St. Augustine then the Best Western Bayfront Inn! You can not match the location it is PERFECT! You are with in walking distance to almost all of the historic locations and only a short hop & and a skip to in our opinion the best place to eat when in St. Augustine "Harry's". We stayed in room 217, It was clean and very cozy. We had a nice view from our window where we were able to see the bay which of course is beautiful. We could not find one thing wrong with the Inn, our room was great, pool was very clean & refreshing on a humid hot day, sitting on the veranda over looking the bay was wonderfully relaxing and beautiful watching the boats go by and all of the staff were very friendly which always is a plus. Parking is tight but it was a relief to just be able to leave the car at the Inn and not have to worry about finding a parking spot which are hard to come by in St. Augustine! We would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If given the choice I would pick a room on the second floor for a nice view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justme32110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Hopefully next time you will be able to stay with us for a longer period of time and enjoy our beautiful city. I look forward to serving you in the future and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here 05/07/14. We don't like to drive at night in unfamiliar places and we wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance to the bars and restaurants. The manager was very friendly, the room was very well stocked with amenities, in room coffee, etc. but it was small and although it was clean on the surface, the carpet was really dark and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. Suffice it to say, we never walked around barefoot. The pool area is very small but again, it looked clean enough. I thought it very nice that there was a computer set up in the small lobby/office that guests could use. Again, they try very hard and it wasn't awful, but for the price they may want to shampoo the carpets a bit more often and remove some of the clutter in the room.

Room Tip: There is no elevator for the second floor and all doors are outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4dpkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear : Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review. We appreciate your valuable feedback, and will address the concerns stated in your review. Thank you so much and we hope to serve you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Fantastic location from which to see the sights. Within short walking distance to the Castillo, Ripleys, St. George Street. Parking is very limited and tight - but we checked in early (our room was ready hours before the advertised check-in time) and got a parking space. There was an extra charge of $7 but that was fine - many of the lots around the area charge $10/day. We didn't need to move the car after that. It's within a short walking distance to the Visitors Center and the trolleys and trains.

The room was clean and comfortable. On the down side, our room was on the end, so we got the Saturday night noise from the bar on the other side of the narrow little street outside. And every time the toilet flushed it sounded like a jack hammer for a few seconds. But it is an old place, and we were tired out from walking - so none of that mattered.

I would definitely stay there again - great location!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room that backs up to the bar outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Karen: Thank you so much for taking the time to post this wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that we have delivered a great experience for you during your trip to historic Saint Augustine. It was a pleasure to have served you and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wonderful location right near Lion's bridge, with a lovely covered veranda on the second floor that overlooks the water. Rooms are fine, breakfast is not offered, and the parking is difficult. They charge extra for parking, and then we were asked in the evening to move our car. The desk manager has to shuffle the cars around as new guests arrive and leave. Very inconvenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinthegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a thorough review of our hotel. It was definitely a pleasure to have serve you during your recent trip to historic Saint Augustine. I am also happy to read that our location was ideal for exploring the area, and that our property ranks as one of the top Best Western Inn you've stayed with. We look forward to your return and I hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#35 of 78 in St. Augustine
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Property: Best Western Bayfront
Address: 16 Avenida Menendez Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing