We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will pay for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for 1 night 4/6/14. We payed $150 for the night - they graciously waved the $7 parking fee, I don't know if that's normal or not. It is a very convenient location - you can walk to all points of interest in the Historic Area. Because parking in St. Aug is problematic, this is a real plus. There is a small common area overlooking the bay which provides a nice view to those who wish to leave their rooms and stroll over to it. The rooms were clean. The bed was comfortable. BUT the rooms were small. The door was difficult to open. The bathroom was small and had the shower/tub combination which I feel should be outlawed - just too dangerous. The motel was recently purchased by Best Western and the architecture is 50/60's style Florida motor court with all the faults inherent in that style. There is an ice-machine and soda machine - that's it. No breakfast either. If you do stay there I can recommend the no-frills breakfast joint next door called "Mary's". Good breakfast, good price.

Room Tip: We stayed in 204 and it was peaceful and close to the patio area overlooking the bay.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear James: Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not making your stay wonderful. As the leader of our Best western team, it my job ensure that all guests have the best stay possible. We hear you loud and clear and will take the proper steps to improve on the area you mentioned. Thank you! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Bayfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 800 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is a block from fort Castillo de san Marcos, a few blocks from the city marina and touring Spanish ships, and a block from all the shopping and food at St George Street. Walk across the street and sit by the water to watch sailboats go by or sit on your own balcony. When you get there, park and walk to everything. There is also a trolley that stops in front every 20 minutes you buy an all day pass for. Room was on the small side but adequate since we were out mostly. The room and bathroom looked clean, but as we left we notified them that the carpet needed cleaning. It turned our socks black. I researched a lot of prices before we went. Best price of the hotels or bed and breakfast places. Definitely where we will stay next time we go there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

I am so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the amenities we have to offer. Our Sun Deck has the most breath taking views of the River. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. It is truly and pleasure to take care of guest, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you should you return to our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Terribly small. accommodating staff. parking fee. no breakfast. Terrible fee. Close to walk to stuff. Everything from the lobby to the room was way undersized to Best Western standards. Stays in New Mexico were only slightly less comfortable. Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Kelley : I apologize for your recent experience at our property. As other reviewers will note, this hotel delivers some of the best experiences in the Historic District. Please contact me and we will be more than happy to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We went to St. Augustine for an overnighter. Thanks to TripAdvisor, we narrowed down our lodging choices and picked the Best Western Bayfront Inn. I am so glad we did! The location is not only in the heart of the historic downtown, the view and breeze from being directly across from the water made the stay very pleasant. This is truly a Bay Front hotel. We parked our car and never used it until we checked out. You are within walking distance to nearly everything you would want to see and do. If you want to venture out further, or just take a ride, purchase trolly tickets right at the hotel front desk. There is a trolly stop directly in front of the hotel! We did just that - We bought our trolly tickets right when we checked in. Since we were only there overnight, this was a real time saver. The check in was easy and the staff was friendly and patient with all of our questions. Check out was just as pleasant too.
Our room was just what we expected from reading previous reviews. Cozy, clean, updated and plenty of towels and toilettes. The bed was comfortable and there was no problem sleeping in the next morning. We sat outside in the chairs provided directly in front of the room. Nice to relax and watch the boats on the water - and people watch too. We even saw a huge sailing ship cruising with all 3 sails to the wind! There is a mini-fridge which we made use of - we put our freezer packs in the upper "ice" rack to keep frozen for the drive home the next day - and yes they did stay frozen and our drinks stayed cold. There is a microwave too. You are able to open the front window and small window in the back and get a cross breeze if you wish.
Although we did not have an issue with noise, my suggestion would be to be to ask for a room away from the pubs/restaurants directly behind the hotel if this may be an issue for you. Our room happened to be directly behind a cigar bar that had late night jazz band - not a problem for us - the music was good and when we went to sleep we closed the window turned on the AC fan.
When we return to St. Augustine we will definitely stay at the Best Western Bayfront Inn - but for more than only one night this time!
Thank you to the management and staff - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: If evening noise may be an issue for you, choose a room that does not have the pub/bars directly beh...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromTampaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for these gracious comments about our hotel. We absolutely want to deliver the best guest service possible, and it provides us with motivation to know just how much we can positively influence the guest experience. I would like to thank you again for recognizing our staff and the services they provide. Our 'Historic View' rooms can make any stay more memorable and I am so happy that you were able to see the city through that lens. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The location for this hotel is terrific. We parked our car and did not have to use it again unless we were leaving town. We were in walking distance to historic St. Augustine, great stores and restaurants.
The view is beautiful. They have a balcony for guests on the second floor that overlooks the bay and it is so relaxing there. However, the room adjacent to the balcony (room 201) gets a bit of the noise from the guests on the balcony. I would not want that room. Our room was rather small, but our friend's room was a nice size. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet. I would suggest that you check out the room before you check in as they are not all the same and some are definitely much better than others for the same price. We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DakotaBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

It is great to get such positive feedback from our hotel guest. We are always happy to accommodate and upgrade anyone whenever it is possible. I am proud to hear that the staff was very friendly and that your experience was enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A two-night stay was very pleasant. Yes, bathroom was small but nice fluffy towels and very helpful and pleasant staff. Home cooked breakfast. Comfy bed and pillows and a comforter for the cool nights.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 118 near the office on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsha3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thank you so much for your gracious comments. We really appreciate you for taking the time to give us this valuable feedback. I'm am happy to hear that your trip to Saint Augustine was a delightful experience, and that our hotel played a major part in that experience. It was certainly a pleasure to serve you. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

After a planned trip to NAS JAX, we decided to do an overnighter in St. Augustine for the serious history and sights. We chose this facility on short notice and don't regret it. Yes, the bathroom was a little small, but all was clean. The night staff was helpful and knowledgeable

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

It was our pleasure to take care you during your stay last week. I am happy to hear that we left a great impression on you and that you will be back to see us. Thanks again for taking the time write this review, and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#38 of 78 in St. Augustine
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#51 of 78 in St. Augustine
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $110 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing