We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel primarily due to its location. Was pleased that the positive reviews were spot on.

Room was not huge, but was cozy. Had a king size bed, desk/chair, an upholstered chair, mini fridge, microwave, coffee pot & closet. Bathroom with small vanity, tub and small window for ventilation. I know others complained rooms were small, but I'm not there to be in my room all day.

Room was clean. Plenty of towels, pillows and blankets. Recommend room on the same side of the hotel office, as the trolly runs down the street next to the other side of hotel & it could possibly be an issue if you sleep during the day.

Hotel staff were pleasant & answered our questions. Recommend purchasing trolley tickets for the orange & green trolley. The hotel sells the tickets and the trolley picks you up right in front of the hotel.

The fort is only a couple of minutes to walk to. There are also several restaurants next to hotel.

Parking is a bit cramped, but somehow they make if work. You don't really need to use your car to go anywhere, particularly if you use the trolley.

Overall, I would recommend. Think we'll be repeat customers the next time we come for a visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank zhillsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for the awesome review. This provides us with so much motivation to keep delivering on the things you have outlined in your review. Delivering the best customer service in the hospitality industry is our goal, and our purpose is to make our guest happy. Thank you for the support, and will be sure to acknowledge everyone listed in this review. I look forward to your return, and another opportunity to accommodate your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 851 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

I almost always stay in a Best Western when traveling. This particular Best Western room had an extremely small bathroom and just not the quality you find in most Best Western King rooms. The location was great, the bed was comfortable and the television was nice, but that is about all I can say that was good about this room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sabraj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not making your stay wonderful. As the leader of our Best Western team, it's my job ensure that all guests have the best stay possible. We hear you loud and clear and will take the proper steps to improve on the area you mentioned. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great place. great staff, petite rooms, fair price, excellent location, small bathrooms, what else can i say, i will recommend this place and will be back. I haven't heard any noise, all the restaurants and attractions are walking distance, don't be lost as there are 5 different best westerns, stay at the one right in historic area, across from the Fort and bridge of lions.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleonora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for the great words about the hotel. When a guest comes back by choice we know we are doing it right. There are so many options today it really is about comfort and how you are treated. Our team is great and they enjoy what they do, that makes it easier. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great place to stay, on the bay with a beautful sun rise, can walk to many place there, Private resturante attached to the Best Western a very good place to eat. We could get the toure out front of St Augsetine. many fine eating places with in walking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Raymond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Raymond: Thank you for your support! Our location is Ideal for getting out and enjoying the historic district. Our staff is amazing, and outstanding customer service is what we specialize in! Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Location is excellent,walk to everything.Rooms very clean,rooms good size with microwave and frig,beds the best.Bathroom very very small.Parking can be a bit tight but someone is there to help out.Would be nice if they offered some type of complementary breakfast.Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank scottl926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Scott: It is always a pleasure to serve our most loyal guests. I'm sorry that we didn't wow you this time cuz of breakfast, but if you give another opportunity we won't just meet your expectations, because our aim is to exceed them. Thank you for your valuable feedback and loyalty to the brand. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location, fearing that it looked like an older property and may not be in good condition. It also had received some not-so-positive reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel, looking like a two storey motel, is well maintained and managed, shows pride of ownership throughout and offered a very credible place to stay in downtown St. Augustine, which is one beautiful old city, well worth visiting, more than once, al least for us.

The hotel sits on a large block of land offering a significant amount of room for parking and the owners use it well. Cars are jammed in, but the system works. The parking attendant knew what he was about. The rooms are somewhat smaller than normal for more modern properties, but they are not tiny - the site calls them 'cosy' and that is well expressed. There is room for everything you need, a place to put your luggage included, but there is no room to waste. The amenities and décor were useful and attractive, microwave included. Unlike many (most?) Best Westerns, this one does not offer an included breakfast, as we had expected, so please be aware.

The only negative was in the bathroom. The fixtures and general décor were updated and spotless, but the tiny window was broken and dirty, with much mould forming around the edges. We pointed this out to the front desk clerk - hopefully it has been cleaned by now. It was a small item, but worth attending to.

So if you want a modest but clean hotel, fairly priced and located in the middle of the most attractive part of downtown St. Augustine, you cannot do much better than the Best Western Bayfront. We would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a room on the ground floor. And if noise from the street bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_CornerBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear John: Thank you! I am happy that you were able to interact with our awesome staff, and enjoy our wonderful location. It was definitely a pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your return. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

we did receive a very good service from Carlos at the front desk. very polite and well mannered person

hotel location is very nice.

however, it needs to be refreshed. new carpets etc..........

should also have sheet cover that you replace (wash) every day (like Hampton Inn)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

It was great to read that you found the staff to be friendly, helpful and the overall facility was nice. I did wanted to thank you for pointing out some areas where we can improve and must fix immediately. Thank you for the review, and will see you in soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 79 in St. Augustine
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $140 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing