We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed here February 2014 and had a great stay. The pillows were comfortable; the bed firm and the room quiet. The bathroom was small but clean. (The previous reviews must be before the renovation.) We showed up on a Tuesday with no reservation and were given a great room facing the bay. They charge $7.00 for parking BUT it is well worth it because you can walk everywhere of interest and there is no parking near the usual touring sites. In fact, they told us we could leave our car in their lot as long as we wanted even after we checked out at 11:00am. We toured all day and went back to pick up our car at 4:00pm with no issues. Our room was lovely and much better than the photos appear.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Rhiannon: Thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we appreciate you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear that you will be staying with us again, and we look forward to accommodating you!...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 817 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

I went to St. Augustine for a mini romantic getaway with my hubby over the MLK holiday. The location of the inn/motel is phenomenal. The second floor sitting area directly overlooks the bay and its steps from the Castilo De San Marcos. The convenience of the inn makes up the lack of standard amenitys ie...soap, shampo, a regular sized hair dryer.
We did switch rooms upon check-in ; the first room had a musty smell like an old beach hotel. Overall the room was clean and beds were comfortable.
The only issue we experienced was the front desk staff not communicating our request for a late check-out at 11:30am with maid staff. The maid staff keep knocking on our door every 20 mintues starting around 10:00am. It was a slightly awkward when your trying to take a shower. :-)

I would recommend this inn for an overnight stay only...its a no fuss no frills place but its afordable and the locaton great.

Room Tip: The parking is seven dollars per night and its a better than trying to find meter parking on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for not making your stay wonderful. As the leader of our Best Western team, its my job ensure that all guests have the best stay possible. We hear you loud and clear and will take the proper steps to improve on the area you mentioned. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were looking for just a cheap, clean and convent place to stay for the night. We were very pleased with the price, service and cleanliness of the room. Even more impressed with the beds. We like to walk instead of drive so the location was perfect. We will defiantly book again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlebit41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear guest: thank you for your very kind comments about your stay; I am very glad to know that we were able accommodate you. My staff and I appreciate you recommending our beautiful hotel; we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This Inn was recommended to us and were we glad we stayed here. Great restaurants and local history was all within walking distance. Hotel was neat , clean and very accommodating. Staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Do your self a favor and stay here, especially if you have kids.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you very much Jerry for your review! I am delighted to read that you were happy with our hotel. We would like to thank you for providing us with the opportunity to be of assistance; your comments will be shared with our management staff. If travel brings you back to Saint Augustine, feel free to contact me, we would love to welcome you again at The Best Western Bayfront Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a very nice facility, right on the main road next to the bay. All of the rooms face the water (across the highway). As SJP1 said, the bathroom was very very small, but clean, with fluffy towels. We had a king bed, comfortable with nice linens and blankets. As other reviewers have said, the best thing was the proximity to the historic St. Augustine. It's very walkable and the property is right across from the Castillo and within easy distance to restaurants and historical attractions. We were only here for one night and it was very nice for our stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the parking lot and have a view of the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts in detail regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to serve our guests and I am happy to see that we took great care of your needs. As, stated our location can't be beat, and we have the an awesome staff to accommodate your every need. I look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Though centrally located to downtown St Augustine, the rooms were dated, malodorous, and noisy. Staff had our reservations wrong, and it took two conversations with them to get it straight. In addition to limited parking, there is a parking fee and no breakfast. We had to change rooms and the room we were moved to had a poor view of the bay, with one window looking onto the roof of the building next door. Terrible value, particularly with other motels within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest: I apologize for your recent experience at our property. As other reviewers will note, this hotel delivers some of the best experiences in the Historic District. Please contact me and we will be more than happy to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Decent hotel with a fantastic location. I've not stayed in a Best Western in a long time so I can't compare this one with other ones. However, the prime location was what made this place. We parked the car when we checked and walked everywhere. I do have a few complaints but keep in mind that we price checked the Hilton next door and it was a lot more expensive so you know why. The carpet in our room was dirty. It appeared that it was in need of a very good vacuuming. We tried to keep socks/shoes on when in the room. Also, the bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen. We are not huge people so I'm not sure how bigger guys would use the shower…it was tiny. The bed was very comfortable, there was a decent flat screen TV in the room. But again the main thing is you can walk everywhere; attractions, restaurants, etc, etc. Not fancy but for a little get away it was just fine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest: It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location, and had a good nights sleep. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you in the future, and it was a pleasure having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#40 of 78 in St. Augustine
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $139 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing