We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, parking extra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a ground level room with a king-size bed toward the back. Booked the room for Christmas Eve stay with a corporate rate for about $100. I was surprised that parking is extra, this wasn't mentioned in the reservation, but they said it was on their own website. The location is very convenient at which to park and walk to the sights. The room was small but adequate for our needs, clean and quiet with working appliances. This is not the only hotel we've stayed at with a small bathroom, but I'm 6'4" and the shower worked well for both of us. Several great restaurant and bar choices nearby so I'm not even aware if the hotel had breakfast or not. There is also an outdoor lounging area upstairs from the lobby where people socialize overlooking the bay. Possibly the only drawback is that, while the staff were responsive to issues, I felt like I spent a lot of time in the lobby and still came up shorthanded on information about the area attractions such as the Trolley that is supposed to stop there but doesn't. I suppose it could have felt cramped if we were moving in for a week or if we were expecting Bed & Breakfast type service but otherwise a great place to stay and the corporate rate was great value for the holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest: It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location, and had a good nights sleep. I hope we have another opportunity to serve you in the future, and it was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 824 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have been to St Augustine many many many times. We usually stay on the beach but we were coming off a Disney vacation and wanted to relax a little in St A for a couple nights. We've always thought it would be great to stay on the bay and walk around the town. Not have to load and unload the kids out of car seats, find parking, etc. Just walk out the door and enjoy the town. We did do that, but I can't say much good about this hotel. We knew it was older (although it had been updated) so we didn't expect perfection. But we didn't expect filthy floors either. They were sticky dirty! We have bedroom slippers we use only for vacations- INCASE they get so dirty they cannot be washed- which is what happened here. I threw them away after this trip. 1st time we've ever had to do that. We just left another resort for a week and our slippers were still clean after walking all over that house...for 7 nights. After TWO nights here they were black as sut on the bottom. Now, we were not skating around the room the whole time. We were out in town. This was just from the few minutes we were in getting ready for bed/dressing in the morning. The carpet and tile were sticky. You could hear the stickiness with every step. They haven't been mopped or shampooed in forever. I went to the front desk about it and she only apologized. I asked for at least a small credit back and she said we were already discounted. BUT that is an AAA discount that we PAY for. Not a discount the hotel gave us as some sort of favor. We pay for AAA and we expect our rooms to be as clean as any other person paying full price. We looked online at this hotel before we arrived. Pictures are deceiving. It looks nice, but it's not. The bathrooms were the size of a refrigerator. Unless you are the size of a twig, your legs touch the toilet trying to get IN the bathroom and shut the door. Smallest baths we have ever seen. The doors could be reversed to open out instead of in, so you don't have to squeeze between the toilet and tub to get in there. The only thing this hotel has going for it are the beds- slept great. Sheets and towels smelled clean. And location- PERFECT. We would definitely stay here from now on, had it been cleaner. They obviously don't realize the money they could be making if they kept it CLEAN. It should be booked solid all the time with the location that it's in. Another thing that needs to be stopped- the construction workers hanging around staring at people. I have no idea if they were actually working there, staying there, or some stray men hanging around. There were also a few staying a couple rooms down from us. Smoking constantly. Every time we went out the door, there they were-half dressed, no shoes, smoking and glaring at all of us. We were very uncomfortable. Couldn't even sit out on the balcony. Very disappointed in this hotel. It gets 2 stars from us- one for the bed, the other for location. ZERO for everything else. I don't see how anyone else can give this place an excellent rating, unless they live like that at home

Room Tip: check the room before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flossy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We are very sorry for the unpleasant experience that you had at our property. This extremely uncharacteristic of what our guest experience at our property as other reviewers will attest. The issues you raised will be addressed and I apologize on behalf of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have stayed in the past at other Best Western in St Augustine and always found them to be well run efficient hotels. The Bayfront is no exception, in fact the amenities and sunrise views are spectacular, not a fancy hotel but you more than get your moneys worth. Clean and quiet and very central.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We really appreciate your feedback concerning our property and staff. The location we have is fantastic for tours, site seeing, and restaurants. Thank you for posting this review, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a great older hotel in the historic district so well within walking district to all the attractions in St. Augustine. Most views from the second floor rooms include the bay front, and the pool is nice for cooling off after a day of sightseeing. The bathrooms are small, but the beds are really comfy and hotel staff are very nice. The south side of the hotel can be a little noisy in the evenings due to an outdoor bar across the street, but we come to this property with our teenage kids at least once a year, and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest: It is great to hear that our local guest appreciates the experience of our property. Thank you so much for taking the time post this review, and we hope to serve you in the future. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Best Western make over is an improvement. The rooms are still small but clean and everything worked. Staff was helpful. It is probably the most convenient place to stay as it is close to the major attractions.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a bit of a view from the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear Guest: Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel. We really enjoy taking care of our guests, especially the ones who are returning to spend the time with us. I really look forward to serving you and your family in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year with no problems but this time there were bugs (told they were harmless sugar ants) all over the night stand and dining table. Management didn't seem to care. The rug was so dirty we kept our shoes on. This is off our list of places to stay even though the location is wonderful.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Mck71brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest: I apologize for your recent experience at our property. As other reviewers will note, this hotel delivers some of the best experiences in the Historic District. Please contact me and we will be more than happy to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Best Western has completely remodeled the old Monterrey Inn. It is new and cleaner. They added a roof over the outside seating area which is wonderful. The staff were very friendly and efficient. This is the most convenient place to stay in St Augustine, right downtown, everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Nancy : We are all so very happy to hear that everything was great during your stay with us. I am proud to hear that you will be staying with us next stay! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#40 of 78 in St. Augustine
725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $140 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing