We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I must say I have stayed here many times before and after reading so many reviews it's amazing how I have never encountered any issues,the staff is very outgoing for us everytime from the front desk to the maid service.the rooms are always a plus and very clean I must say!i will gladly pay 7 dollars for parking beats paying at the other places,even though I don't recall paying parking.everyone seem to be so friendly.i will keep coming!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

First and foremost thank you Mark for choosing the Best Western Bayfront Inn, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive on customer service and we are happy you saw that.And hope Best Western Bayfront Inn falls into the planning again we will be more then grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 826 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived on Tuesday 4/23/13. Both sink and tub drained very slowly. Reported problem to desk on 4/24/13. Their response: "we will fix it today." That evening, the sink refused to drain at all. They gave us some bottles of water to brush teeth with; I demanded a comp-day for the inconvenience, and the manager agreed. The following day, they did fix the problem. When I came to check out of the hotel, there was no comp day, but I was able to convince the attendant that one was due me. Summary: poor maintenance, no communication among staff members.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thanks a lot for the review. I apologise for the plumbing issue. We will make sure on your next visit you dont have any issue .And I hope you will give us one more chance .
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We've stay at this motel before, some years ago, so, we decided on an impromptu trip to St. Augustine as the weather was nice. We checked into the motel - got hit with a $7.00 "parking fee". We were also offered a breakfast at the café next door for an additional $7.00 per person, we declined. Got our key and headed off to our room. When we opened the door, we got hit with a wet, musty odor and the carpets were damp - carpet cleaning? Perhaps! We got past that and decided to go out for dinner. Notified the front desk about the smell and upon our return from dinner and opening the door, we get bombarded with the smell of room deodorizer that would take an elephant down. We propped the door open to let the room air out and finally after airing out the room, we tried to get to sleep. All night long you get the sound or motorcycles or sirens or both. We finally decided to get up, shower and LEAVE! The shower was full of mold and again, the musty smell. The bathroom is tiny and seemed to be more of an after-thought. We check out and wondered around the town and happened on a lovely Bed & Breakfast. The price was about what we had spent at the Bayfront Inn, but, free, on-site parking, free custom order breakfast, free beverages including wine, beer and soft drinks a huge room with a real fireplace and a spacious bathroom with a whirlpool tub! Guess what, NO NOISE except the sounds of horse's walking by in the evening. We decided that we have found our place in St. Augustine, so, we spend our remaining week at this B&B and loved every minute of our stay. I see a few things wrong with the Best Western Bayfront! While this motel maybe "where the action is" that isn't necessarily a good thing, unless you like Harley's, sirens and people standing at your front door carrying on their conversations throughout the night. For the money, this place is really over-priced. I'd put this motel in the same category as a DAYS INN or MOTEL 8 and the room rate at about $59.00 per night. It certainly does not belong in the $100.00 per night range! The $7.00 per night parking fee makes no sense until you find out that this motel is owned by the same people as the Hilton down the street which also charges a parking fee. If you're staying at the Bayfront, where else are you suppose to park? The $7.00 breakfast can be had anywhere and a far better breakfast too. Try the Athena Greek Restaurant on Cathedral Street! Last, but by no means least, if you happen to be handicapped, which is our case, you're in trouble. A wheelchair cannot be used in the rooms (they are so small) or the bathrooms and this motel is NOT handicapped friendly, period! So, may I suggest that the next time you're in St. Augustine, try a bed & breakfast, instead!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhsataorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you , for taking your time and writing a review for our Inn.Me and my staff constantly working on how to make our guest stay pleasant. I apologise for the inconvinience cause to you,
I hope you give us one more chance and we will take care of your parking and breakfast.
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have stayed at this facility many times over the years and now that it is a best western I expected a little more. Yes i guess there is wifi in the public area but none in our room, I did manage to pick up Crucial Cafe pretty good. The rooms have been redecorated and look very nice, the TV is a flat screen and did have a remote, it would have been better of course if the remote actually worked, but it was clean.( did not feel like spending my time trying to get another remote) Staff was always nice and keep the place looking good. If you have never been here it is a great place to experience St Augustine, location is perfect, shoe horn your car into a parking spot and spend a few days walking the oldest streets in America.
Enjoy

Room Tip: If you want a bay view book very early and stay away from room 212 while a very nice room there is n...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

First and foremost thank you mike for choosing the Best Western Bayfront Inn, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive on customer service and we are happy you saw that.And hope Best Western Bayfront Inn falls into the planning again we will be more then grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - right across from the bay and a very short walk to the fort and all the restaurants and bars.

We were lucky enough to check in early when parking was plentiful, but the hotel soon got busy and the parking situation looked somewhat less than ideal - if you have a larger vehicle or arrive late this could be a problem (oh yes and it's $7 per night - which, in fairness, is a lot cheaper than neighboring hotels and at least they have parking which a lot of places don't)

Our room was pretty small, and was filled with a lot of very large furniture which made it feel very cramped indeed. The bathroom was similarly small, but ok, although the renovation looked a little sloppy in areas.

Air-conditioning was noisy but just about good enough - not sure I'd like to stay in the height of summer, however, as it seemed to be struggling at around 80 degrees.

There was a fridge in the room, which is always a bonus.

As mentioned before the location is great and it's nice to sit outside your room looking across at the bay. There is the potential for noise,however, both at the front of the hotel with the passing trolley and traffic, and at the back with all the businesses and bars. It was ok whilst we were there, however, and it was a pretty busy weekend.

We stayed two nights and on the second day were expecting a visit from housekeeping. Housekeeping did visit the room quite late on in the day but made only a very sloppy attempt at re-making our bed, and provided fresh toiletries and coffee - and that's it - no new towels or anything else - certainly no cleaning - a bit disappointing and not really worth bothering to be honest.

Would I stay again? Maybe, if the price was right. Location is really good, but the rest of the stay - not so much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PooksNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thanks a lot for taking your time out and writing a review for Best western Bayfront Inn Hotel, Me and my staff do our best to make our customers stay more comfortable and enjoyable, and we apologise about the room too small, as the property was built in 1950 we can't make that many changes but we try to update it completely. thank you and will you see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel right in the heart of it all, pick this one. Right across the street, you have the water and access to carriage rides. On all sides, you have shops and restaurants, and you can easily walk to the more historic parts of the city. If you'd rather ride, there's an Old Town Trolley stop right out front. Very convenient for everything!

The rooms are a little on the small side, but they are clean, have comfy beds with good pillows (hard pillows and soft pillows, so everyone is happy!), a fridge, and AC that works very well. What more do you really need?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks a lot Ollie Otson , for taking your time out and writing us a nice review. we are happy that you had a great stay at our Best Western Bayfront Inn, and we will like to see you again on your next visit.
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed 3 times in 6 months and I am never disappointed, The location is perfect and the rooms are very clean and modern. Yes parking is tight and it can be loud but you realize quickly when you arrive that this is not a country club resort. It's a nice hotel in a prime location doing the best they can do. The bonus for me is the bed. Very very comfortable!

Room Tip: Book your trolley tour with these guys to save time and money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

First and foremost thank you G P for choosing the Best Western Bayfront Inn, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive on customer service and we are happy you saw that.And hope Best Western Bayfront Inn falls into the planning again we will be more then grateful.
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#40 of 78 in St. Augustine
725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $140 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing