We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liz and Tony - NC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Cary, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Liz and Tony - NC”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location if you want to be in the middle of the action! Clean rooms, excellent parking, friendly staff! Cannons going off at the fort, live music, great restaurants, beautiful view of the bay...we are becoming regulars and looking forward to our next stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Liz and Tony your comments are appreciated. Thank you for choosing Best Western Bayfront Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. will see you on your next visit.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    242
    132
    80
    53
See reviews for
219
367
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfect location with bay across the street. Perfect for walking to restaurants. Rooms have been redone some but still had some older features such as the shower, very small. Hard to maneuver in the small space for toilet and shower. Can be expensive if you wait and book on arrival but deals can be found if done earlier.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachfromDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
As the General Manager, ensuring guest satisfaction is my main priority and we are glad that we able to satisfy yours. See you on your next visit
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

What a surprise to find this wonderful hotel in the midst of Historic St. Augustine. The Trolley stop is right out front. There's a delightful "mom & pop" restaurant next door (Mary's Harbor View) and Meehans Pub across the alley. the rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The price was right. The staff all the way from front desk to maid service were friendly and helpful.

The hotel recently went through a transformation from the Monterey Inn to a Best Western. the pool was too chilly to swim in as it was chilly in St. Augustine. We were able to walk to just about everything we wanted to see when we weren't using the trolley for transporation.

The view out the windows of the traffic on the river was very relaxing as well as when we waited for the trolley.

Room Tip: No elevators so if you need a first floor room request ahead of time - though it might be possible t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
First and foremost thank you Katherine for choosing the Best Western Bayfront Inn, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive on customer service and we are happy you saw that.And hope Best Western Bayfront Inn falls into the planning again we will be more then grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We needed a pet-friendly inn since our usual haunt was booked. The rooms had undergone a cursory improvement from the previous incarnation, Monterey Inn; I would hesitate to call it a remodel. It was reasonably priced, central to the Historic District, and clean. I say this in much the same manner folks describe a blind date as having a "nice personality." The rollicking pub next door was REALLY loud. Everybody in my family is physically fit, and it took a contortionist act to get in the bathroom and close the door. The on-site parking is limited, and I saw cars get blocked in by one hammerhead who decided to park in the driveway. That said, this was an okay experience. But there are still about five other places in the same area and price point that I would recommend before this one..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBucsGoRays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks a lot , for the review. I apologise for theparking, and as our hotel is in historic downtown,thats why the parking is bit tight. I hope you will give us one more chance.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Anicet, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were on our Honeymoon in St Augustine and walked into this hotel looking for a room. We were told one would be available later and we specifically asked if we could see it before we made up our minds. We were told yes and were asked for a credit card. We returned an hour later and were told that we still couldn't see the room. After lunch, we had decided to go further south so we returned to the hotel and informed the front desk that we wouldn't be needing the room after all and were informed by the manager that we would be charged $50 for cancelling our reservation. We did not realize that we had made a reservation and we had not seen the room as we had requested. We saw that arguing was pointless so we just said 'fine' and left. Now I find a charge for $55 on my credit card which I believe is unfair as we never said we would take the room sight unseen. This has left a bad taste in our mouths regarding Best Western hotels and I don't believe we will be staying in one again.

Jennifer Trudeau

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks a lot Jennifer for letting us know about the issue, I will personally make sure that your money is refunded. I apologise for that.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here April 2012 (during the conversion to best western) and really enjoyed our room and location. We are here now and everything looks good but the beds are hard but tolerable but for 209 a night, very high. We paid 130ish last year. We got in bed and realized wow we don't have a comforter!! It's a flat sheet, a fuzzy type cheap hotel blanket and another flat sheet on top with a decorative half sheet type thing on the end of the bed. We asked the front desk for a comforter and got another fuzzy blanket thing. Again, if I'm paying 209 a night the least you should have Is a comforter. Also an unmentionable hair on the toilet seat. I'm not saying we won't come back but I coul spend a few more dollars and stay at the Hilton also centrally located with bigger rooms, comfortable beds and actual bedding instead of layers of sheets. It's in the 30's now. I could really use that COMFORTER!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks a lot Camamo , for the review. I apologise for the comforter, as we have to follow some franchise guidelines. I hope you will give us one more chance and we will make sure about your comforter next time.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

the good is the location, the beautiful views and parking on site.
The staff was helpful when a problem arose. Wifi worked easily . the not so good was the tired appearance of the room and the tiny bathroom . No elevator to the second floor and the staircase is very narrow. voucher for breakfast at Mary 's next door is for a limited menu only for $7.00 ok, not great. Beds were comfortable, water was hot and pressure was good. some noise in the rear alley. also rooms in the front will suffer noise on the busy road.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have no elevator and stairs are narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank's a lot Shelburne for sharing your experience. I'm very happy that you enjoyed our historic Best western Bayfront Inn and your visit to Saint Augustine. Thank you for sharing a few very good tips, we will try our best to make some changes to make your next stay even more better.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#35 of 78 in St. Augustine
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
419 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Property: Best Western Bayfront
Address: 16 Avenida Menendez Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing