We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in town, St. Augustine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Bayfront
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great location, walk to most attractions, restaurants, shops. Staff was EXCELLENT, helpful and willing to make our stay the BEST is could be. Rooms have been recently refinished, beds are very comfortable. THANKS for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimusrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback!
As the General Manager, ensuring guest satisfaction is my main priority and we are glad that we able to satisfy yours. See you on your next visit
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 814 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Liltraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent New Years Day here and so glad the current owners decided to upgrade this great location. For anyone who has visited in the past, this was the old Monterey Inn, just across the street from the Castillo de San Marcos. The location can't be beat, and we have stayed there a number of times over the past 20 years (with varying degress of satisfaction.) Although they can't do anything about the size of the rooms (they are tight, and the bathroom is tiny) they have done a nice job giving the rooms a whole new look, and added microwaves and mini refrigerators. They have also updated the exterior with new paint, bricked parking lot and new cover and furniture for the deck. The desk staff is now friendly (not always true in the past). So if you liked the old location, give it a try. One small thing I would suggest, coffee and donuts in the lobby. We're used to getting at least that, and usually more of a breakfast included, even at the low end chains. Or, how about a complimentary coupon for coffee and a cinnamon bun at The Bunnery... they would probably split the cost for the promotion! I will once again be recommending this location to friends and visitors.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room in the center (be aware, no elevator) to get a good view of the bay. Avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cmanofcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review!
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The room was clean, updated and very comfortable and located in a great place, right across from the fort and Bridge of Lions. You can walk everywhere from this location. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newhar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly appreciate your business and hope you come back again soon. Enjoy the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We felt so lucky to be at this inn...great location, across from the water in downtown, historic St. Augustine. And, with only one night in St. Augustine, we spent little time in our room. We were on the go for a day and a half. However, (on the morning when we checked out after breakfast, when we returned to our room), there was water all over our bathroom floor. In addition, the bathroom sink had backed up and there was yucky, black residue in the sink. And, the sewer smell was present throughout our room. Our room was 104 on the first floor. It all happended while we were out of the room, so it is a mystery to us what the problem was. We reported the problem to the front desk, so we hope that they give corrective attention to this smelly water problem.
A hotel can make or break a trip for us...and this left us with a blah experience. We will not return to this place, and we do not recommend this inn......a disappointing Best Western experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ton_amie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

First and foremost thank you for choosing the Best Western Bayfront Inn, we appreciate your business. However, we wish that your stay was good. We apologize for the sink issue, We only hope that you give us one more chance. Happy Holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

In a great location to everything. Clean, but not fancy. Basic shelter for a reasonble price in a central location.
Enjoyed walking to all the key sites in town. Close to fort, village, and restuarants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank IVORY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thanks a lot Ivory, for giving us a great review. me and my staff always try to make our guest stay great. so we are glad we did it for you. thank you and see you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel is at least 50 years old, but was renovated when Best Western bought it a year or two ago. The rooms are small but clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. They have pillowtop beds, flat screen tv's, coffee maker, microwave, and minifridge. The location is a short walking distance to most of the historic sights and directly across the street from the bay. There is a lovely deck on the second floor for relaxing and enjoying the view. We were cordially greeted upon check-in. We had two rooms as we invited my elderly parents to come with us. We were given rooms next to one another. All four of us said this is where we will stay on return trips to St. Augustine. The only negative is parking can be challanging, but the location outweighs the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCR227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at Best Western Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Your comments are appreciated. Thank you for choosing Best Western Bayfront Inn. We are sorry for the parking inconvinience, we will make sure that we can take care of it on your next visit. will see you on your next visit.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#40 of 78 in St. Augustine
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
666 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayfront

Address: 16 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $139 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you sit on the sundeck of Best Western bayfront overlooking beautiful Matanzas Bay, you'll experience true St. Augustine-style relaxation. Located in the heart of the historic district, our St. Augustine, Florida Best Western Bay-front has a long family tradition of service and quality. Our many wonderful amenities include a swimming pool and delicious dining at our on-site café. For business travel, we feature Internet access, data ports and comfortable workspace in every room. We're also conveniently located adjacent to restaurants and just steps from some of the city's most interesting and exciting sights. For a romantic getaway, try our Honeymoon Room. Or bring the whole family and enjoy in-room conveniences such as cable TV, king - or queen-sized beds, and a refrigerator that's ideal for storing drinks and snacks. For exploring the city, enjoying the beach or simply unwinding, Best Western bay Front is your destination in St. Augustine. We have a $10.00 Parking fee per car per night. Our bay front hotel overlooks the Matanzas Bay and puts you within walking distance of the historic district, including the Spanish Quarter, the Castillo de San Marcos, St. George Street, and countless shops and restaurants well-suited to any taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Hotel Saint Augustine
Monterey Motel Saint Augustine
Monterey Bed Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing