We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay, perfect for people who like a quiet place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plant City, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay, perfect for people who like a quiet place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

My husband, mother in law and myself stayed in the Wilson Suite for two nights, August 29th and 30th, 2007. We were pleasantly surprised that it looked like it did in the photo that was on their website. Very clean and charming and the staff was wonderful. The museums, shopping and restaurants were all within walking distance. We can't wait to stay there again !!! I would recommend this B & B to everyone !!!

  • Liked — It was in the historic section and near shopping, museums and restaurants
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kjnjplantcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    109
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
178
731
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portimao, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

We have just arrived back from 3 weeks in Florida and Georgia. I've always wanted to visit St Augustine and it's the ideal place to experience an authentic Bed and Breakfast. As we were driving through the town, the houses just got prettier and prettier - I kept thinking "I hope it's this one", until we arrived at the St Francis - and my wish came true. It's absolutely beautiful from the outside and doesn't disappoint inside either. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more willing to please. The owner's son helped carry 2 heavy suitcases up the stairs, a bit of help that not every B & B (or hotel) offers nowadays. Each evening there was a happy hour with a different snack + wine. Later on there was a dessert on offer. The Inn is just slightly apart from the "city center", but the 2 short blocks we had to walk only added to our satisfaction, because we like to see local sights up close and also walk off the calories after a meal. Our room was the Garcia Suite, which gave us lots of extra space. We appreciated that breakfast (delicious) could be taken whenever it suited us, rather than at a set time, like many B & Bs. Our only complaint would be that the slats of the wooden blinds had a thick layer of dust.
We took a walking Ghost Tour, just because it seemed to be the thing to do, but unless you're with a group and having a laugh, it's quite a useless waste of money.
Loved St Augustine, loved the St Francis Inn.

  • Liked — Friendly service, nice pool to cool off in after a long hot day of tourism
  • Disliked — Bathroom mirror too small
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zilana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

My husband and I decided to go to the St. Francis for our honeymoon. Staying at a bed and breakfast was a new experience for both of us. The pictures that we found didn't do the inn any justice.
The staff was always helpful, including getting our door open at 5am (our lock broke while we were in the room). The Graham Room (were we stayed) was a very nice room. We liked the size and the price. The only drawback to the Graham Room is that it doesn't have a bathroom in the room (it has a private bathroom down the hall).
The staff makes sure you have everything you need and they always know where the best places to visit are. While we were there, they let us look at the other rooms. I have to say that all the rooms at that inn are beautiful.
They have a small but relaxing pool, a patio area that almost makes you feel like you're in a jungle, bikes that you can ride everywhere (I would definitely recommend taking the bikes around St. Augustine).
Overall, I would highly recommend the St. Francis Inn for honeymoons, family trips, or just a simple vacation.

  • Liked — The Atmosphere
  • Disliked — They were doing road work while we were there.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubbles0480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

This was the most wonderful place. I could never say enough wonderfull things about this inn.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee7SarasotaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 279 St George St, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing