We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodated My Food Allergies Beautifully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Accomodated My Food Allergies Beautifully”
Reviewed September 2, 2008

When I called the Inn to make our reservation, I mentioned that I was sensitive to wheat and dairy--I did not expect them to make special considerations for me, but I didn't want them to count me was an eater when they determined how much bread or cheesy eggs they needed to make. I was pleasantly surprised when the Innkeeper on the other end of the phone said, "oh! sure! I will tell our chef, he knows all about that; is it celiac sprue you have?"

I do not have celiac, but am quite intolerant of wheat and dairy. That the Innkeeper knew knew what celiac was gave me peace of mind, that I might be able to eat at the Inn afterall!

My boyfriend an I arrived at the inn to delightful champagne and chocolates in our room. We we went to the dining area for Social Hour, the Innkeepers addressed us by name before bringing to our table a special dish of hummus (so, dairy free) and gluten free crackers. Later that night, the Innkeeper pointed out to me the dessert which wouldn't treat me badly. For breakfast, I could eat hard boiled eggs and cut fruit from their bountiful buffet--the highlight there, definitely, was the incredible fresh squeezed orange juice!!

Everything was delicious, but the real treat was feeling so taken care of. When you have to be so careful what you eat, traveling can be tricky business. Nothing makes me feel more wonderful than when someone feeds me safely.

Beyond the food, the accommodations were comfortable and beautiful, the Innkeepers helpful, the location convenient and the other other guests friendly!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunymstard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    112
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
182
754
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grand junction
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2008

The St. Francis folks set us up at Harbor 26. The place was wonderful. It was clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the harbor below our back deck. The St. Francis folks treated us like royalty, taking us on a ghost tour,a sailboat cruise into the Atlantic and a tour of downtown hot spots. We really enjoyed ourselves. We went to the B&B for social hour for drinks and a wonderful tiramasu dessert. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. I would recommend the St. Francis Inn to anyone wanting to visit the oldest city in the United States.

  • Liked — comfort, location and activities provided by the staff
  • Disliked — i have absolutely no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmtransport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvalley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We had a marvelous time in St. Augustine, FL. We stayed a week at Harbor 26. The sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking. The condo was immaculate. The local resturants were fabulous. We went to the St. Francis Inn for social hour, including drinks and dessert. The staff was very friendly and knowledgable about the area and went above and beyond in booking a fun filled week for us, including a ghost tour and a cruise on the Schooner Freedom to name a few. Everything is very close to the Inn. I would highly reccomend this establishment.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff!
  • Disliked — there was nothing we didn't like.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Very friendly staff, awesome atmosphere. The breakfast was incredible. Rooms were very romantic and well decorated, and you get a complimentary bottle of sherry. Within walking distance to excellent dining.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Clinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

I never understood why people bought time shares. To return each year to the same location seemed unimaginative and boring with so many places to see. Yet we found ourselves back in St. Francis Inn for the second year in a row – and we can’t imagine not coming back. The Inn feels like home, if at home a friendly staff served delicious breakfast every morning, had snacks, wine and beer waiting for us at happy hour and dessert laid out in the sitting room when we returned from dinner. Sharing these times with the eclectic group of fellow visitors added to the experience.

Sherry, mints and sparkling wine were waiting in our antiques furnished room., plus a CD of piano love songs to celebrate our anniversary. We were lucky enough to be greeted by Zeke, the resident cat (after a little persuasion).The trolley stops a block away and we left our car in the parking lot (a rare thing in St. Augustine). We covered sights we missed the last trip and have more to go. If you need a fresh getaway again and again, this is the place. You’ll run into many repeat visitors. You can’t get a better recommendation than that.

  • Liked — The beautiful, historic inn.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnhingaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We just enjoyed a family retreat at the St. Francis Inn. Once again, this bed and breakfast was absolutely wonderful. The Saffrons Suite was the most comfortable suite you could ever imagine for three people to share. It is beautifully decorated and the largest that we had ever seen. Even Sully our cock-a poo enjoyed the amenities. Our son enjoyed the Graham room and felt that it was very comfortable for an excellent price. The breakfasts were yummy and bountiful, the social hour was very enjoyable, and the desserts were sinful! Lastly, the staff members really make this a great place to stay. Everyone was warm, friendly, and took care of our every request. Our family will continue to recommend the St. Francis Inn to others and we will be back!

  • Liked — Food, location, amenities, staff
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cockymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, FL
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

My husband & I were looking for a nice weekend away and we found it at the St. Francis! Perfect hospitality, wonderful room (we stayed in the Saffron Suite!), nice bedding, great A/C, all the amenities you could want. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated with all the extras you could need. (Two TV's, DVD, Internet connections, microwave, fridge, unlimited tea, water, etc.)The staff went out of their way to make the stay wonderful. The breakfasts are superb with many options where to eat them! The cocktail hour and dessert hour are a wonderful touch. The Inn is a short walk to everything and we parked the car safely Friday morning and didn't move it until Sunday afternoon. You can easily walk to museums, shopping, eateries, etc. We used the bikes to ride to St. Augustine Beach and enjoy the Lighthouse tour (both complimentary with your stay!) and enjoyed lunch at The Gypsy Taxi Company (you will not be disappointed with the Cuban Wrap!!). While my husband napped, I was able to enjoy the pool and some sun. We returned home relaxed and rejuvenated!!

  • Liked — Privacy and peaceful setting.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingRNLargo_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 279 Saint George St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing