We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd Wonderful time at the Inn!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“3rd Wonderful time at the Inn!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

This is my third time staying here at the inn. I had a friend coming to visit and wanted to know where we could go for historical sightseeing. So, we made our way to the St. Francis Inn. We stayed in Anna's Room and it was cozier than ever. Social hour was great and the desserts later were delicious. We met others that were enjoying their stay as well. The breakfast is plentiful to get us ready for the long sightseeing day! Our bed was comfy and the shower inviting. I can never seem to say enough great things about this inn!!! Also, we arrived early and were able to get in our room a little before scheduled! Accommodating staff! Always with a helpful hand and sincere smile! Again, it was wonderful!

  • Liked — The amenities
  • Disliked — The pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalieh2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    108
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
177
723
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Great B & B with good amenities.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EtownMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

Called at the last minute to book a room for our 15th wedding anniversary. We would have booked by the Internet but it was last minute and we had questions. We had never really stayed in a bed and breakfast before and were a little nervous but the reviews here sounded wonderful so we decided to try it. We had never been to Saint Augustine before and we found ti to be a place we will visit many times. We had a wonderful experience with this room and with the sites and shopping.

We arrived early before check in and we were able to park our car and leave it until check in which was great (we saw parking in town for $6.00 a day). It is a short walk from the St Francis to everything. We were only staying for a night and elected not to buy the three day trolley pass (which we will get next time when we stay longer as we are told the tour part is wonderful.)
The people at the desk were friendly and helpful. They directed us to a great restaurant t for lunch (and told us which ones to avoid). We got a half price entrance to "The Oldest House" with our hotel key which we enjoyed and felt was worth the price.

Our room was "The Balcony" which was clean and beautiful. They left us a card wishing us a Happy Anniversary and with it a small complimentary bottle of Brut. It was a very nice extra touch. We really had the feeling that all of the staff enjoy working here and that each and everyone of them made an effort to make sure our stay was grand. We sat on the large wrap around private balcony off our our room in the evening which was wonderful. The hot tub was a little crowded really for two but huge for one. It was immaculately clean and we enjoyed it after a long walk around this remarkable town. The complimentary sherry in the room was wonderful.

We attended the social hour and the food (crackers and artichoke dip, veggies and dill dip) was good as was the free beer and wine( five choices of wine). We did talk with other guests which was enjoyable. The free dessert in the evening was good as well (excellent Apple Crisp). The breakfast was really awesome, the baked Pecan French Toast was gourmet. Sausage was perfectly cooked and the best I have had in a long time. There was an excellent fresh fruit salad, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, homemade bread with many choice spreads including apple butter, three cereal including what tasted like a homemade granola which was the best !

The bed was comfortable and except for the Walking Ghost Tours that went by at night, it was completely quiet ( and the tours were okay with us. They didn't last long and were done by 10 PM)

Check out the website for the inn at: http://www.stfrancisinn.com/ with has lots of pictures. We have added some to this site as well. We will absolutely return to this great place!

  • Liked — The beauty of the building and the staff, GREAT COFFEE!
  • Disliked — There was nothing not to like
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mothmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

My wife, daughter and I stayed here in The Saffron Suite for 5 nights in June at the beginning of our Florida vacation and boy, what a wonderful choice. Where to begin? The staff were fun, friendly and most of all efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. As the party's driver I especially liked the complimentary restaurant limo service, which we put to good use on our visit to the excellent Kingfish Grill on our last night - a wonderful mid-price waterside eating place.

We also made good use of the beach house - yet another guest service. Free Parking, Free Showers, Free Beach Towels, Free Chairs and also Free chilled water - simply terrific service!

Finally - the catering. We really looked forward to waking up in the mornings to see what breakfast treats awaited us. We were never disappointed. The evening hospitality was also a wonderful innovation. Pre-dinner drinks and after dinner desserts (and Port on Fridays!) - there's surely nothing else that can be added by way of service!

The ultimate start to our vacation and although I'm sure many other establishments could mimic the above services, they can't employ the same staff - a big thank you to all at the St Francis for making our stay most enjoyable. You are a most notable example of how an outstanding team can make all the difference.

  • Liked — The helpfulness of staff and location
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanRemains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando , Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights at The St. Francis Inn , and it was a wonderful experience! The property itself is lovely and historic, but modern comforts abound. Our jacuzzi bathtub, in the Overlook Room, was definitely appreciated by this stressed out mom! My husband and I also enjoyed an afternoon by their swimming pool and it was just the 2 of us! Every day, the hot breakfast buffet was delicious, as was the sherry that was complimetary in our rooms. One day we took a trip to the beach and took advantage of the free chairs, towels, cold bottled water, bathrooms and shower that are offered by the Inn for guests at the Beach Bungalow- nice touch! I also purchased the "Sweetheart Fantasy " package , as it was our anniversary, and was very happy with the lovely gift basket , champagne,and robes waiting for us upon our arrival, and the breakfast in bed and dinner at Collage were memorable as well. All of these things cannot compare to the wonderful staff of the St. Francis Inn,especially the amazing Adele! We will definitely be returning to this gem of St. Augustine!!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — loved every minute!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon florica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2008

The St Francis Inn is a wonderful charming Inn. It has 2 different locations on St George St. We stayed in the Garden Hideaway, which was a separate building. A totally private building with a hot tub. The food was delicious, the social hour is one where you can sit and chat with others or go off by yourself. The porch swing and rocking chairs out front overlook a beautiful garden with a fish pond. The staff gave us tips about what sights to see and what resturants are good. The history of the hotel is one of playful ghosts, which have been seen. A lot of the people we talked to had been to this INN before. We plan on going back and making is an annual trip.

  • Liked — The Inn is very inviting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank allygrma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

My family and I (plus little pug) loved The Cottage at The St. Francis. Everything about this place is extraordinary. From historic background, to the comfort, to the breakfasts and more. We wished we could have moved in. And the staff were very friendly and helpful. We'll b back!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyGirlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.7 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#14 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autogr...
#15 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 279 St George St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing