We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kyle, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for a night for our anniversary trip. Not since our wedding six years ago had we stayed in a bed and breakfast. We had Margret's room, and the room was beautiful. The bed was really comfortable, and let's not forget the jacuzzi tub! It's within walking distance of the downtown strip. For an additional 25 dollars, we sprung for the breakfast in bed, and they do not skimp, it was absolutely delicious. The only issue we had, was that my husband kept stubbing his toe on the bed frame, which seemed like it might have been a little bit bigger than the bed. It was the only very minor complaint he had, and they gave us free tickets to the lighthouse. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who may be looking for a nice place to get away. We're hoping to get back again for our anniversary again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    112
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
185
755
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was our first experience in a Bed and Breakfast. What a wonderful experience. We had the Garcia suite and it was perfect for the 3 of us with nice little touches to make us feel at home. Travis checked us in when we arrived in the evening and he was absolutely wonderful with getting us checked in quickly and helping us find out how to get to our reserved tour location. Location is within a short walk of many of the local attractions and great restaurants. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh each morning...the strawberry soup was excellent. Snacks/beverages, dessert in the evening, helpful staff and fantastic location will ensure that we will be back to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I highly recommend the St. Francis Inn. I stayed there last week for 2 days and enjoyed it immensely. It is located just a few blocks from the historic district. I stayed in Miss Emily's room which had a private balcony in the back. The room was quaint and nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed and nice whirlpool shower/bath. The staff was very courteous and accomodating with nay questions I had. There a lot of perks that come along with staying here. Not only do they have special deals on local events but they also have a beach coattge just a few miles away where you can park and use thier facilities. I thought this was a great little extra that I took advantage of. They supplied towels and chairs and cold water and you can use the showers at the cottage to rinse off. The Inn served a terrifc breakfast and also has evening snacks, drinks and desserts. I went out for dinner so I did not get to enjoy the nighttime festivities but I will be sure to do so next time. The pool is very small but they definately have the biggest pool they could fit into the area they have in the back. The only thing I would give them any demerits for ijs the parking lot. Although well lit at night, the spaces were very close together and I was worrried that another car door opening or someone not paying full attention would hit my car when backing out. Overall, a great experience and you are within walking distance of all the fun things to do in the city. I will be back!

Room Tip: I liked the Miss Emily room as it had a private balcony out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We live in Jacksonville, but had a wedding to attend at the White Room in St. Augustine. We were looking for something economical with great amenities, and walking distance to historic St. Augustine. That is exactly what we got with St. Francis. We stayed in the Courtyard room for one weekend. This is a quaint inn with older decor, but clean. We enjoyed the free amenities like free parking, wifi, the use of the bicycles, and the food. The pool was great for a quick dip. Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to drive out to their beach house. We would definitely stay here again if we were coming to St. Augustine.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rp1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in the Garcia Suite. The historic building has great character and each room is unique. We enjoyed the wonderful food at breakfasts, social hours and desserts. Wine and beer were included in the social hour. We enjoyed using the complementary bikes to ride around the city and then cooled off in the pool in the evenings. Pool towels were available as were robes in the suite. Just sitting on the porch or in the courtyard was relaxing and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Apparently we also could have had free passes to a local fitness center, but did not explore that since we were busy being tourists. We would definitely stay here again and might consider the beach house or cottage which looked very nice. We did go to the beach once and used access to the storage area for guest towels, chairs and cold water---what else could you ask for! (Oh, there was an indoor shower available as well!!) Discounts to local attractions were included in our package which was great because we woudl have been going to those sites anyway. Overall, we had a great experience. My only suggestion would be to have some bicycles equiped with a basket or bag of some sort for toting camera, wallet and phone....although we managed without adn that almost seems like asking for too much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The St. Francis Inn was a total delight. Everyone who worked there made our stay even more enjoyable. They offered so many extras and gave great restaurant advice. The location was perfect. The room was a little smaller than it appeared on the website, but the charm and history of the Inn made up for it. There is no doubt that we would go there again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We look forward to your next stay.
-The St Francis Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The St. Francis Inn is a cozy little B & B in the historic district of St. Augustine. It's second biggest asset is it's location. My most favorable memory of The St. Francis Inn will be the excellent staff. The Innkeepers are extremely coutroues and helpful. The room itself was below par. I stayed in the Baclony Room which truly was a disappointment. The bath was dirty (hair in the tub) when I arrived. The decor seems to be a conglomeration of big box close outs. Some bathroom finishes were gold, others silver. It just wasn't up to the standard I would expect for the prices charged. The Wi-fi worked on our arrival but failed to work for the majority of our stay. The shutters on the windows would not stay closed. The breakfast was tasty and the dining facility nice. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly B, Manager at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your time here at the Inn. Unfortunately, no one here was aware of the issues you were having with the Wi-Fi. When we emailed you after your visit with us concerning this, we did not receive any response from you. We realize the importance of of having the internet available during your stay and that is why the management contacted you through email and made amends once we were aware of the situation. The Wi-Fi issue has been resolved. Once again we apologize.
- The St Francis Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 279 Saint George St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing