We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always The Best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always The Best!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband & I have stayed at the St. Francis Inn now 5 times & everytime we do, we are never dissappointed! The happy hour & dessert hour is simply the finest! The reception person was so helpful as to giving us tips on some of the best restaurants/events going on in town.
Nice, cozy B&B......Just love it!

Sonia Galante
LI New York/Sarasota, Fl

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaMariaGalante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
"Always the Best", what a compliment! Thank you for coming back to visit us, time and time again. Best wishes until the next time we see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    109
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
181
739
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

St. Francis Inn is a wonderful, welcoming Inn nestled in old town St. Augustine. The location is quaint and on most accounts, away from the hustle and bustle of daily activities. It and her staff welcome you upon arrival. Adequate parking, close to shopping and sights, wonderful breakfasts, coffees ...read moreand staff. The front desk will assist you with anything! Comparatively speaking, with Casa Monica downtown, St. Francis is a better value. Granted, you essentially are comparing apples to oranges and Casa Monica is quite lovely, St. Francis is simply more inviting. If looking for a relaxing place to rest and relax during your stay at St. Augustine, consider St. Francis Inn. On a side note, you might want to choose a room opposite of St. George street. Traffic noise as well as pedestrian noise (at times) can get loud. Thanks for the nice visit, and be sure to visit with Zeke. He is a very loving cat who visits the courtyard regularly.

Room Tip: The Courtyard Room, although lovely and convenient, is a little close to the street noise. If stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful and generous words. We are especially proud to be deemed your favorite lodging in St. Augustine. We are sorry if you experienced an issue with outside noise but are so glad that this will not deter you from visiting us in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We've always wanted to visit St. Augustine for its history and architecture. It did not disappoint. The great thing about the St Francis Inn is that you can park your car and walk the few blocks to the downtown area day and night and take in the sights. Well, I don't want to make too much of the location because the inn itself was great, too. Parking is convenient. We arrived late in the evening and were really tired after the long drive from Miami. They were so nice. Everyone who works at the place really gets the hospitality industry, which makes a difference in such a relatively small place. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good although I did suggest that they offer fewer egg and cheese options and more whole grains and low fat. In fact, when I wrote that on the evaluation, I got an email back acknowledging the comment. Great attention to detail. Beautiful quiet garden. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: On the web site sas standard queens. My husband is 6'4" and next time we'll get a longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We really appreciate your kind words about the St. Francis. Our staff truly loves their job and it is so nice to hear that it is noticed and reflected in our work. We love nothing more than making our guests happy! We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent last Christmas in Saint Augustine. Before leaving the last day we went to Saint Francis BB to take a look (we couldn´t book a room because of the season) We came back to Saint Augustine last weekend. This time we stayed at Saint Francis (Hide a-way room) Everything was great! Since the moment that we got into the room there was a bottle of champagne for us (it was our anniversary celebration) until the very last moment (they allowed us to use their bikes even though it was our check-out time and leave the car at the parking lot) the staff at the hotel was just incredible helpful and nice. The breakfast, the happy hour (5-6 p.m.) with drinks and salads for free, the dessert hour and of course, the room made our stay an experience we certainly want to repeat soon. The room is conveniently equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, two TV sets and DVD players (there are DVD available at the BB´s library) The place is really quiet and for some reason, the other guests seems to be were very nice (the two nights we stayed there, we became friends with two other couples) The only suggestion for this room we occupied is that the mirror should be outside of the closet. No brainer. If somebody wants to stay at a wonderful BB in Saint Augustine, St. Francis is the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to help make your anniversary trip special! The romantic Garden Hideaway is one of my favorite rooms and we appreciate the suggestion to place the mirror more visibly within the room. We thank you for your kind words and look forward to spoiling you even more during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our first stay at the St. Francis Inn. The Inn was outstanding...from time of check in to check out the service was unbelievable. We were treated to delicious foods, desserts, and drinks. They went above and beyond to make sure we were happy with our accomodations. I definitely plan on visiting the St. Francis Inn again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We originally planned on only staying a couple of hours in St Augustine. Two and a half days later we reluctantly dragged ourselves away. It is a wonderful destination...really interesting. Part of the reason we loved it so much was St Francis Inn. We found the inn by chance and were so lucky that they had a vacancy (even though it was New Year's Day).

The inn is steeped in history (built in 1791) but with modern facilities. We stayed in Marie's room which had a super comfy bed and romantic fireplace. There was even a decanter of port if we wanted a night cap.

The staff are very helpful and informative and just really nice and welcoming. Drinks and canapes (complimentary) are served in the evening, hot and cold beverages are available 24/7 and the breakfast is absolutely delicious.

We will definitely come back. St Francis Inn is one of the nicest B & Bs we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so glad that you stumbled upon us and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you did not want to leave! Thank you for your glowing remarks about St. Francis and especially about our quaint Marie's Room. We hope that you'll be able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was out 6th visit to St Francis Inn. We have considered other B&Bs in St Augustine but always come back to this one. They offer the most ammenities of any lodging in St Augustine. The parking and location are so convenient. They are close enough to walk where you need to but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. We really enjoy the evening social hour. Besides enjoying delicious snacks and beverages(love their sangria on the weekends) you have a chance to meet other guests. We met and chatted extensively with 4 other couples throughout our weekend. We have stayed in Balcony Room, Overlook Room, Margarets Room and the Garden Hideaway and have been pleased with them all. The only critique my husband had was that in the newly remodeled Garden Hideaway that the music system is IPod only compatible. We are not Apple product users so were unable to take advantage of the speakers in the tub room. Not a huge thing. It will not stop us from returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2GirlsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for being such wonderful repeat guests and for taking the time to write a review about us. We appreciate all of your glowing remarks and love the fact that you were able to make friends with other guests. Also thank you for bring the music system compatibility to our attention. We will have someone look into that right away. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#7 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 279 Saint George St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing