We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find...”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We originally planned on only staying a couple of hours in St Augustine. Two and a half days later we reluctantly dragged ourselves away. It is a wonderful destination...really interesting. Part of the reason we loved it so much was St Francis Inn. We found the inn by chance and were so lucky that they had a vacancy (even though it was New Year's Day).

The inn is steeped in history (built in 1791) but with modern facilities. We stayed in Marie's room which had a super comfy bed and romantic fireplace. There was even a decanter of port if we wanted a night cap.

The staff are very helpful and informative and just really nice and welcoming. Drinks and canapes (complimentary) are served in the evening, hot and cold beverages are available 24/7 and the breakfast is absolutely delicious.

We will definitely come back. St Francis Inn is one of the nicest B & Bs we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so glad that you stumbled upon us and that you enjoyed your stay so much that you did not want to leave! Thank you for your glowing remarks about St. Francis and especially about our quaint Marie's Room. We hope that you'll be able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    110
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
181
744
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yulee, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was out 6th visit to St Francis Inn. We have considered other B&Bs in St Augustine but always come back to this one. They offer the most ammenities of any lodging in St Augustine. The parking and location are so convenient. They are close enough to walk where you need to but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing. We really enjoy the evening social hour. Besides enjoying delicious snacks and beverages(love their sangria on the weekends) you have a chance to meet other guests. We met and chatted extensively with 4 other couples throughout our weekend. We have stayed in Balcony Room, Overlook Room, Margarets Room and the Garden Hideaway and have been pleased with them all. The only critique my husband had was that in the newly remodeled Garden Hideaway that the music system is IPod only compatible. We are not Apple product users so were unable to take advantage of the speakers in the tub room. Not a huge thing. It will not stop us from returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2GirlsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for being such wonderful repeat guests and for taking the time to write a review about us. We appreciate all of your glowing remarks and love the fact that you were able to make friends with other guests. Also thank you for bring the music system compatibility to our attention. We will have someone look into that right away. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've stay at the St. Francis Inn twice and have not been disappointed. The people who work there are super nice. The rooms are great and the courtyard is super. I couldn't think of staying anywhere else when I come to St Augustine. You can't go wrong staying there.

Room Tip: For quick access to the courtyard stay in the Courtyard room. All of the rooms are great and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We would love to have you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I have been to many b&b 's across the country and the St. Francis will stand out as one of our favorites. The welcoming atmosphere and excellent service make the guests feel at ease, resulting in people mingling and engaging in lively conversation. It's everything that a b&b should be and more.

Room Tip: Any room in the Wilson House is an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for such a complimentary review, especially from someone as well traveled as yourself! The staff loves that our guests feel comfortable enough to feel at home, especially while making interesting traveling companions along the way. Please come visit us again soon, we would love to have you and your husband back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Delicious meals, thoughtful and efficient staff! Convenient parking area! Well appointed rooms with all conveniences! And they take dogs! They are an easy walk to main town! They offer a happy hour and a dessert hour at 8 pm! We had a lovely large whirlpool bath!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Innkeeper- Heather at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Wow, thank you for your fabulous review! We are so glad that you had a delightful stay and we hope to see you again soon. Heather Wilson/ Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Ballerina Room overlooks the pool and the courtyard, both nice views. Room is home-ey and cozy. The food (breakfast, snacks, 5 p.m. wine, and dessert) was very nice. Definitely a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babygrapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for the generous 5 star ratings. The Ballerina Room is one of my personal favorites as well; with its charming fireplace and, of course, the ballerina picture that it is named after. We hope that you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been visiting the ST. Francis for thirty years... It has a coziness and timelessness l've only seen in European hostels.. While comfortable and clean it does not feel as though interior designers have nor could create the mood of the place... I always feel as though I'm coming back home ... close to the tourist stuff yet far enough off to give a sense of privacy.. dont know the current rates but I've always found it reasonable

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shmuelSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OfficeMax, Heather Wilson (Innkeeper) at St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal [and happy] repeat guest over the past several decades! The owners personally decorate the inn to make it feel charming and homey. We hope that the St. Francis Inn will continue to be your favorite for the next 30 years as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.7 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
The Kenwood Inn
The Kenwood Inn
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 279 Saint George St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St Francis Inn is an historic bed and breakfast with Old World charm, located in the nation's oldest city, St. Augustine, Florida. Individually decorated rooms and suites grace the inn, many with whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, and antiques. The peaceful walled courtyard garden is a favorite place to unwind. Gourmet full breakfasts, private balconies and porches, swimming pool, bicycles and evening socials add to the ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Francis Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing