We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we've ever stayed at”
Review of The Kenwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kenwood Inn
Ranked #5 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best B&B we've ever stayed at”
Reviewed December 13, 2005

We stayed for 3 nights in the French Country Room. It is a lovely room and probably one of the best (certainly it is one of the most expensive but worth it) - I peeked into another of the rooms and it had a very small en-suite. The hosts KerriAnn and Mark were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was great with loads of freshly made cakes, muffins etc - but don't expect bacon and eggs. On an evening there is complimentary wine available between 5pm - 7pm and cookies and hot chocolate and sherry. It is unlikely you will be able to park outside but the other available parking is only a short walk away and it is walking distance to all the attractions of St Augustine. We greatly enjoyed our short stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone - especially the French Country room.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    76
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
224
469
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2005

My husband and I stayed in Room 7 (King suite) for 3 nights. It was a very clean room but the bathroom's claw foot tub was a deathtrap for anyone of short stature. The room featured a tv but was in a corner behind a door so was a bit inconvenient to watch. The parking situation is not the best - only a few spots directly in front of the Inn and another lot two streets over. The registrar did not seem to want to give us a parking pass for the lot and we kept having to go down to our car (which was double parked) and check for an open spot. The breakfast was fine and the walk to town was very reasonable - about 5 minutes to the main drag. Overall a 6 out of 10.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mamadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Kenwood Inn in December 2004 and found both hosts, Mark and Kerri Anne to be warm and friendly. The inn is situated just a short walking distance from the downtown shops and eateries. We stayed in the French Country Suite which features a king-sized bed, fireplace and a bathroom with a claw footed tub. In the morning, we were treated to a scrumptious continental buffet breakfast that included several delicious coffee cakes, fruit, hardboiled eggs, cereal, and yogurt. It was an enjoyable, relaxing stay and we highly recommend the inn to anyone planning a trip to St. Augustine.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NCCatch222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2003

My husband and I spent a night at the Kenwood Inn in Sept. 2003. We stayed in the French Country Room - which is one of the largest of the 14 or so rooms at the Inn. Our room was very clean and luxuriously decorated - we totally fell in love with it! I saw several of the other rooms, and all were accurately represented by the pics on the website.The Inn is within easy walking distance of most of the "attractions" - has reasonable rates (compared to other B&B's in that area) - and is the only one we found with a pool. My husband and I visited the pool area late that night and just sat talking with feet dangling in the water... very nice!The staff was friendly and helpful - however they didn't live on site - so this B&B was missing some of that "family" feel that I've experienced with other Bed and Breakfasts. (For example, I still remember the names of the proprietors of most of the other B&Bs I've visited, but cannot remember any of the employee's names here.)My only complaint was the breakfast. It was just a glorified continental breakfast buffet. When we first came down there was no one to greet us (The tables were in separate rooms and the hostess was with other guests), so we had to fend for ourselves. Breakfast consisted of cold cereal, pastries and fruit. The table setting was only average, and the whole event was self-serve. I guess I've been spoiled by other B&Bs, but the "Breakfast" part of this Bed and Breakfast left a lot to be desired.Overall we give this an "above average" rating based on the fact that this is such a beautiful Inn with such lovely rooms - and at great rates too!

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FlamingJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in St. Augustine
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenwood Inn

Property: The Kenwood Inn
Address: 38 Marine St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kenwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a very kid friendly inn that offers complimentary bikes and a salt water swimming pool. We also have several seating options for our multi-course breakfast, both indoor in our dining rooms and outdoor in our courtyard. In the courtyard we have a koi pond and fountain for the enjoyment of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Kenwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenwood Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing