We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely stay”
Review of The Kenwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kenwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely stay”
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My husband and I were given a weekend at the Kenwood Inn in early 2006 as a wedding gift from my mother's boss, who had stayed there with her family a few months prior and loved it. We were very excited to be staying downtown, and in a supposedly haunted B&B! (No, we didn't see any ghosts).

Upon arrival, we were greeted by one of the owners (it is owned by a husband and wife); he knew who we were when we arrived and was so kind to us, it felt like arriving at the home of a relative! We stayed in the Rose Room (I believe it is called the English Room now; it had two double beds at the time), and I was impressed by how much it reminded me of the Victorian home of my aunt in Moultrie, GA, both in look and in the comfortable feel of the place. The property is lovely; there is a beautiful southern porch, a welcoming living room, and a koi pond. And they have bikes that you can borrow!

We were there on the weekend, and on weekends, the wife makes pastries and quiches and other baked goods for the continental breakfast; fresh fruits are available too, as well as mimosas and bloody marys (hey, you ARE on vacation in the south, have a drink with breakfast!). Nothing is better than homemade breakfast.

Upon checking out, the owners hugged us. It really was like staying with family.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SpaceCowgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    76
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
224
459
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2008

An enchanting inn in a great town. Our room had an old world charm that we loved. The staff treated us like family. Waking to the smell of delicious morning pastries and omelets was amazing … a great way start the day’s explorations. St. Augustine is great! So much history, great restaurants plus great beaches too. We’re definitely coming back.

  • Liked — The rooms and the morning breakfasts
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyDNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Stayed at this charming Inn with my cousins. The Proprietors were wonderful, accommodating and fun. From our quick check-in to our final Night Cap, the experience was memorable. The food was great, the Inn was decorated as if we stepped back in time, and every aspect was well thought and perfect. It made our great trip to St Augustine even better. Hope to return!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassy1FtLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale , fl.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2008

this was better than i could have ever imagined! most delightful. the new inn owners are amazing. breakfast was not only delicious but the owners and guests were charming.
put this on your must go to list!

  • Liked — the warmth. very attentive, charming
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bageldawg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Laudrdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2008

My partner and I stayed this past weekend at the Kenwood Inn. It is located right in Old Town St. Augustine within walking distance of everything. We were able to park within a block (the inn also has a small parking area behind it). From the moment we walked in the owners made us feel right at home. We had wine and chips that evening and the next morning we had a wonderful breakfast including eggs benedict and (a few too many) mimosas. Since the Inn was not busy that weekend we were able to see pretty much every room, and each room is unique. We were extremely pleased with our third floor suite which exceeded all expectations. The new owners are busy fixing up what little details need fixing, but the best part of our experience was the warmth of the owners. We will definitely recommend to our friends and will definitely be back.

  • Liked — We felt right at home; charming inn in historical St. Agustine
  • Disliked — our bathroom did not have a standing shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilioj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2008

My husband and I just recently stayed at the Kenwood Inn.We were very happy we stayed at the Kenwood.The inn is beautiful and the new renovations they are going to do will make it that much nicer.It is close to all the historic sites and the parking was perfect.Breakfast was great and you had all the tea,wine,water,lemonade and nice little snacks you wanted.Rooms are very nice and clean.It is like a home away from home.Everyone was very welcoming and if you needed anything they were right there to help you.I highly recommend the B&B and I'm very grateful for a very relaxing stay.

  • Liked — I liked everything.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shulmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed at the Kenwood Inn for a relaxing weekend and it really was the best idea to choose this bed and breakfast. At the beginning we requested The Brass Room, but they let us changed it for The Lavender Room, because my boyfriend is very tall and we might not feel comfortable in a smaller bed. They really try to accomodate our needs in a prompt way and that was the best!.
The house is few block aways from the downtown area so we could really sleep late, not listening to any noise in the night, even though the trolley passes several times during the day.
Everyday we enjoyed the fresh goodies that the owners made at home like quiche, mimosas, coffee ring, yogur with fresh fruits, cookies, in top of the wine and sherry , limonade, iced tea and water that we could enjoy during breakfast and the rest of the day.
The pool a little cold, but very clean, the rooms very cozy, each with a different decoration motive.
Definitely the house is a jewel and now the new owners have a big responsability in keep it like that and improve the little things that are planning to do soon.
Thanks for all the attentions and accomodations that they did for us.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Getting Hot water in the shower takes too long
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 31 in St. Augustine
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenwood Inn

Property: The Kenwood Inn
Address: 38 Marine St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-4439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kenwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a very kid friendly inn that offers complimentary bikes and a salt water swimming pool. We also have several seating options for our multi-course breakfast, both indoor in our dining rooms and outdoor in our courtyard. In the courtyard we have a koi pond and fountain for the enjoyment of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Kenwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenwood Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing