We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Beautiful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our first stay at Carriage Way, but it definitely will not be our last! We have visited many B&Bs in the past and this is one of the best. From the moment we arrived Michaele made us feel welcome and offered many wonderful suggestions for dining and sight seeing. We visit St. Augustine frequently, but she was able to come up with new ideas for us. Michaele gave us a tour of the inn and we were very impressed at her attention to detail in each of the rooms we were able to see. She has done an amazing job keeping the inn decorated with antiques or pieces that are modeled from the period when the home was built. If the hospitality and beauty of the inn were not enough to bring us back the breakfast was delicious. We were also impressed that coffee, hot tea, soda, water, wine, and fresh baked cookies were available 24 hours a day. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and has it's own charm!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southerntravelers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Manager at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent vacation and we are so thankful for all of your wonderful compliments. Since Michaele took ownership, it has been our goal to continue to raise the bar. I'm glad you found the inn to be well decorated. We strive to maintain our authenticity with our 130 year old house, while also bringing a touch of modern comfort to the inn. Coffee, tea, soda, and wine are all available 24 hours for your convenience. We want everyone to feel right at home here, and i'm glad we were able to achieve that. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 930 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

We'd like to thank the innkeepers and staff for making our stay at this inn most enjoyable for my parents and husband. Every detail was taken into consideration and personal attention was given dearly. We recognized the hard work and efforts extended into the renovations of rooms as we have stayed there in the past. We look forward to staying there again and highly recommend this B & B for location and amenities!

Room Tip: Trying a newly renovated room is something we want to do because of little extra details.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

It's really great to call you "Repeat Guests" of our own! Thank you for noticing the many renovations that we are doing while maintaining great legacies. Any updated room will be ready and waiting for you the next time you visit. We are gratefully yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at the Inn in March and had a wonderful experience. The Inn was in the best location- walking distance to everything, but far enough away to have 3 restful nights of uninterrupted sleep. We stayed in the Emerald room and had a private entrance which was a lovely perk. The room was beautifully appointed and so very comfortable. He had breakfast each day which was delicious and plentiful. The service was top notch with a warm welcome, introduction to the city, assistance with tours and reservations, and a wonderfully attentive staff. This was a "feel good" weekend all around.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We at Carriage Way are so happy you had a "feel good" experience and took the time to give us such a glowing review! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the lovely Carriage Way B&B in St. Augustine. This was our first stay at a B&B and we can't wait to return! Michaela and her team were very welcoming and the Inn was so comfortable. The location of the Inn is perfect as you can walk to everything. We didn't use our car until we checked out. Breakfast was excellent and if you're lucky enough to stay when red velvet cake is the afternoon treat, you will not be disappointed! Best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Wow! Thank for for such an awesome review. We are so pleased your husband and you enjoyed your stay. The red velvet cake will be waiting for you on your next visit. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely inn, in the Amethyst room. The room was newly renovated with an elegant style with luxurious furnishings and charming original hard wood floors. The bed was gorgeous and sooooooo comfortable. Oh, and the bathroom....(never thought I could get so excited about a bathroom!)- there was a 2 person tub with jets and a lovely rain-head shower with 2 body sprays!! Stunning crystal light fixtures and granite vanity completed the look. I felt very pampered here. Michaele greeted us warmly upon our arrival and gave us a personal "tour" of the city via a large map of the city. She is extremely knowledgeable about the history of this grand city, and of all the amenities and sights available. Matthew was also so very friendly and the ultimate professional. Michaele booked several tours for us and made excellent recommendations for restaurants. Our favorite was a personally guided "Corks and Forks" tour, which included 5 stops at local shops/restaurants for wine/beer and tapas. It was very fun and delicious, too. The breakfasts at the Inn were absolutely delicious and very filling. There was also wine available and yummy homemade desserts every afternoon. I will look forward to our return to this wonderful B & B. The location could not be more perfect, as it is in the historic district and nothing is more than a few blocks away!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krismill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Myself and my staff are so appreciative of your review. You gave so much great information. Thank your for posting it! We hope to host you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Wow!!! What a little gem!
My partner and i have travelled a lot and in all honesty this lovely place and the owners have thought of everything to make your stay super comfortable. From the beautiful rooms with a little snifter of sherry for all guests to the all hours refreshments and snacks to the great breakfast and proximity to the main streets . All details are thought out to keep the guests in mind and happy. Highly recommend.
Shannon and Peter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanandBucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

It's really great that you discovered that Carriage Way is the "Jewel of the Ancient City" or gem as you phrased it. I am grateful for your "Excellent" rating review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We've been to several bed and breakfasts in several cities, but this one is the best by far. We were greeted as soon as we walked through the door. Micheale, the owner, gave us a quick overview of St. Augustine and restaurant suggestions based on our likes and dislikes. She was available every day for suggestions or directions to area attractions. We stayed in the platinum room, but were able to take a peak into all the room during our stay. All the rooms were beautifully decorated and very clean!! The breakfasts were great, we didn't eat lunch most days because we were still so full from breakfast. We loved the fact there were board games available to play...the house was so quiet and relaxing we stayed in and played games instead of going out to explore the town. Although when you do venture out to see the historic district, everything is very close and within walking distance. We loved Carriage Way and can't wait to make a return trip!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. We stayed in the platinum suite and slept very well
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodriguez328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for writing us an "Excellent" review. The Platinum guest room has been redecorated. Check out the new photo online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#6 of 78 in St. Augustine
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 30 in St. Augustine
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast

Address: 70 Cuna St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $185 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the "Heart of the Historic District" where you will find the newly renovated Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast. Located amidst restaurants, attractions, museums, and art galleries. Parking is free and on-site. Enjoy a Chef's Choice hot table side served breakfast including freshly baked goods. Complimentary beverages include wine, soda, coffees, hot teas and bottled water plus afternoon deserts and WIFI. Guests 21 years old and up are welcome. You deserve the very best in hospitality, you deserve the Carriage Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Way b&b
Carriage Way Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing