We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Your Home Away From Home”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I were in St. Augustine for his birthday. Prior to arriving, I had the pleasure of making plans with Michaele via email to help have a few special touches added to our weekend which included a walking tour and a birthday cake. She was very helpful and accommodated my requests, along with giving some excellent recommendations on things to do, places to eat and so on.

When we arrived we were greeted by Matthew, followed by Michaele. I had a feeling they would be nice based on previous discussions via email, but meeting them in person proved me right and they are genuinely nice people. We stayed in the Travertine room which was recently updated...hard wood floors, travertine shower with rain head, huge bed..it was perfect! Not to mention it wasn't overly feminine despite the deep purple/gray walls...my husband actually liked the color and darker wood tones to go along with it. Not only was the room great, but the location of the B&B couldn't have been any better. It was in walking distance to everything! The only time we needed our car was when we arrived to park and when we left to leave. It was great!

The entire time we were there, whenever we were out and wanted to go back for something, we would say, "Let's stop at home first before we go out to dinner." We said that because it truly felt like home. So welcoming and cozy! Breakfast is served between 8:30-10:00am and every morning they serve something different. Despite how weird some things may sound when they tell you what's being served, eat it..you will not regret it because everything they made was delicious. If I remembered to ask for a few recipes, I would have because it was that good.

This is a true B&B and I would highly recommend it anyone that wanted to visit St. Augustine. As it's not on one of the main streets and on a side street, it's close to EVERYTHING. Go here and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDempsey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
We truly appreciate your very informative review. Thank you for being so genuine yourself :) Carriage Way is your home away from home. It was our total pleasure having you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    58
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
93
611
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Michaele and her husband are keeping up the reputation and atmosphere of the Carriage Way B & B. The rooms have been updated and redecorated; the location is ideal for walking into the heart of Saint Augustine. Breakfasts are attractively presented and very tasty as well as nutritious. This was our third visit over the years and we hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
You review means a great deal! It has and will continue to be our goal to convert the current Carriage Way repeat guests into our repeat guests as new owners. It has been a highlight of the ownership meeting the repeat guests. As you mentioned, we are continuing great legacies while renovating and refreshing. We look forward to your 4th visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The staff here are phenomenal! The location is close enough to enjoy but far enough to not annoy you at night. I don't know how we will top this weekend! They even let John go early to decorate the room and when he was running late they helped him finish it.
Thanks,
John and Christy Guffey

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandChristyGuffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Christy and John, you two are just the neatest couple. We were so delighted to watch all the "romantic" preparations unfold for your anniversary. The entire staff wishes you many more wonderful anniversaries. Thank you for the amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I decided at the last minute to stay in St Augustine and chose the Carriage Way again for our stay. We did compare to other options, and for the money and experience, the Carriage Way outshines the rest. We love visiting St Augustine and the innkeepers at Carriage Way have made every stay wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
It's great that you enjoyed your experience at Carriage Way! We look forward to seeing you the next time you come up from South Florida. Thank you for the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

A friend and I met in St. Augustine for a girl's weekend and chose the Carriage Way because it had a room with 2 queen size beds. The room was great, but my only complaint was that it was located right by the front door and dining room, so we were very aware when people came and went. The owners, Julio and Michaele were lovely, and the manager, Matthew was incredibly accommodating and helped make some great dinner reservations. Breakfast was outstanding and the rooms were very clean. There is construction directly across the street that was noisy during the days, but it shut down early and will be over soon. I would stay here again happily!

Room Tip: Unless you need two queen beds, I would ask for 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to post your feedback and review. The staff is so pleased you enjoyed our concierge services and breakfasts. We hope to host you again. You would also be sure to enjoy one of our brand new rooms at the back of the room featuring travertine baths with air-jet tubs and rain head showers with body sprays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Carriage Way was AWESOME! We stayed two nights in a beautifully appointed room with luxury linens and a darling fireplace. It was quite chilly but we were warm and cozy! The B & B was well appointed. The décor preserved the history of the house with a cool updated style. With claw tubs, marble showers and a beautiful custom sink made from the formal dining table this place was great! The owners were friendly and informative without being intrusive. We typically stay at upscale resorts because of our work but this felt like luxury, personal concierge service in a welcoming home environment. St. Augustine was such a great walking city. There was live music at every turn, food for every pallet and art, museums and historical building tours that were fun, informative and very interesting! We had a delicious tapas dinner at the Tasting Room. The breakfast served at the inn was gourmet served table side! We had a delicious green chili egg frittata with fresh berries and cream and fresh baked bread the first morning and the second they prepared pineapple upside down French toast with fruit and fresh baked muffins. There were alternatives for breakfast if you didn't want the gourmet table side served breakfast! The patio overlooked one of the main strips leading to all the shops and we sat out overlooking the passerby horse drawn carriages and bustling shoppers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and meeting the innkeepers! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Wow, thank you for such a fantastic and thorough review of Carriage Way and St. Augustine! It means a great deal, especially coming from high-end hospitality career people such as yourselves. It was so pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you back hopefully for the annual Holiday Home Tour in December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We found ourselves in St. Augustine well after dark on a chilly night in January and did not want to stay in one of the many chain hotels on the main roads in town. We found ourselves in front of this B & B, called the number and our call was answered and the owners met us there in just a few minutes. Our room was cozy and well appointed, the atmosphere warm and the location was quiet and minutes to restaurants and all the charm of old St. Augustine. Thanks to their restaurant guide book, we found a small Greek Restaurant we never knew existed and had a lovely dinner. Breakfast was very nice. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldcityexpert, Owner at Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Carriage Way is happy that we were able to promptly accommodate you last minute and that you enjoyed the suggestions for dining about town. Thank you for taking the time to provide the review. We hope to host you again the next time you are in St. Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#13 of 31 in St. Augustine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#9 of 31 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Address: 70 Cuna St, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the "Heart of the Historic District" where you will find the newly renovated Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast. Located amidst restaurants, attractions, museums, and art galleries. Parking is free and on-site. Enjoy a Chef's Choice hot table side served breakfast including freshly baked goods. Complimentary beverages include wine, soda, coffees, hot teas and bottled water plus afternoon deserts and WIFI. Guests 21 years old and up are welcome. You deserve the very best in hospitality, you deserve the Carriage Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage Way b&b
Carriage Way Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing