We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Gelato!”
Review of Cafe del Hidalgo

Cafe del Hidalgo
Ranked #8 of 40 Dessert in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
219 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best Gelato!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Love the Gelato! I have had Gelato in the US and Europe and the Gelato here is delicious. The service was great. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank diddy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    116
    27
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brevard, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We came in here because after our experience at florida cracker cafe I was looking for coffee and desert I could actually enjoy. My husband had a coffee and I had a chai tea. We both enjoyed the restaurant but the drinks were nothing to brag about.Both drinks were way to sweet for our liking. I would consider going back to try the gelato though!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Made to Order Salad and Gelato!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A charming restaurant on St George street corner, where you place your order at the counter and they bring it out to you. I am on the weight watchers program and this place fit what I wanted to have for lunch. I ordered a made to order salad, with three different choices of greens, plus just about anything else you can think of that goes in a salad. I had it with fat free raspberry vinaigrette. The salad was huge and $9.50. It was so fresh and fabulous! For dessert, I had to try the gelato, which was a sweet ending. I will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gelato”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great taste, creamy. Price comparable to other ice cream shops, many varieties to choose from.........

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank April W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wrong order”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We popped in here on our way out of town as our last meal and were disappointed. The lady taking our order did not hear my friend correctly and rung her up for the wrong sandwich, the food was mediocre. Will not be stopping in here next visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Hidalgo also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Cafe del Hidalgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing