We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great french food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro de Leon - CLOSED

Bistro de Leon
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Great french food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was recently in St. Augustine and had dinner at the Bistro de Leon. In fact I returned 3 times, the food was excellent , a very diversified menu . The Owner/Chef Jean-Stephane Poinard is a very talented young chef, and has worked in the past with very famous chefs and has received many awards. Be sure not to miss Dinner, or Sunday Brunch at the Bistro de Leon when you are in St. Augustine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    116
    47
    24
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stopped in for breakfast and it was fantastic. I had French toast and my husband had an omelet. Totally recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmy9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Culinary Treasure”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My favorite! it is a true French bistro style, Deli counter surprises you, looked more casual from the door, but the food was incredibly complex. Kir Royale to start, than we placed our appetizer order. Gratinzed French onion soup like Paris..while waiting the Chef sent out and arugula reduction( shooters) with a light bacon and chive complimentary... Seafood crepe was to die for!! Service was prompt and excellent...dessert was an amazing pear brulle with lemon sorbet in a spun sugar cup!;))+

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and professional service!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Bistro de Leon is as close as you will come to an authentic European cafe in the City of St. Augustine. Tucked into a small space directly on the Plaza de Constitution - between the Bridge of Lions and the Cathedral - it provides a cozy atmosphere and excellent cuisine. There is a limited but changing menu and it is difficult to narrow down your choice to one menu selection for your entree. Regardless, I have always been pleased with my choices. Menu items vary with specialties being featured from a variety of Mediterranean cuisines. Ingredients are first quality, authentic and frequently imported to achieve the chef's desired dish. Speaking of the chef, he frequently leaves his kitchen and visits with his guest, inquiring about their satisfaction with their meals, answering question about the recipe or just engaging in delightful conversation. This is a great place for a special evening or for out of town guests. Try it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankford, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional meal!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from dinner here and had to write a review. The meal was excellent as was the service. I had the seafood risotto and my sister had the filet with black truffle oil. Both meals, although rich, were exceptional. The dressing on the side salad was a mustard vinaigrette and was just right. We split a profiterole with a dark chocolate sauce that was nirvana. Our waitress was very friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable, and the chef came to our table three times to check on how we liked the food, to tell us about dessert, and to see how we liked it. A highlight of our meals in St. Augustine!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Micki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro de Leon also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing