We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis”

Fountain of Youth Archaeological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
More Info
$40.74*
and up
Discover St Augustine: Attractions Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #27 of 188 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore the 1565 Birthplace of St. Augustine and Colonial European America. Your History Starts here! Drink the legendary waters. See Stars in the Planetarium. Hear a Spanish Cannon roar. Visit the Timucua Indian Village. Learn the Archaeological History of the site. From Timucua Indians living at this site for 4,000 years to Spanish Explorers arriving in 1513 to Smithsonian institute Archaeological Digs starting in 1934, the hisotry is amazing. Guests have been visiting this important site since 1871. Now you can too. Don't miss it!
Chatham, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a lovely oasis in the city where one can get lost in the tranquility of the park. We drank the waters of the spring and felt much younger!!! This was on the route of our trolley bus and it was the last stop of the day and as far as I was concerned the best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgetD710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    565
    322
    108
    48
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,310 reviews
412 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Fountain of Youth”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This attraction is a pretty waterside park where a spring was uncovered and declared a fountain of youth, Im not so sure its true--but I decided to take no chances and drank a glass anyway. There are a few exhibits with commentary and a movie that gives alot of information on Ponce DeLeon. It was very interesting. An excavation was being done on the grounds and you were able to get up close and ask the questions.
An Indian village with canoe carving reminded me of Colonial Jamestown. Stay for the cannon firing and check out the beautiful peacocks roaming the grounds.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Active archaeological location”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Fountain of Youth Archeological Park is, indeed, an active archeological location. Students from nearby institutions continue to unearth replicas that help define the true history of this, the first settlement in North America. Drinking from the Fountain of Youth is just for fun, but all wish we could at least slow the process of aging. The real value in visiting this attraction comes from the signage and information presented by docents; Ponce De Leon landed on this site on April 3, 1513. Children will enjoy the firing of a canon. My wife and I marveled at the many peacocks roaming freely on the well kept grounds. I recommend a visit to this attraction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carriagehouse37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Kind of fun/kind of over rated”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The scenery of the FOY (Fountain of Youth) was nice. You did get to sample the water. And I swore up and down it smelled sulfury the guide swore it had low counts. It still tasted very good though!! Other than that you walked around replica's of the Natives who lived there. It was ok, but not really worth the money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank akgrl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's All In The Water”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Like the Castillo De San Marcos, my family has always visited this site. It has an interesting look into the history of how St. Augustine became a Spanish colony and briefly shows various ways explorers went about settling the area. Also on-site, there is a small zoo and animal preserve that house albino peacocks, a beautiful assortment of tropical birds, a planetaruim, Timucuas Indian exhibit, Spanish Cannons, and my fav the Native Christian Burial Grounds. And there is a musuem of recent excavations and site-digs the show the true history of one of America's first settlements.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichollette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountain of Youth Archaeological Park also viewed

 

Been to Fountain of Youth Archaeological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing