We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Cool To Pass Up”

The Lightner Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
More Info
$40.74*
and up
Discover St Augustine: Attractions Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #15 of 188 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chicago publisher Otto C. Lightner opened this museum which features items of Victoriana, as well as a stained glass room by Louis Comfort Tiffany.
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Too Cool To Pass Up”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Don't leave this attraction for last...it takes quite a while to tour. Well worth your time. There's so much to see... dozens of collections, beautiful garden, art work, and historical rooms galore. Everywhere you look there's something interesting or unique. You will not be bored. Wear comfortable shoes. A must see museum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NanC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,258
    581
    199
    50
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eclectic Collection - Beautiful Building!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We didn't really know what to expect when we visited the Lightner Museum but were delightfully surprised when we toured the museum. The building and the courtyard are gorgeous. They just don't build them like this anymore. My son enjoyed the koi pond and bridge.

You never knew what you'd find among the collections. Everything from stained glass, to historical rooms, to extensive china and crystal collections. I could have spent more time lingering in the galleries but when you're with your family you speed it up.

We were there for the music box demonstration which was a fun little extra. They didn't demonstrate each one but we were able to hear quite a few. So lovely! Ask at the entrance for the times for this demonstration if you're interested so you don't miss it. We'd been here before and had missed it and were disappointed.

If you happen to be in St. Augustine and the weather isn't conducive to outdoor activities, this is the perfect way to spend an afternoon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1_Can_Do_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lightner Museum- more to see than expected”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I love to sit in front of the Lightner museum in the mornings, sip coffee, and feed the fish. We decided to visit the museum and loved it. The local interest exhibits and turn of the 20th century store fronts were fascinating. It was well worth it, we will return again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CEMartin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent the morning looking around this very well appointed museum. The layout is great and the staff are ready to answer any questions. The admission price of $10 Is a steal. At the end of our stay, one of the staff demonstrated the antique musical instruments. Amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canada010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
2 reviews
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place was amazing. So glad I stopped. The history and grounds were beautiful and the tour was very informative. I would definitely add this to any area trip itinerary.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoseD347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lightner Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Lightner Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing