We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lightner Museum

The Lightner Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chicago publisher Otto C. Lightner opened this museum which features items of Victoriana, as well as a stained glass room by Louis Comfort Tiffany.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very good! Beautiful building. I would have liked more photos of what the building looked like when it was the hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MarisaMM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    535
    182
    46
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st augustine, fl
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Eclectic collection of Stuff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Mr. Otto Lightner was the editor of Hobby Magazine which apparently was big sometime last century. So the museum is filled with stuff, it's like a mini Smithsonian, and they have storage rooms filled with stuff that they exhibit on a rotating basis. Twice a day they exhibit the odd instruments they have and play them. Discounts for military, seniors and students

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank capnconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Primary Mission Accomplished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

My main interest with the architectual nature of the building, what it was like during it's storied hotel days. Not disappointed as the early pictures throughout help journey back to those days. The exhibits were terrific too but not my main interest. For the collector-minded types, an absolute must stop when in St Augustine. Recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank oldaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good if it's raining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

The museum was interesting, but the amount of things contained within it mean that you need a good couple of hours or more to make the most of it.
I found the building and it's history more interesting than the items contained within it's walls. However I am from England, where history is abundant, so I am spoilt on it!
I would say this is worth doing if it's raining outside, as you can then make the most of taking your time and going through the different sections.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tomalfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I was bored and disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

This was a random art collection. I wanted to see the hotel (I went there after the Flagler College tour) and was severely disappointed. See the Villa Zorayda. It was great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank bongo1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lightner Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Lightner Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing